Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for the whole family
I loved this tale of friendship, courage and love - the animation was awesome, down to the minutest details of facial expressions, and all the animals were incredibly cute (and there were so many of them too apart from our three heros Manny, Sid and Diego). My favourite was the migration scene, where you could see more animals than were aboard Noah's ark, and of course...
Published on 18 Aug 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for kids, but not as good as the first
In places, the graphics are amazing, superior to the original, especially the sea/water. The voice-actors are as good as they were, perhaps even better, than in the original. So why the 3 stars? It's the plot, there really isn't much of one.

In the original Ice Age the story was about a group of animals reuniting a human baby with the tribe that lost him whilst...
Published on 23 Nov 2006 by b4-its-2-l8


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for the whole family, 18 Aug 2006
This review is from: Ice Age 2: The Meltdown (2 Disc) [2006] Limited Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this tale of friendship, courage and love - the animation was awesome, down to the minutest details of facial expressions, and all the animals were incredibly cute (and there were so many of them too apart from our three heros Manny, Sid and Diego). My favourite was the migration scene, where you could see more animals than were aboard Noah's ark, and of course Scrat's neverending quest for the Acorn. You will laugh your pants off; you will be so touched that you'll cry; you will sit on the edge of your seat in suspense. A lovely family film with a moral, but with lots of fun and laughs too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film is deeply moving, 10 Aug 2006
By 
S. Squires "The Gatekeeper" (Devon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ice Age 2: The Meltdown (2 Disc) [2006] Limited Edition [DVD] (DVD)
This film really moved me. It was both comical AND poignant, a rare combination and a welcome one. There are moments in this film which just made me break right down and cry!

For those of you who haven't seen it, this sequel to the film "Ice Age" has Manny, Sid and Diego trying to escape the imminent flood that follows an indeterminable Ice Age. Their world is changing and they, together with their surrounding neighbours, must make it to the one place that will save them all, a place where they can rise above the imminent flood and settle on higher ground.

It's that journey that this film concentrates on, and the interaction that brings them all together is just tear-jerking in some places. Each character manages to overcome their own personal fears and their own personal prejudices for each other, and they form an unbreakable bond that helps them to reach their final destination. Only by working together, are they able to finally escape to the higher ground and escape the flood.

I can't praise this film enough, it has an outstanding moral message that the leaders of our modern-day world would do well to take note of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guranteed to delight just about everybody, 4 Mar 2007
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
While I didn't think Ice Age - The Meltdown boasted a particularly memorable storyline, it's still a five star, very funny movie all the way through. The filmmakers tend to milk things a little too far in my opinion, especially when it comes to the poor old saber-toothed squirrel just trying to get a nut, and let's face it, a wooly mammoth that thinks she's an opossum is just plain silly - even though it, like everything else, actually manages to work pretty darn well in this movie.

As far as the story goes, Manny (Ray Romano) the wooly mammoth, Diego (Denis Leary) the saber-tooth tiger, and Sid (John Leguizamo) the sloth have to lead all of their Arctic friends to safety when their icebound home is threatened by meltdown-generated flooding (thankfully, without the story goose-stepping to today's environmentalist wacko hysteria). Along the way, they pick up Ellie (Queen Latifah) and her two opossum brothers. It takes most of the journey for Manny to convince Ellie that she is not actually a wooly mammoth (which is particularly important to Manny, as he was beginning to fear he was the last of his kind). The gang face all sorts of dangers they must overcome (and fears they must conquer) if they are to survive. On paper, it's all pretty formulaic, but the winsome depth of the characters and of course the extraordinary animation makes for a consistently funny, exciting adventure.

Sid (Leguizamo) steals the show time and time again in my opinion, but everyone will latch on to one favorite character or another. The climax is actually pretty exciting and heart-warming, helping make this a film you can't help but enjoy immensely. Ice Age - The Meltdown doesn't distinguish itself the way, for example, Cars does, but it's definitely a film the whole family will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for kids, but not as good as the first, 23 Nov 2006
By 
b4-its-2-l8 (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ice Age 2: The Meltdown (2 Disc) [2006] Limited Edition [DVD] (DVD)
In places, the graphics are amazing, superior to the original, especially the sea/water. The voice-actors are as good as they were, perhaps even better, than in the original. So why the 3 stars? It's the plot, there really isn't much of one.

In the original Ice Age the story was about a group of animals reuniting a human baby with the tribe that lost him whilst set against the back drop of an encroaching Ice Age and all the melodrama that's entailed in that. In this movie, the ice is melting and the animals have to get to the other side of the valley, but other than that there isn't really any other constant story to hold the movie together, unlike the original. Instead, what's offered is an excuse for an animation sequel that falls short of the original by quite a margin.

As already mentioned, the visuals and voicing are high quality, and there are even sufficient humorous episodes to put a smile on your face so that you don't finish up thinking you've just wasted and hour and a half, but this is more like a soap-opera rather than proper film. In this offering it's the scriptwriters that are the let down.

The movie is peppered with well-rendered yet ultimately simple filler animation sequences, a couple of which are more reminiscent of early Disney animations, which is a bit of a cop-out these days. This movie desperately yearns a decent storyline to carry it (sorry, but the back drop of melting ice just isn't enough).

This animation baulks the trend over recent years for presenting mature humour in a child-like packing and instead goes just for the child-like packing (which it achieves admirably). But... it's not cleverly scripted, like The Incredibles, Shrek, Monsters Inc, Antz, Toy Story or even the original Ice Age.

I'm sure it will be delightful for younger children and anyone else with a young-at-heart-and-head disposition. But I'd give this movie an overall 67% entertainment rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What went wrong?, 17 Oct 2006
By 
Adam (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ice Age 2: The Meltdown (2 Disc) [2006] Limited Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Ice Age was a huge hit at the cienma and it had every right to be. It was hysterical, it had mild action but enough to keep you a little over the edge of your seat and just plain good fun. Sadly, Ice Age: The Meltdown acheives none of these. One of the things that went drastically wrong was the fact that it had to live up to the first great film which was going to be hard work. The scenery is nice and the characters are loveable but the story and humour lacks. It was boring and the jokes weren't aimed at all ages. It was just little kiddie jokes aimed at 5 - 8 year olds. I was truly dissapointed when I came out from this film becuase even Scrat couldn't keep the storyline going (although he was defiantely one of the best characters throughout the film). Not outrageoulsy bad but a really big shame as this could have been a lot, lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Follow Up, 23 Dec 2006
By 
John Kimble (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a decent follow up to the very successful and very entertaining first movie.

As the name suggests this adventure follows the guys through the prospect of the impending doom of their homes being destroyed due to the end of the ice age.

The Meltdown bring more of the same laughs as the first movie and indeed there is plenty in it for both kids and adults.

The problem with a good film/anime these days is that the studios can't wait to get the sequel out to cash in on merchandising etc and although this is a good sequel you do get the feel that it doesn't flow as well as it could have.

All the same I've given it 4 stars as it has a lot of laughs and the computer animation is a site to behold.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sid is brilliant; his mini adventure is a definite highlight, 3 July 2007
By 
The kids really enjoyed this. At first, "Ice Age: The Meltdown" looks like the inevitable sequel to the famous 20th Century Fox animated blockbuster, trying to cash in the success of the previous movie but that wasn't the case. This new adventure of the prehistoric mammals manages to stay on its own legs and delivers nothing but great fun becoming a worthy sequel. That alone is an achievement in its own right.

"The Meltdown" continues with the style of its predecessor both in humor and animation, so those who fell in love with the original will love the sequel too. The difference however, is in the fact that now Manny is our main character. We get to know more about this character apparently anti-social and cynic, but who in the inside feels very lonely after the loss of his family. Sid and Diego make good sidekicks in this adventure and while their roles in the film are somewhat diminished, they still are very well-developed characters. Scrat, the nut-obsessed squirrel is back too in his constant quest for his lost nut, giving slapstick humor of the finest type in every scene he is in.

It is always hard for sequels to live up to the expectations, specially in family-oriented animation films, but director Carlos Saldanha and his team manage to make a funny movie that never gets boring or tiresome (something vital as it is a movie mainly oriented for kids).

While probably the story is not exactly original or complicated writers Peter Gaulke and Gerry Swallow make up for it with good character development and funny one-liners that fit the movie tone very good. Two new characters, the young possums Crash (Sean William Scott) and Eddie (Josh Peck) are a welcomed addition to the family, as well as Ellie (Queen Latifah), the lost mammoth.

Ellie, Manny and their relationship is a very important subplot in the movie, and one that was perfectly handled by the director and his crew. While Diego's subplot was also interesting and served as basis for very good jokes, it didn't had enough screen-time; a shame in my opinion, but overall the movie was very good. The only problem I had with it was the language and innuendos. Yes, the PG rating warned of that, however it is a cartoon and maybe we need to let the movie producers know that we don't have to have foul language and sexual innuendos to make a movie good.

To summarize, fans of the first "Ice Age" won't be disappointed by "The Meltdown", and it also breaks the "sequel's curse" this film is entertaining on its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable but no patch on the first, 30 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Ice Age 2: The Meltdown (2 Disc) [2006] Limited Edition [DVD] (DVD)
with a variety of animals all combining once again in this animated sequel many would agree if they had seen the first then this would be a surefire success, which it was but unfortuantley it cannot live up tothe brilliance of the first.

Moaning manny, Silly Sid and Daft Diego all return to the enjoyment of litle kids as the animated characters return to escape the fall of their valley.

the film centres around physical humour e.g. Sid getting burnt, the mammoths hang upside down ina tree, Diego cant swim and whatever to the perfect enjoyment of kids and i guess thats the main thing.

however we are coming to a stage in society where plots are always the same and audiences will be paying for the same thing over and over again - this is no different from any other animationa lthough the effects in this film are frankly some of the best i have ever seen.

the plot is pretty consistent with an easy to understand plot, the ending is very exciting and tense. however the ridiculous humour and annoying characters lower the films spark and effect on older audience interest.

great for kids to watch or to sit with the family but personally i think there are better more influencial animations on sale e.g. The Incredibles which packs more enjoyment and humour for audiences of all ages, or simply the first ice Age where everything was nice, simple and funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit wet, 17 July 2009
This is a fun animated movie for kids but it has nothing to make it stand out and it's to be hoped that the forthcoming Ice Age 3 finds a little more inspiration. There is little semblance of a plot, instead the movie relies upon incessant pratfalls, as well as on its admittedly impressive animation.

As the subtitle suggests this installment sees the motley collection of mammoths, saber-toothed tigers (and squirrels!), sloths and possums, battling against the melting of their icy world. New dangers such as carnivorous fish and thinning ice mean the animals have to adapt quickly or face extinction - this is a pretty good premise but quite hard to explain to a 3 and a 5 year old! My daughters loved the movie and it is pretty entertaining in an undemanding sort of way, however it could have done with a proper storyline rather than the stringing together of a series of random crazy scenarios.

Overall this movie is worth a look if you've seen Ice Age 1 and is good fodder for wet school holidays, however I would recommend renting rather than buying as there are better animated movies out there to spend your hard-earned cash on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. I was in laughing from start to finish., 31 Jan 2007
This is probably one of the best follow up films ever made (the list also includes alien's and terminator 2) Sid, who is my favourite character, is even better than the first 1. I don't like to give away plot details, but basically the trio have been warned that the ice is melting and that the valley they live in is going to be flooded. They are soon off on another adventure full of mishaps and scenes that will have you in stitches.Well worth watching!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ice Age 2: The Meltdown (2 Disc) [2006] Limited Edition [DVD]
£3.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews