Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zod is Coming...
Clark Kent is back; armed with only super powers and flannel shirts, can he save the world from Zod...?

In season 5 of Smallville, Lana Lang and Clark Kent finally get it together. Clark, who has temporarily lost his powers, feels he can finally be honest with Lana. However, their happiness is be short-lived as Clark's powers are restored, and he is forced into...
Published on 21 Aug. 2007 by Nolene-Patricia Dougan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars bit hit and miss
as much as i love smallville, this isn't the best series. it has quite a few highs - in particular the last scene of 'lexmas' which is equally exciting and heartbreaking, and whoever thought to put michael rosenbaum and james marsters in a show together is frankly a genius. however some of the episodes just plod along as if they were saving everything for the finale -...
Published on 31 Oct. 2007 by taylorgirl


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zod is Coming..., 21 Aug. 2007
By 
Nolene-Patricia Dougan "Dougs" (Ravara, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Fifth Season [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Clark Kent is back; armed with only super powers and flannel shirts, can he save the world from Zod...?

In season 5 of Smallville, Lana Lang and Clark Kent finally get it together. Clark, who has temporarily lost his powers, feels he can finally be honest with Lana. However, their happiness is be short-lived as Clark's powers are restored, and he is forced into lying to her again. Needless to say, their on/off relationship is now off, again. But don't worry too much about Lana - Lex is there to console her... Clark, however, has other things to worry him, such as Milton Fine, a liquid-metal shape shifter (T1000 anyone?) who is putting into play a villainous scheme to bring back Zod, Krypton's version of a genocidal maniac.

Season 5, in my opinion, has tried to be to be a little bit different from other seasons of Smallville, and not necessarily to its detriment. Quite a few of the episodes are movie pastiches; the most blatant would be Mercy, which is an obvious pastiche of the Saw movies. There are many other movie tributes this season; for example, Carrie and Stir of Echoes are touched upon, to name but a few. I love movie references, personally: recognizing them is the only time that I, as a total movie geek, can feel superior to others, and it is also the only time when I know that all those hours watching low-budget horror flicks has not been wasted!?! But the homage does not stop at the movies for this season. One episode has a vampire called Buffy Saunders, who Lana just has to slay, and there's a reference to Shakespeare's Hamlet in another - very highbrow for what is quintessentially a teenage drama.

For those among you who aren't distracted by allusions to other forms of popular culture, there is plenty to entertain in this season's Smallville. Lex is as shady and charismatic as usual, Chloe and Clark kiss, and Lois is her angst-filled, no- nonsense self.

Like all the other seasons of Smallville, this show owes more to programmes like X Files than it does to the original Superman comics, with the supernatural rather than the extraterrestrial element penetrating every episode. But don't lose heart, Sci-Fi fans: Zod is coming; therefore, I can only imagine that season 6 will be steeped in Superman mythology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Season to Date for Smallville, 24 Jun. 2006
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Fifth Season [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
This season is the best for Smallville since the First Season. The Season starts with where it lefted of from the end of Season 4. There are some great stand alone episodes. James Marsters (Spike from Buffy and Angel) plays the role of Brianic well. Lex turn to the dark side i feel in this season is great. With a few other DC Heros making a visit Aquaman and Cyborg. The 100th Episode makes Smallville change abit with the loss of a great character. The season ends on a high and will have you at the edge of your seat. I would recommend that every person who watches Smallville to buy this Season Box set on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smallville Season Five: Brainiac, Zod and the Great Divide, 30 April 2009
By 
Dickie "The Bear" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Fifth Season [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
In the fifth season of Smallville, one chapter ends as another new and exciting chapter begins as Smallville is taken to new heights as the DC Universe is finally blown open as new characters make their appearances felt.
In season five, Clark's relationship with Lana is at its peak, his friendship with Chloe has never been stronger, and he is finally coming to terms with the discovery of his Kyptonian heritage. But things in Smallville are about to change with the arrival of the mysterious Milton Fine (James Marsters) along with 2 Kryptonians bearing the symbol of ZOD. Whilst his relationship with his friends has never been stronger, Clark finds himself in direct confrontation with Lex Luthor as he is now forced to question whether he and the younger Luthor were ever friends.
Alongside the great contiunity drama with the regular leads, this season also sees the arrival of 2 familiar faces from the DC Universe in form of Aquaman and Cyborg who cameo in this season alongside DC villain Brainiac.
James Marsters is a very welcome addition to the cast and plays Fine with confidence and arrogance while Michael Rosenbaum continues to steal the show. The pinnacle moment of the season also sees the very sad departure of a long staning term cast member in what still rates as Smallville's saddest moment and greatest tear-jerker.
Season five however has proven to be the most important seasons so far and can be officially viewed as the main divide in the shows story. As it stands, it improves from the tiring repetitiveness of season 4 and the season genuinely takes the show to new heights. Season five however is absolutly essential for any Smallville fan hoping to watch the season from this point onwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Season so far!!, 1 Aug. 2006
By 
A. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Fifth Season [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
From the action packed season opener, to the scream at the tv 'to be continued', at the end of the finale, it's very obvious this is Smallville's best year.

Season five takes place straight after the season four finale, with an episode entitled arrival. It ties up many loose ends, and resolves many issues raised in season four. Most notably Clark finally finding out that his best friend, Chloe Sullivan knows his secret.

Throughout the season there are many ongoing story lines. The on again, off again Clana relationship, which for me became old in season 1. I'm a little bias, but it seems to me that Chloe and Clark should be the ones together. Fortunately we are treated to many Chlark moments this season. Due mostly to the fact that Chloe has now become Clark's confidant, and keeper of his secret.

Then there's Lex's progression to the dark side, where he becomes ever closer to his inevitable destiny. Developing into a character, who is more Clark's enemy, than his friend.

One of the most interesting, and gripping plots however remains the Professor Fine AKA Brainiac storyline. Brainiac, a Kryptonian artificial intelligence wants nothing more than to release ZOD. And this means a lot of trouble is brought Clark's way. Leading to an inevitable clash in the finale, which leaves many characters fates hanging in the balance.

This is Smallville at it's best, if you do only buy one season of Smallville then this should be it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic year!, 10 Nov. 2009
By 
Kristen Sherry (Kingston-upon-Hull, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Fifth Season [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Season 5 is full of highlights: the Clark/Chloe partnership, the Clark/Lois banter and growing friendship, "Buffy's" James Marsters as Professor Fine declaring that vampires don't exist - not to mention the handling of Jonathan Kent's death and the sudden switch of Lionel Luthor's allegiance. There are also lowlights: the seemingly endless Clark & Lana saga receives another outing but thankfully comes to shuddering halt, Lex's sudden romantic pursuit of Lana is sluggish and becomes boring. John Schneider & Annette O'Toole figure more prominently during this season as Jonathan meets his end in the wonderfully constructed 100th episode right in the middle of the run while Martha is targeted by a Kryptonian villain - although she is never challenged by Jor-El as her husband was. Tom Welling continues to shine as his partnerships with his female co-stars develop - with Allison Mack the Clark/Chloe hero/sidekick partnership gains momentum, with Erica Durance the banter nudges up a gear but is softened this year by the growing friendship between the two characters and with Annette O'Toole their relationship adapts as Martha Kent becomes a single parent facing the unknown alone. Welling also assumes the mantle of director for one of "Smallville"'s best episodes which features a story about a little girl with a dangerous power who gives Clark the paternal affection that her estranged - and murderous - father desperately covets. Favourite episodes: Arrival, Mortal, Hidden, Aqua, Thirst, Exposed, Solitude, Fanatic, Reckoning, Fragile, Mercy, Fade, & Vessel. I know people have their doubts about the episode Thirst but the commentary for it on this DVD set is a gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Superman in Training!, 24 May 2006
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Fifth Season [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Clark Kent is one step closer to becoming the man of steel. The ratings have been great! Smallville rocks!!!! The story line was brilliant and in the first episode we see Clark unlocking the fortress of solitude, the place where Clark trains to become superman. We also get the arrival of two Kryptonians from the ship in the 4th Season finale 'Commencement'. They are Nam-EK and Aesthyr the disiples of General Zod. They came creating havoc in town searching for Kal-EL. Clark stops them and we see the arrival of another super baddies Milton Fine known as 'Brainiac'. Lois Lane is closer to the Lois we know from the comics. A major character dies, The Lana & Clark romance gets a chance but suffers at the end. Lionel becomes a straight up nice guy and someone who you will never guess, helps clark with the arrival of a feared evil. Aquaman & Cyborg step in and Clark and Lex become mortal enemies. It should go out with a bang apart from special features and state of the art picture of sound you get the 22 episodes over six discs.

1. Arrival

2.Mortal

3. Hidden

4.Aqua

5.Thirst

6.Exposed.

7.Splinter.

8. Solitude

9.Lexmas.

10. Fanatic

11. Lockdown.

12. Reckoning.

13. Vengeance.

14. Tomb.

15. Cyborg.

16.Hypnotic.

17.Void.

18.Fragile.

19.Mercy.

20.Fade.

22. Vessel.

I am definitely buying it and I highly recommend it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smallville - at its prime, 10 Dec. 2010
By 
Winchester "M" (South Africa, JHB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Fifth Season [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
This is the season that the inevitable future of friends then foes; Lex Luthor and Clark Kent's friendship takes form.
As powerful as season 4 was, Season 5 proves to be more adventurous yet darker than the last. Show opens to Clark Kent finally beginning to accept his destiny and takes giant leaps towards becoming the Man of Steel.. Hampered by having faced a difficult decision in the Fortress of Solitude, as he is given the choice of saving Chloe's life or saving the planet. Clark's choices lead him to a life-changing challenge as he is stripped of his powers. Furthermore, Clark later is forced to face up to Lana's new relationship. Clark faces rogue Kryptonians. Lex Luthor (today Kansas, tomorrow the world) launches a vicious political campaign. Clark's love for Lana Lang deepens, and he and Lois Lane remain friendly adversaries. AC (aka Aquaman) surfaces. A spaceship mystery unfolds. A dark tragedy--one even Clark's powers can't prevent--strikes, marking the series 100th episode. These and more key elements of Superman lore fall into place.
This season I thought was extremely deep and showed all aspects of every character come to light and how it affected each one of them. This was truly a milestone stepping that changed the entire series forever. Ironically, the halfway season of the series is that milestone.
Worth a watch if you've followed the series from Episode 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars bit hit and miss, 31 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Fifth Season [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
as much as i love smallville, this isn't the best series. it has quite a few highs - in particular the last scene of 'lexmas' which is equally exciting and heartbreaking, and whoever thought to put michael rosenbaum and james marsters in a show together is frankly a genius. however some of the episodes just plod along as if they were saving everything for the finale - which is a very good one.

although i was slightly disappointed by this season when it was on tv i think it could just be a transitional series, taking them away from the familiar and towards where they want to end up, that could end up growing on you. I found that happened with series six of buffy - when that was first on i actually stopped watching it but then when i watched it again after having watched series 7 i began enjoying it more and more. a bit of slump after four great years but still a winning show.

also i don't think the constant breaks on channel four helped, they just made it soo frustrating, perhaps on dvd it will be a completely different viewing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Season 5 - Not So Smallville, 14 Jun. 2006
By 
L. G. Cousin "The Wookie" (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Fifth Season [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Every increasing with popularity, this season of Smallville is one of the best. Was unsure at first, as it was unable to find a balencing story to focus on, but it finds its feet for a mouth opening finale; to be enjoyed by any Superman fan. The appearence of some faces from the comics is well received, and the loss of a main character truly hits the heart; well portrayed by Tom Welling in my opinion. Buy it, Watch it, Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good season, 12 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Fifth Season [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
I don't like this season as much as the others because particularly in this season Lois as a character does nothing. Again the scenes with Lois and Clark are one of the main reasons why i continue to watch this show. Clark and Lana finally get it together but they break up by the end of the season and she gets with Lex which completely made me lose any sympathy at all for Lana (if there was any left).James Marster's is brilliant and builds the season up for a great conclusion and cliffhanger. Also smallville's 100th episode which goes down as one of the best.
Best episodes; Arrival, Mortal, Hidden,Exposed, splinter,Lexmas,Reckoning,Vengance(another episode which showed me how great Tom Welling is now as an actor),Oracle,Vessel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smallville: The Complete Fifth Season [2005] [DVD]
£16.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews