Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Season Yet?
Larry David sinks to new lows in season 5 of the funniest comedy ever and had me crying with laughter on more than one occasion. I can't decide if this is the best Curb season yet, it definately has some of the best episodes but is slightly let down by a weak season finale (The End).

Watch and cringe again as Larry befriends a sex offender, adopts a racist dog...
Published on 8 Feb. 2007 by R. Mullaney

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lather, rinse, repeat
Hmm.

Maybe it's because the bar has already been set so high? This season does seem to be more scripted than improvised; as someone has already pointed out, Jeff Greene seems to squeeze out 'that's just a big bowl of wrong' several times like HBO are hoping it'll catch on and shift a few more of their t-shirts. Ditto Susie's reliance on the 'f' word. Many...
Published on 18 Sept. 2006 by C. P. Lewis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Hillarious, 8 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Brilliant, Larry David comedy genius
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LD, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
peeety preety preety , preeeety good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Equally the best series, 25 July 2006
By 
Daniel Cogan (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I saw the 5th series earlier this year and I have to say, it is as good as the 3rd series (which is the best in my opinion). As usual Larry David does not shy away from dealing with sensitive topics such as suicide, Orthodox Judaism, gay rights, his racist dog etc. I loved this series and would recommend any fan to buy it asap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Graet viewing!, 18 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
As good as Seinfeld!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 17 May 2015
By 
Olli Derby (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Love this series!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Amazing show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
great product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praise Larry David, for Curb is mightier than the Seinfeld., 22 Sept. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Curb takes a little acclimatising to get used to the unlikely set-ups, but once you suspend disbelief and enter Larryland, it's the funniest sitcom ever produced. It's 'pree-tee good'. With only 10 episodes, David knows not to outstay his welcome too. Perhaps this season doesn't have the Beloved Aunt moment or guests like Crazy Eye Killa, but it's still brilliant. The previous seasons are so good, we expect this season to be a 100 times better, I think people will feel slightly disappointed with this season. The last episode was actually my new favorite, as we get to see a more serious side to David, the story given more time to develop. It shows promise for another season.

The supporting cast seemed short changed this season, just foils to David.

Others like the Christ Nail episode, but I found it one of the worse, annoying even. So everyone has they're own view of Larry David, even the faithful fans.Fans will have their own favorite moments. I've yet to find a Curb hater, but I imagine there are people that loathe his comedy. The closest we have in England is "Extras", and if you like that, you should like Larry David. Saying that, Curb could do with it's own stunning Ashley Jensen. Extras is more of a double act, Larry could survive without the others, Extras would collapse without Ashley Jensen. Beside the point here, but Keith Chegwin was worth a thousand Orlando Blooms.

The best moments? The Kamikaze wheelchair guy and when David goes Christian The worse moments? The vile porn maker and the Korean dog eating joke.

By the way, Larry David is starting to look like a cross between Droopy and the serial killer from Manhunter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ultimately disappointing, 18 Nov. 2006
By 
R. Clarke (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
My wife and I love Curb, and eagerly await the launch of the DVDs, as catching them on TV always seems to require detective work. The first four series were genius, but sadly this is not. It's right to say that it's still better than most of the comedy dross on our screens. But if this was the first series, it never would have built up the following it has. Overall, pretty good, as Larry would say, but nowhere near as great as series 1-4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's Ran It's Course..., 20 April 2007
By 
C. Pitbladdo (Edinburgh, Lothian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
It pains me to say this, but I think Larry David's clamouring for storylines here.

I'm a huge fan, and maybe I was caught up in all of the rave reviews I've read elsewhere, but I feel massively let-down.

Having said that, I've only watched the first four episodes, but there hasn't been a single laugh-out-loud moment for me so far... Just the occasional chuckle at Larry's 'incidents'. But even then, it's a little bit obvious when the punchlines come. Some of the storylines are just weak.

What I'd give for another episode like the one where he gets his managers daughter drunk; 'I thought she had a speech impediment.' Or the episode where Larry finds out his mum's dead... Pure comedy genius.

I see nothing of that here, I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006]
£7.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews