Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Irish have the Answer!!!!!!!!!
I would love to be the A & R man responsible for finding this fantastic Irish 4 piece. Yes this album smacks heavily of the seventies with a sway towards Zeppelin and Free but with an undescribable modern twist. If your a great band with lots of energy and catchy strong driving anthems like 'never too late' then your record company should be pretty chuffed to have you on...
Published on 11 Sept. 2006 by Tosh

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid rock, best served loud.
Good rock music. Nothing original about it but it's done properly with big riffs, weaving solos and a stong singer. Most of the references of the other reviews are spot on - if you like Cry of Love and Black Crowes (or some of the better Reef songs) then you'll hear the similarities but you'll also really like it.
Published on 13 Sept. 2006 by eclectic warrior


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Irish have the Answer!!!!!!!!!, 11 Sept. 2006
By 
Tosh (Lincoln, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rise (Audio CD)
I would love to be the A & R man responsible for finding this fantastic Irish 4 piece. Yes this album smacks heavily of the seventies with a sway towards Zeppelin and Free but with an undescribable modern twist. If your a great band with lots of energy and catchy strong driving anthems like 'never too late' then your record company should be pretty chuffed to have you on board. The Answer are just that : The Answer to some of the mainstream nu metal emo crap that is being passed as music today. They are young ,not dumb and come across as a powerful rock blues british band. Having seen them support Alterbridge a few years back and then seeing them with Whitesnake I was impressed with the difference. The Answer long may you rein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their name couldn't be more appropriate..., 28 Jun. 2006
By 
James Attrill "justice_zeppelin" (Isle of Wight, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rise (Audio CD)
The Answer have produced one of the standout albums of this decade, and perhaps even one of the best debuts ever. It oozes the vibes of the 70's back when real rock bands ruled the world, such as Zeppelin, Free, Purple etc, and blends this with more modern bands such as The Black Crowes and Cry Of Love. Someone once described them as 'Led Zeppelin with backing vocals' and they're not far off. Here is a band that defies today's culture of manufactured groups that fade out after a couple of hit singles. They have worked their way up from playing in Irish pubs on spare weekends, to supporting legendary bands such as Whitesnake and The Who, and are clearly very passionate about the music they play, and they have every right to be.

The album mainly consists of full-out rockers (Never Too Late, Come Follow Me, Leavin' Today) but also has a couple of slower, bluesier songs (Memphis Water, Preachin') as well as the traditional power ballad (Always). Every style that the band turn their hand to is equally impressive, and demonstrates their obvious talent as musicians. However, they have more than just skill, their is clearly fantastic chemistry between them. Cormac Neeson's soulful vocals and Paul Mahon's searing guitar-work is backed up perfectly by Micky Waters' pounding basslines and James Heatley's awesome drumming to create something that transcends mere words - so I won't try! I would say my favourite track is either Sometimes Your Love, with highlights Cormac's fantastically unique voice, or Under The Sky which features mindblowing guitaring from Paul (a trend that runs through the album). Buy this album if you like any kind of rock music and you will not be dissappointed. This band are destined for great things, so make sure you check them out before they go global!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the most original band in the world..., 24 July 2006
This review is from: Rise (Audio CD)
...but then, neither were Led Zeppelin or Free or AC/DC or The Black Crowes, the most obvious influences of this hard rockin' four-piece. As some of my fellow reveiwers have picked up on, they are currently out supporting Whitesnake on their British tour, and audiences up and down the country are loving them. I spoke to lead singer Cormac Neeson in Sheffield after their support slot, and told him that I'd never seen so many people in the crowd watching the support act, and he said he thought Sheffield didn't like them because he'd spotted some empty seats. Anyway, on to the album.

The first track, Under The Sky, is an excellent opener. Short, sharp, punchy lyrics, great guitar work and a heavy rhythm section grabs you by the short and curlies and doesn't let go. Never Too Late and Come Follow Me don't quite have the same impact, though there's nothing wrong with either of them, whilst Be What You Want is one of the band's favourite live tracks, as the three other members of the group get to sing along on the chorus. Memphis Water could be renamed Muddy Waters, it's the first dip of The Answer's toe into the Memphis Blues that they so obviously admire, though for total blues wait until you get to track 10, Preachin'.

And then you're on to the two best songs on the CD - No Questions Asked is pure Led Zeppelin from start to finish, Jimmy Page guitar riffs, Cormac doing his best Robert Plant impression, but there's a feeling of recognition that makes you love it. And the next track, Into The Gutter starts with a Paranoid guitar sound, moves into Bon Scott era AC/DC for the verses (Walk All Over You, that kind of feel), and finishes sounding like the little brother of Aerosmith's Toys In The Attic, but again, you recognise the influences all the way through, and can't help but enjoy it.

One track lets the album down, the closer Always On Your Mind. It's like the last song on the first Darkness album, you can imagine it was written purely to give the listener one of those overblown ballads that you can hold your lighter in the air to, but really, The Answer don't need songs like this. They've got enough sharp rock songs, and emotional bluesy songs, to keep the listener happy, and I for one press fast forward on my CD player once track 10 has finished, and jump to the start of the album again. But apart from that, a marvellous debut album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic rock renaissance, 18 Aug. 2006
By 
D. Irwin "aorgirl" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rise (Audio CD)
If ever we needed a solution to the self consciously stylised over-hyped "art-pop-rock" being peddled in the so-called mainstream music industry, ladies and gentlemen, we have The Answer. Cormac Neeson (vox), Paul Mahon (guitars), Micky Waters (bass), and James Heatley (drums) are four guys hailing from Northern Ireland who grew up listening to their parents' record collection. The result - exuberant Rock music played with guts, power and shedloads of skill that captures perfectly the excitement and joy of the shared experience which is great Rock `n Roll. Yes, their Free and Zeppelin influences shine brightly, but this is no cheap 70's rip off outfit. This is young, fresh, and has more energy than a Jack Russell terrier pup. This is a band that is set to re-energise and revive the blues and take it to a new generation.

Opening track Under The Sky makes a defining statement for the rest of the album. Cormac completely shatters the myth that white men can't sing the blues while Paul exhibits a wonderfully expressive less-is-more approach to blues rock soloing, hardly surprising as his favourite guitarist is Paul Kosoff. One listen through the whole album, and you get it all: explosive drumming, crunching riffs, rolling bass, fluid, resonant playing and hooks that are solid gold. Never Too Late is Zeppelin at their peak, Come Follow Me is 70's flamboyant stadium rock at its best. Memphis Water is a strong dose of "old school" blues rock that displays the band's Free influences, No Questions is an opportunity for James to prove that he can drum like Bonzo, too, and Preachin' has that deep Mississippi delta blues feel, complete with gospel choir to make you feel good about religion again!

The days when the UK was the pioneer for Rock music are long gone, notwithstanding these islands periodically throw up superb bands which epitomise the true sense of rock - Thunder, Little Angels and Skin immediately spring to mind, the latter two having been chewed up and spat out by The Industry, their work becoming nostalgic gems for those of us who "found" them at the time. They way they're going, and with the luck of the Irish behind them, The Answer are surely set to be huge. If you like rock music, this album is a must for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Answer - Rise, 12 Jan. 2007
By 
This review is from: Rise (Audio CD)
It's been described as the best debut album of the decade so far, and they've been described as the most refreshing band to emerge on the rock scene for a long, long time. It is of course THE ANSWER, and their album `Rise'. Following high exposure support slots with the likes of WHITESNAKE, these young Irish lads are ready to roll up their sleeves, and bring good old fashioned classic rock back to the masses.

Opening track `Under the Sky' is a great way to kick off the album with a tremendous chorus complimenting an infectiously groovy riff, and the groove rolls on with the excellent `Never Too Late' up next. `Come Follow Me' is a faster number and shows the band's harder edge.

In terms of the slower tracks, `Be What You Want' is a vibrant little number and album closer `Always on My Mind' is a subtle ballad. Both of these songs show that the band are capable of delivering a kind of music that hasn't been done with this kind of feeling since the 1970's and the blues tinged `Memphis Water' serves as a wonderful half-time kind of song, slap bang in the middle of the record.

The classic rock influences of LED ZEPPELIN and DEEP PURPLE are continously evident from start to finish, with vocalist Coman Neeson in particular sounding something like a cross between Ian Gillan and Robert Plant. One of THE ANSWER's more recent influences is undoubtedly THE BLACK CROWES. `Ask No Questions' sounds like classic BLACK CROWES and `Preachin' is a dead ringer for their song `Soul Singing'.

`Into the Gutter' is an album highlight and is well worthy of it's selection as a single. `Leavin Today' is another kicking tune too and it's chorus has a unique feel, but still extremely catchy.

There's no doubting that THE ANSWER are destined for big things. Along with fellow Irishmen GLYDER, they have produced a first class debut album with all the qualities that have made classic rock one of the most popular genres of all time. Refreshing?... Yes...Invigorating?...Yes...Buy It?...Definitely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock n Roll Folks!, 28 Jun. 2006
By 
S. J. Moss - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rise (Audio CD)
Whilst Britain seems to be enjoying somewhat of a resurgence in rock n roll music, there still exists a significant void insofar as 'quality' or thoughtful rock is concerned. Whilst the Tokyo Dragons serve up an abundance of good times, face melting riffs, and the Darkness offer tongue in cheek but nonetheless valid 70's rock, there is still no band which is sufficiently experimentative to be compared to Led Zeppelin or Queen, yet concise and accessible enough to be hailed as great by the masses. In swagger The Answer.

This is an album of great quality throughout. Drawing heavily on early blues influences, and amalgamating them with a classic rock sound, The Answer offer an album of unswerving quality. Straight forward rock and blues tracks are supplied in equal quantity, and whilst I personally prefer the rock (Under The Sky and Follow Me) there is such quality and merit in the other tracks, that you can't help but appreciate them!

Ultimately, this is an album of superb quality, and should be a staple album for any genuine rock fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darkness in the shade, finally Black Crowes baton grasped, great IRISH rock!, 15 May 2007
By 
Alex Kidd "LoyalToTheRock" (Dub Northside, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rise (Audio CD)
Didnt know anything about this group, went to see them as blasee as many of the crowd and venue, spoiled by too many years of choice tunes, apathetic after hearing too much formula "rock by numbers"; and competition has never been greater. Yet, I was blown away!

The time is right for a band like this, there hasnt been a true band of Southern & Bluesy rock knights to carry on the tradition of such as Black Crowes & the great Thin Lizzy. Ironic that they should come from the North!

Loved the performances, loved the voice, the guitars, the songs, the hair and above all, the drumming, explosive! Lovely to hear the Belfast accent, and the down to earth get-on-with-it, kick-ass exuberant style

If I had one criticism, it was the overuse of the dreaded "rock echo" sound trickery for the vocals, absolutely no need for it, the guy can wail, and small venues at least are the wrong place for the mega-big sound. So get down raw & dirty, listen to the Crowes, turn off that daft vocal echo in the ordinary venues, and you will be making rock bliss! "Tell me, tell me, tell me The Answer, coz you maybe a lover but you aint no dancer.........!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock the way it should be, 26 Jun. 2006
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rise (Audio CD)
Those of us with a penchant for hard driving, classic guitar rock have been standing to attention in anticipation of this release, ever since their debut EP last summer. They've been building their profile the proper old fashioned way, by touring, playing anywhere that'll have them, cranking it up to 11 and rawking!

And the power of the rawk is strong in this one. Taking no prisoners in their quest for the holy riff, they race out of the traps in a burst of mixed metaphors, laying down classic groove after classic groove - "Under The Sky", "Never Too Late", "Come Follow Me" - not pausing for breath until the mellow Black Crowesian vibe of "Be What You Want" and the stomping white boy blues of "Memphis Water". I actually thought the latter had been banned under European Directive 121065 / 251245 - The White Boy Blues Restriction Order, but maybe we've decided to follow the French (running shoes required) and pretend that the rule we don't like don't exist.

Then it's back on to the rock'n'roll express leaving from Track 6 ("No Questions Asked"), not long before we hurtle "Into The Gutter", all slide guitar and Longcoldwinter like. The Young Bros riff of "Sometimes Your Love" is a dancefloor winner, "Leavin' Today" is, surprisingly, the first poor punctuation of the album but as "Preachin'" follows straight after, their quota has been attained. The latter is straight out of the Southern Harmony and Musical Companion and one headed straight for the top of my personal playlist.

Things, sadly, come to an end with "Always On My Mind" - not the Elvis / Willie Nelson / Pet Shop Boys number, rather a Train like slow builder of a power ballad with "Who's Next" like keyboards. I say sadly because this an album I didn't want to end. Given time, it could go down as one of the great debut albums in rock and/or roll as The Answer put in a virtually flawless performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Rock in 2006!!!!!, 16 Aug. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise (Audio CD)
Damn good record or I may say the best hardrock/classic rock album. These guys got the essence of Zeppelin, AC/DC, Cream. It's incredible how they mixed the hard rock melodies with the blues. The next generation of Black Crowes. I had to pay a lot for this CD (since I'm from Indonesia) but it worth every penny I spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Classic Rock!!, 25 Jan. 2007
By 
Tom_F (W. Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rise (Audio CD)
Bought this album a couple of weeks ago after seeing the song "Come follow me" on TV, and i was not disappointed with what i got. This album is a true Gem! It's classic rock, pure and simple; good riffs and solos, and a singer with a powerful voice. To compare the band to other rock legends would probably be unfair, but I have to say that when you listen to the whole album there are similarities to Black Crowes, Thunder, AC/DC and the like. This band could become rock greats in time, if you like this kinda music this album will fit right into your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rise
Rise by The Answer (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews