Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great season
This is a great season with so many interesting episodes. On the romantic side we get to hear Lois Lane's answer to Clark's proposal at the end of season 2. "Who is asking, Clark or Superman?" - From her answer we get to know that she has discovered Clark's secret identity as superman. Will this new knowledge bring them closer together or drive them part? -the drama is...
Published on 20 Oct 2006 by Uenna

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite so Super as the first two.
So Lois Lane has finally discovered the truth (at long last!!!!) Clark Kent and Superman are the self-same person. So does this mean an end to the will-they-wont-they, do-they-don't-they chapters of their love life? Forget it! Because while Lois does initially take some time to come to terms with Clarks dual identity, their romance is still as fragile as it was in the...
Published on 24 Mar 2007 by KAT


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great season, 20 Oct 2006
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 3 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is a great season with so many interesting episodes. On the romantic side we get to hear Lois Lane's answer to Clark's proposal at the end of season 2. "Who is asking, Clark or Superman?" - From her answer we get to know that she has discovered Clark's secret identity as superman. Will this new knowledge bring them closer together or drive them part? -the drama is played out in many entertaining episodes of romance and break up and reconciliation. Some of my favourite episodes include `We have a lot to talk about' - when Lois gives Clark her answer; `Ordinary people' - romantic getaway to a tropical island with dire consequences; `Just say Noah' - when they had to go undercover as Mr and Mrs, `Ultra Woman' - when Lois gets superman's power as a result of a freak accident. In the last two episodes of this season we see some Kryptonians arrive on earth in search of Kal-El (Clark) to ask him to leave the earth for ever and return to New Krypton - Superman is not the only one with super powers and that gave an added spice to the drama. Also an assassin is sent by Lord Nor -superman's rival to eliminate Superman and stop him from returning to New Krypton. These two episodes summarise the essence of Superman and his legend. It is very emotional and very well told. This box set is filled with exciting special features -Lois and Clark - a history of romance -Chronicles their romantic history from the comic books to the movies and TV series; The man of Steel trivia challenge hosted by Dean Cain is really cool and so is the documentary -`Look up in the Sky -the amazing story of Superman'. What I like best is that the packaging is very compact and space saving
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite so Super as the first two., 24 Mar 2007
By 
KAT "tatethegr8" (Kettering Northants) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 3 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
So Lois Lane has finally discovered the truth (at long last!!!!) Clark Kent and Superman are the self-same person. So does this mean an end to the will-they-wont-they, do-they-don't-they chapters of their love life? Forget it! Because while Lois does initially take some time to come to terms with Clarks dual identity, their romance is still as fragile as it was in the first two series. I lost count of the times they broke up and got back together. I know this is supposed to add tention but in reality it just made me want to scream at the TV!

And while all-in-all the series is very good, too many episodes are just too far fetched. I know this is a super-surreal series where anything can happen but some of these episodes stretched my suspension of disbelif to breaking point. A few examples: Lex Luthor is back from dead minus his hair and looking to rekindle his relationship with Lois at whatever cost. Not only does he go as far as to kidnap her on her wedding day and swap her with a frog-munching clone but then the real Lois also loses her mind for 5 episodes, falls in love with her doctor and can't remember anything about Clark or Superman. This is VERY frustrating as it took her so bloody long to figure it out in the first place and it feels like we are back to square one of the story! Also, although Krypton supposidly died, with Clark being its last infant, some Kryptonians turn up at the end of the series and beg him to take on Lord Nor their evil tyrannical ruler, and while these episodes are good and entertaining I think it meddles just a bit too much and goes a bit too far away from his orgins as a comic book hero. These are just minor niggles but I still think this series pushed the suspension boundries to breaking point, and messed around far too much with their relationship. For heavens sake, we've been waiting for 2 whole series, willing them to get together - and them 'bam' its all over again before you can even draw breath. For someone who loved the romantic suspension element of the first two series, I actually started to think that in the end I didn't care whether they stayed together or split up. However, towards the end of the series things picked up and the series had a few more 'super' episodes. Also I finally decided that Justin Whalin was in fact a superb Jimmy Olsen - and I can't even remember what I liked so much about the first one anyway. If you are collecting the series, like me, then do perchase this series, but some episodes may dissapoint. Worth a watch at any rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the Best, 22 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 3 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The on screen chemistry between Dean Cain and Terri Hatcher is still as powerful as it was in the first two series. The twists and turns in their slowly developing relationship was well thought out and written and a sheer joy to watch, although when i first saw it back in the 90's I remeber the awful tension each week as we wondered will they stay together. I think it's often forgotten now that this series was groundbreaking. It actually made Lois and Clark a couple, and even married them to each other. This was unheard of at the time, and really pushed the boundaries. Thank goodness they did!! For what we have here is a timeless and electrifying romance story that is as fresh today as it was when it was first aired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars too many cooks, 26 Feb 2010
By 
J. Bray (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 3 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This series departs a bit from the cheese fest that was series 2 but it becomes clear that the direction of the show isn't agreed on by everyone working on it. Some writers/directors/producers seem to want to make it an action series, some a rom com, some a drama and others don't seem to have chosen a genre at all, instead deciding to just pop out a pile of absolutely average one liners which generally look out of character and in many cases spoil the flow of dialogue and make the show look amateurish. The genre swapping wouldn't have been too bad if it had just been limited to one genre an episode or at least worked in together with a relevant plot (many good shows since L&C picked up this habit, esp. those by Joss Whedon) but the indecision in each episode was tiring to keep track of, not to mention distracting. There are a few episodes which are exceptions but not many.
This sounds like a 1 or 2 star review so I should explain the extra couple of stars; somehow (and I have to admit I'm still not sure how) I was still gripped enough by Clark and Lois' developing relationship and by the new Kryptonian angle to keep watching all the way through, but it really was hard going at times. I did enjoy the series but it takes more effort on the viewer's end than any other popular show I've ever watched. If you want to see L&C out to the end then get this season but if you're wavering after watching season 2 I'll warn you things don't get *much* better in this season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super!!, 27 Jun 2006
By 
Mark (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 3 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is another brilliant season of Superman! Like I have said in the other reviews for 1 and 2, this is the best Superman to date as the actors and actresses forfil their role and act out extremely well! Smallville is good but in my opinion this is the best, and nothing comes close! It remains very popular today and I think it will in years to come!

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Adventures of Superman is brilliant!, 24 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 3 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I loved this series when I watched it in the early 90's and I still love it now.

I highly recommend this if you're the type of person who likes fantasy/non-reality!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 3 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Well pleased with this item .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 3 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Enjoyed all the episodes and thought that the actors were all very good and very convincing in their respective roles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value entertainment, 8 Mar 2014
By 
D. W. Joynson (St Albans, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 3 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Purchase smooth and good value. Prompt posting and receipt, faster than promised. Box set is a great series. A lot of fun and worth watching again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 3 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Loved watching these again as used to as a child. Would recomend to people around my age or into superman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews