Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful insight into an artist's working practice, 29 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Rivers And Tides - Andy Goldsworthy Working With Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is a gorgeous film both visually and intellectually. Andy talks about the raison d'etre of making work and we see him putting his ideas into practice as he makes work in several locations around the world. It is a rare opportunity to understand how and why art is composed. The filiming also deserves special mention. It is sensitively shot and beautiful to look at in it's own right. I loved every moment of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portrait of the artist., 10 Aug 2009
By 
R. A. Johnson "raoul_malaria" (Britain.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rivers And Tides - Andy Goldsworthy Working With Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Required viewing for anyone with an interest in Mr Goldsworthy. The film explores the thinking behind his sculptures and how they are expressions of his developing relationship with materials and place, but perhaps the most fascinating part is seeing the works being created. Watching him work with raw hands in the freezing pre-dawn to weld icicles to a rock, or make repeated attempts to create a cone as it shifts and disintegrates, it's impossible not to be carried along with his delight or share his frustration. He himself is a quietly spoken, thoughtful, engaging man, and his works are of course beautiful. The quality of the film making must be mentioned, too - rich, elegant and understanding, the images of the works are given space to speak for themselves. A wonderful and sympathetic collaboration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must see for all Goldsworthy fans, 25 Jan 2008
By 
M. J. Turner "lakes man" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rivers And Tides - Andy Goldsworthy Working With Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
To really get under the skin of Goldsworthy sit through this remarkable film and be absorbed by the man at work. See how he approaches his subject with plenty of thought and understanding, how he has true feeling for the material and location and sense of nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging portrait of artist Goldsworthy, 10 Aug 2008
By 
Andres C. Salama (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rivers And Tides - Andy Goldsworthy Working With Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
A very engaging documentary about Scottish artist Andy Goldsworthy, whose work consists mostly of ephemeral sculptures made from elements from nature. His work is made of rocks, leaves, grass, ice, etc., that gets blown away when the tide arrives at the beach or the wind blows at the field. Thus, most of Goldsworthy's works don't really last, except as photos or films of what they were. Now, one can argue that Goldsworthy's works are a reflection of mortality, or words to that effect, but isn't it easier to say that what he does is just beautiful art. And at a time when the stereotype about artists is that they are mostly bitter, pretentious, often mentally unstable people who live in decrepit urban settings, Goldsworthy seems to be the opposite: a stable, unpretentious, family oriented person who loves nature and lives in a small village in Scotland (of course, I'm sure those are the same reasons why he's shunned by some people on the art world who found his works fluffy or superficial).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rivers and Tides-Andy Goldsworthy, 28 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Rivers And Tides - Andy Goldsworthy Working With Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is an amazing DVD. What inspiration from this artist. Not just for arty people though! Enjoy the scenery and works of art as well as the dialogue. I already have a couple of his books, but found this SO much better....being able to hear his explanations and opinions really opened up the artworks and made my understanding very much better. Good value for money too as it is a long film and can happily be watched over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning work!, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rivers And Tides - Andy Goldsworthy Working With Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
We did not know a lot about Andy Goldsworthy when we bought this DVD, but we are so glad we did buy it. His work is beautiful, and his philosophy excellent. A great insight into a very creative mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want more...., 25 Nov 2012
By 
Af Sheader "Posiview" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rivers And Tides - Andy Goldsworthy Working With Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I want another one. Loved this video. Great passion, emotion, skills, vision, very hardy man.

Sme fine ideas that he executed with great style. His love of the environment was refreshing.

Ingo to the Yorkshire Sculpture Park quite often and will look at his sculptures with fresh eyes the next time. If you haven't been you really should.

Oh, when is series 2 coming out!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful edited, 28 Jun 2013
By 
S. de Ruijter (Rotterdam, NL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rivers And Tides - Andy Goldsworthy Working With Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
It's a beautiful edited documentary which gives the viewer time to enjoy his art pieces as it is supposed to be. Your able to see the process of his creating his work and a glimpse of his private life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars non denominational inspiration for watercolour artists, 20 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rivers And Tides - Andy Goldsworthy Working With Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
To inspire students during a week's watercolour landscape painting course, I decided to buy an informative DVD for an instructional but relaxing evening option to complement intensive work during the day. Having browsed the practical watercolour DVDs, each with their own technical slant, I chose this one because I know that A.G. works directly and physically with his subjects - elemental nature and time - and felt that any painting style could be extended by this land artist's work. His processes not only encourage the artist who is working with water to understand and admire it but also to accept and work WITH its mercurial behaviour. This DVD is filmed with an unpretentious intimacy that allows the viewer to feel a part of the action. Watching, waiting, weather and time are all crucial underpinning for the watercolour landscape painter's technique. The students were intrigued and inspired by the passion and patient perseverance of the artist (and the cameraman) and non-painters are absorbed by the visual qualities and the questions that Andy Goldsworthy's work provokes. I'm so glad I bought it and will watch it again and again... what good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 15 Mar 2011
This review is from: Rivers And Tides - Andy Goldsworthy Working With Time [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Not much to add to what has already been written. I just wanted to confirm that this is a beautiful film. Visually it is gorgeous: great camera work, amazing landscapes... and of course the artist's "nature"-creation/land art.
Besides it gives a deep insight into Goldsworthy "philosophy".
I didn't know the artist and I didn't know the film. I ended up renting it randomly from the local library. And after watching it I bought one as a present for relatives: they loved it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rivers And Tides - Andy Goldsworthy Working With Time [DVD] [2001]
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews