Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superman Returns, if only he'd waited a bit longer
Superman Returns on XBOX 360 has a lot to live up to. The film was a true revolution in film making. Tie-in's have always been met with fear and often, later, disdain. Frankly this game is only for superman fans.

Gameplay: After about 1 hour, fighting the same bad guys again and again becomes cruel, and utterly boring. However, the sheer joy of blurrying...
Published on 31 Jan. 2007 by Mr. R. Weydert-jacquard

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superman but not SuperGame
I bought the 360 for this game so you can imagine I was looking forward to it. The experience of playing as Supe's is very clever. Flying at Superspeed is great and you get a feeling of power from the character but the game could have been so much better.

The missions are very repetitive - usually involing fighting robots or mutants and this doesnt allow much...
Published on 28 Dec. 2006 by UKstd1


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superman Returns, if only he'd waited a bit longer, 31 Jan. 2007
By 
Mr. R. Weydert-jacquard "RWJ" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Superman Returns (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Superman Returns on XBOX 360 has a lot to live up to. The film was a true revolution in film making. Tie-in's have always been met with fear and often, later, disdain. Frankly this game is only for superman fans.

Gameplay: After about 1 hour, fighting the same bad guys again and again becomes cruel, and utterly boring. However, the sheer joy of blurrying through the clouds and in between the beautful cityscape of metropolis and the surrounding landscape cannot be matched (for fans) in any other game, least of all super-hero tie-ins. If you enjoy taking cars and lamposts into the 'miso-sphere' so to speak, dropping them and racing them down in an attempt to rekindle the epic plane rescue scene, then this game is truly entertaining/inspirational. However, if you can find it for less than retail price you'll do yourself a favour. If you do want to slug your way through the same fights over and over then it will take about 10 hours to complete the game, though there are one or two very cool levels where one has to overcome natural disasters. The graphics are great, the music is original, though due to the lack of the superman themetune, one will have to play that occasionally from a separate device for a truly orgasmic experience. The gameplay is awful, though the controls are very good and intuitive, free roam in 30 min bursts is the true fun of the game.

The cape sound affect is exactly the same as the one in the film, so if you love Superman Returns more than your friends think you should, do buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars superman super game, 12 Mar. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Superman Returns (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this for fun, I never expected to actually really like it. The game itself doesn't actually follow the films storey, although there are some cut-scenes that are similar to the film.

Overall I enjoyed the storey and especially the game play but who doesn't enjoy throwing petrol tankers at five hundred foot Robots. I have to say this game has a lot of play time in it, weather your rescuing cats or racing fifth dimensional beings across metropolis or if your like me and you just like cruising the skies.

On the down side there are some problems with flying enemies disappearing into buildings and the fact that the whole storey is supposed to take place in one day
is ridicules, coupled with the fact that the graphics aren't great (2006) and the civilians are as invulnerable as superman(trust me i tried) makes the game feel a bit cheap a bit rushed, just a few adjustments would have made all the difference.

On the up side, the amount of enemies you can fight is quite impressive as-well as the sheer power of your abilities at the end of the storey, after which you can roam metropolis as normal, super powers maxed out and still the enemies keep popping up from time to time so you don't get bored.

Summery

Plot 6 out of 10
Game play 9 out of 10
Completion time 6 to 12 hours (long as you want)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superman but not SuperGame, 28 Dec. 2006
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Superman Returns (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought the 360 for this game so you can imagine I was looking forward to it. The experience of playing as Supe's is very clever. Flying at Superspeed is great and you get a feeling of power from the character but the game could have been so much better.

The missions are very repetitive - usually involing fighting robots or mutants and this doesnt allow much of a plot to develop. Considering you can interact with cars, buildings and people it would have been nice to have some missions that required this - even if it was just rescuing people from buildings or stopping stolen cars or bank robbers - anything other than fighting missions. The main plot from the movie is carried out by cut scenes which is a real shame as you dont interact and there is no formal acknowledgment that you have completed the game.

Not using the movie score was also a mistake, though the music inserted is well written - you really want to be bombing around Metropolis to the real music.

I suppose the 360 is currently hampered because we are not using hi-capacity DVD disks yet - which explains the absence of an 'intro-movie' or varied gameplay - but I hope when this become available, EA will release Superman Returns II and beef up the functionality alot. A multiplayer option would have been nice too. Imagine how much fun you could have had between Bizarro and Supes on 2 player?

Overall for a bit of fun - its pretty good - but if you were (like me) looking forward to the ultimate Superman experience - its going to disappont - sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been great, sadly lacking, 22 Jan. 2007
By 
Z. Buck "Zed" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Superman Returns (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The game, called Superman Returns implies it is based on the movie, so imagine my confusion when you're sent off to battle robots, dragons, and all sorts of other random alien creatures. Metropilis is a huge layout of a city, rather like Grand Theft Auto, so I was hoping that there would be lots of mini missions, perhaps fires springing up, robbers to stop, drowning people to save etc etc all of which you have to prioritise and get to as quicklyy as possible. If you were expecting this? It's nothing like it.

You hover above the city waiting for aliens to come in and cause havoc. You fly over, bash them about a bit, they disappear, then you just wait for the next set of exact same creatures to come back and you start again. The only mini mission of the game is that there are 100 lost kittens in the city that you need to find. Frankly if that's the only incentive to fly around the city then I can't be bothered.

Certainly the title is misleading as it is seems to be based on comic books rather than the film.

The potential for this game could have been much better so it's disappointing in that respect although still quite fun. Hopefully there will be another with improved gaming experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful load of rubbish., 4 Dec. 2006
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Superman Returns (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is an appalling game, obviously rushed out unfinished by EA to get it out in time for Xmas. Apart from the initial thrill of being able to fly at supersonic speed, which to it's credit is rendered quite well, the rest of the game is a mindless repetitive saving of Metropolis from stupid robots. The story line is more or less non existant.

If you are aged 5-10 you may enjoy this game.

And don't take my word for it, read the IGN review panning it. The 5.5 they gave it is more than generous. I'd have given it 2.5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It realy saved the Day, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman Returns (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It was for my Grandson who we didn't get to see until just after Christmas, he was a little upset because he wasn't allowed out with his older Brother and Cousins so I said he could open our present, he loved it and even more when they came in and said they wished they had stayed in. with him to play it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superman returns, 20 Nov. 2006
By 
Matthew (Flitwick, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Superman Returns (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
n Superman Returns: The Videogame, you explore and protect the truly living city of Metropolis -- one that is not only expansive (with 80 sq miles and over 9,000 buildings), but also changes dynamically with you as you affect gameplay. Citizens will run away in terror from newly-erupting danger and also exit their cars to cheer and snap photos as you fly overhead to save them. Superman may be invincible, but Metropolis is not. Player choice matters, as Metropolis' destruction will affect your ability to progress. You must face the internal conflict facing Superman at every turn: will you pause your pursuit of super villains to stop a massive tornado sweeping through the city and save its civilians? Every decision made is critical to Metropolis' existence and can affect the collateral damage meter, which ultimately keeps the player in the game.

On the gameplay front, there is a strong mix of funny little one-off mini-games, a lot of side missions unlockable at your leisure, and a story narrative that follows the movie plot. More importantly, Tiburon has solved several of the problems that have haunted previous Superman games before, all of which revolve around control. It all starts with good smooth mechanics, and Tiburon has done an excellent job with the Man of Steel's controls. This game is fun to play, whether you're indulging in Superman's special powers, from heat vision to ice breath to super breath, or simply flying around the city. EA's initial delay might have put some people off, and the company might have lost some steam now that the movie has done its thing in theaters. But EA has taken its time to get this thing right, which is the smartest move, and gamers are going to be pleased with the results. And that's what matters most, right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Service, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman Returns (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I order this product which turned up very quickly with now problems good value for money. would recommend to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars upset, 26 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman Returns (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i fould the game bording to play no misson just fighting was upset cause i thought it would be good being superman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superman returns, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman Returns (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this for my 9 year old son he claims its epic for that reason 5 stars awarded enough said !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Superman Returns (Xbox 360)
Superman Returns (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
£34.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews