Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Launches Fun
Trip (Matthew McConaughey) has a wonderful life. He's handsome, loves his job, and any time he wants to be dumped, he has the perfect plan. He just takes the girlfriend home and lets her find out he still lives with Mom and Dad (Kathy Bates and Terry Bradshaw).

Of course, any intelligent man would still live with these parents. His mom cleans his room from top...
Published on 15 July 2006 by Mark Baker

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars middleing
opinion certainly seems completely divided on this, "its brilliant", "its rubbish". fact is its neither, just another likeable romantic comedy that wont even come close to taxing your brain but that will help pass a pleasant enough 90 minutes.

Matthew McConaughey plays a self centered 30's man/boy who has absolutely no intention of flying the nest and Sarah...
Published on 15 Aug 2006 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 23 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Failure To Launch [DVD] (DVD)
Not a great fan of Parker but she was actually quite watchable in this. This would definitely pass the 'I'd watch it again' test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Failure To Launch [DVD] (DVD)
I love this movie, and I think it's really funny. If you like comic, you should definitely watch this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An intelligent RomCom, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Failure To Launch [DVD] (DVD)
I am an old chap so normally avoid romcoms, but I've watched this one several times. Intelligent funny, the sub plots are nearly as interesting as the main, and the characters are believable (except of course for the strange things that people do in order to create a bit of suspense, and then to have a happy ending (sorry if I spoiled it for you -- but it is a romcom so you probably guessed).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not even OK to watch it once..., 27 Mar 2013
This review is from: Failure To Launch [DVD] (DVD)
I still cant believe this two amazing actors came up with a terrible movie like this. I hated both of them all the way and I would not watch this movie again. I am sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars FAILURE TO PLEASE, 18 Oct 2012
This review is from: Failure To Launch [DVD] (DVD)
A very boring film with no chemistry between the leading players. A couple of amusing moments but generally a disapointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 19 Jan 2012
This review is from: Failure To Launch [DVD] (DVD)
Pretty terrible film with two useless lead actors. Most of the screenplay made me cringe. Avoid at all cost, it's a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I love the film, but not impressed., 11 Oct 2011
By 
Miss N. H. Cotton (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Failure To Launch [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this, and it came pretty quick.
But I'm appaulled that the case is literatlly shredded, the top half of the case is ready to fall off. The disc was jumping around in it, thankfully it's not scratched. It was never placed correctly inside. Now, that may be the delivery's fault, but I think the company I bought it from needs to put more protection other than a thin layer of bubblewrap and an envelope!
Buy it through Amazon! Not PriceMania.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A movie title just asking for trouble, 25 Aug 2011
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Failure To Launch [DVD] (DVD)
3-stars would be too generous, so 2.5 is closer the mark. I thought about calling my review, When Animals Attack, So Does Narcissism, a reference to the fact McConaughey is repeatedly beaten by things in this flick, purely so that he can use the fact to get sympathy from that other most superficial of actors, Sarah Jessica Parker (SJP). (At the end we see him canoodle a dolphin.)

How do you chart the career of SJP? For me she popped up in the excellent LA Story as Steve Martin's sex-on-legs weekend squeeze, then unfortunately reappeared doing her insufferably perky starring narration of Sex & The City. Which brings me the reason why I don't hate this film, which is the fact it isn't choked with over-dressed self-obsessed girlies. Just SJP vs Zooey Deschanel playing the sulky-sexy opposite who attracts the geeky (but not really) secondary male character.

Has someone written the definitive guide to Hollywood cliches, caricatures and ciphers? Someone should. In the mean time, sample this ludicrous plot that has McConaughey as a stay-at-home mid-30s son who is a happy success in every other respect, and SJP as the life coach thingy hired by his parents to seduce him out of the house into his own independent new life. Does that sound plausible? Especially not when we learn that he routinely brings girls home to the folks whenever he's ready to dump them. Meanwhile SJP is supposedly doing this job so as to get over having failed to free a real boyfriend from the same context.

Well there's the predictable crowd of supportive friends and well intentioned relatives, some so-called problems and issues to resolve and finally, maturation all round. Droplets of soppy pop song to express emotion and lots of beaming with Hollywood pearly dentures. What we've really got is another entry in the series, How Do You Get A Man To Marry? Especially if he already seems happy, successful and content; at one point SJP actually says, 'Either you want to go on being happy, or you want to be with me.' Huh. Tough one.

So, a successful male putting up a blocker in the face of deeper commitment with a woman; in this case, still living with mom; thus leaving him free to party and romance till it bores. This vaguely reminds me of a much wittier and starrier film from days of yore: Indiscreet [DVD] Funnier, classier, better acted. I say try that instead. Over eighteens would do well to look at 101 Reykjavik [DVD] [2001] another film about a 30s boy-man living with mum, but 10x funnier and more humane than Failure To Launch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Filled with biting humor, 3 July 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Failure To Launch [DVD] (DVD)
In today's society it is difficult for young men to see why they must leave home and trice out on there own adventure. Tripp (Matthew McConaughey) is one of those young thirty-five year old sons that are part of today's society. His parents Al and Sue (Terry Bradshaw and Kathy Bates) only want what is best for him and heir a professional (Sarah Jessica Parker) to help cut the apron strings.

Needles to say that all the things you expect to happen happens. What sets this particular movie above the standard the standard formula is the exceptional acting and the pacing is strange. And the gratuitous nude scene is more that a few flashes in the moon light.

In this film even the "B" story and the supporting characters get plenty of center stage. Kit (Zooey Deschanel) added a splash of normalcy.

The only downside to the movie is the annoying introductory song which is soon forgotten and mad up for with the appropriate exit songs.

So get out the popcorn and hit the road with Tripp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars missed the humour scale!, 8 Dec 2008
This review is from: Failure To Launch [DVD] (DVD)
Something about this just bored me to tears. A stupid,selfish film which showed no regard for anyone, simply to justify what many women think about men who live at home with their parents still and haven't bothered to get into the real world. There is nothing clever or arty about this movie, it is a simple chick flick, that is all. Why would this be a funny way to pass the time? Both characters bounced off each other with a dull absurdity but I really disliked it I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Failure To Launch [DVD]
Failure To Launch [DVD] by Tom Dey (DVD - 2006)
£2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews