Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Season Yet?
Larry David sinks to new lows in season 5 of the funniest comedy ever and had me crying with laughter on more than one occasion. I can't decide if this is the best Curb season yet, it definately has some of the best episodes but is slightly let down by a weak season finale (The End).

Watch and cringe again as Larry befriends a sex offender, adopts a racist dog...
Published on 8 Feb 2007 by R. Mullaney

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lather, rinse, repeat
Hmm.

Maybe it's because the bar has already been set so high? This season does seem to be more scripted than improvised; as someone has already pointed out, Jeff Greene seems to squeeze out 'that's just a big bowl of wrong' several times like HBO are hoping it'll catch on and shift a few more of their t-shirts. Ditto Susie's reliance on the 'f' word. Many...
Published on 18 Sep 2006 by C. P. Lewis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Season Yet?, 8 Feb 2007
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Larry David sinks to new lows in season 5 of the funniest comedy ever and had me crying with laughter on more than one occasion. I can't decide if this is the best Curb season yet, it definately has some of the best episodes but is slightly let down by a weak season finale (The End).

Watch and cringe again as Larry befriends a sex offender, adopts a racist dog and accuses residents of his fathers nursing home of rigging the weekly bingo game. Then of course there is the small matter of worming his way into the affections of the head of a kidney-donor consortium in order to move an ailing friend to the top of the list so Larry won't have to donate his own kidney.

Brilliant.

Like This? Try: Curb Your Enthusiasm Seasons 1-4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another five stars for larry david, 5 Jan 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
series five is the last series made at this moment of this startling show,series 6 is planned and thats class news but with series five you get another 10 episodes of awkward brilliance from the mind of larry david,the man as we all know pretty much says what he wants and ends up with a barrage of abuse,and it always makes for tv of the highest order.

In series five we meet a racist dog,larry finds out of he is adopted,richard lewis needs a kidney and is leaning on larry to donate one and larry accuses an old peoples home of fixing its bingo game among many of the great moments here,i cant praise this show enough,its original and while it isnt all about laugh after laugh the entertainment value is always evident.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great all time US comedies., 4 Dec 2006
By 
M. Warburton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Larry David has brought us an amazing piece of TV Comedy that will stand the test of time. His extraordinarily rich, funny and absurd inter-weaving story-lines flow through each episode and often reach conclusion in the craziest of manners. If you want to know a little about LA life and want to meet a man who is befuddled with the world in which he lives so much so that he can only rage against it in his own way, and you want to do this via sublime comedy writing and performing, Curb is for you. David could write another 20 seasons and some of us out here still wouldn't have had enough of Curb. It looks like there may either be only or two more seasons to come from David, and maybe no more at all, so get hold of all 5 seasons now, sit back, and enjoy the crazy world of Mr Larry David in all it's hilarious and embarrassing glory. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Being Larry David, 29 May 2009
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
After four great seasons of Larry David's misanthropic `reality sitcom', the formula still has legs but is starting to become more and more contrived. David remains his stubborn, frustrating self, and surely it can only be a matter of time before his vacuous but long-suffering wife Cheryl gets completely fed up with him.

The loose story arc for this series is David's discovery that he may be adopted. Of course, Larry is overjoyed about this, but does it mean he's not actually Jewish after all?
Larry embarks upon a voyage of self-discovery, even hiring a private-eye to track down his real parents. With moronic manager and best friend Jeff by his side, Jeff's foul mouthed harridan of a wife Suzy haranguing them at every turn, and Larry's alcoholic buddy comedian Richard Lewis desperate for a kidney that only Larry or Jeff can provide, there are plenty of the inevitable cringe-worthy moments and a fair few laughs along the way.

Other highlights include Larry offending his Hispanic handyman by buying his wife a bra; convincing Jeff's wife Suzie that he's got a fetish for her lingerie; offending a disabled man (again); causing his friend Marty Funkhouser's daughter to ditch her boyfriend for another woman; and buying a dog that only barks at Black people. As his marriage to Cheryl gradually starts to disintegrate, Larry carries on oblivious; as he incurs her wrath by answering the phone during intercourse; questioning her cup size; upsetting her father (again); and offending her touchy friend Wanda (again).

The series finale sees Larry ready and (un)willing to donate his kidney to Richard Lewis; reaching new heights of surrealism, is this really the end of the road for our (anti)hero..?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lather, rinse, repeat, 18 Sep 2006
By 
C. P. Lewis "Christian Lewis" (Croydon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Hmm.

Maybe it's because the bar has already been set so high? This season does seem to be more scripted than improvised; as someone has already pointed out, Jeff Greene seems to squeeze out 'that's just a big bowl of wrong' several times like HBO are hoping it'll catch on and shift a few more of their t-shirts. Ditto Susie's reliance on the 'f' word. Many plotlines are introduced with 'oh, that's what I was meant to tell you...'. There used to be a bit more finesse and realism in the interplay than that, surely?

Also, some of the plot threads are Seinfeld re-treads, even early Curb your Enthusiasm re-treads. However at least this show has the balls to tackle race, disability, religion and all the other topics American network executives dare not touch in case it upsets their sponsors.

That said, it's still far more rewarding to the viewer's intelligence than most other comedy shows. Everything just seems to be on autopilot. Let's hope if there's a sixth series, that it will match episode-for-episode brilliance of the fourth. I don't even care if that means they take a Sopranos-style hiatus for a year or three in order to come up with the ideas.

The two extra features are a pleasant addition but perhaps in future they could give us 45 minutes of deleted/extended scenes?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The ass is part of my snuggle, 25 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Curb your enthusiasm remains the best sitcom on television, yes this season does suffer from a slight dip in quality, and much of what has been said by other reviewers regarding a change for the worse in the usage of Jeff and Cheryl is true and Larry seems intent on making "pret-teee" his catchphrase, however despite these slight disappointments 'curb' remains of the highest standard and you wont find anything funnier on t.v.

This seasons running theme is the question as to whether or not Larry is adopted. As Larry encounters a racist dog, makes use of a christ nail, befriends a sex offender, insults a kamikaze pilot, gets his own unpleasant sandwich, and tries his best to dodge being a donor for his friend Richard Lewis all the usual hilarity ensues. Maybe not at its best but way above everything else around at the moment (except for "Extra's")
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong Return To Form, 20 Sep 2006
By 
m.bison (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of CYE and I've just seen Season 5. Although season 4 was one of the best comedy sit-coms on TV, there was an ever-so-slight dip in quality when certain episodes became a bit too farcical. Thankfully, season 5 has more in common with the earlier CYE seasons. Right from the off, `The Larry David Sandwich' in Episode 1 is hilarious - particularly the scene where Larry is told that he is adopted. This becomes a running theme throughout the next 9 episodes. Other standout episodes include when Larry thinks the bingo at an OAP care home is rigged and when Larry and his manager must decide who should donate their kidney to a mutual friend.

For those of you unfamiliar with CYE, the show revolves around the life of the 59-year old co-creator of Seinfeld, Larry David. A stand-up comedian, Larry observes the grey areas of life and writes shows about the unwritten rules of social interaction. Not ringing a person at home before 9 pm and not starting a meal while someone else is waiting for their order at a restaurant are two good examples of this. As the real Larry David admits, the character on the show is the guy he would like to be ...a curmudgeon who speaks his mind, confronts people and says the things that we all think but are too polite to utter out loud.

It's a great show with nothing else like it on TV - entire half an hour shows centre on the small details of human interaction which we are all aware of but are so intangible and vague that we struggle to articulate them. It's the things that we are supposed to know as normal, functioning members of society ...and it's these things that Larry rages against in CYE. With an amateurish feel to the camera shots and an improvised script, CYE may take some getting used to for newcomers, but stick with it. The show is 100% unique and well worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LD, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
peeety preety preety , preeeety good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Worst season yet!, 31 May 2014
By 
Mr. E. A. Dobson "dwardstings" (West Yorkshire,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Firstly, I give this dvd 2 1/2 stars and this is just my opinion, which I am entitled to! I have watched all the previous seasons & although never found it a 5 star show, it did keep me entertained but a laugh a minute? Never! This dvd features a couple of documentaries which, if you'd never seen Curb before, would make it look like the best comedy of our time. I realise I will receive death threats for my review but this season made me laugh out loud 5 times top's, it's just not good enough Larry!
All that said, I'll still probably watch the rest what with only 3 seasons left.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars suberb serie, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Everyone who wants to have a funny time should watch it because Larry david for sure will meet your expectations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2006]
£8.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews