Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CoF's Cruelty and the Beast - Nice one lads...
I first saw this album when I was browsing around a few Black Metal bands. Cradle of Filth have accomplished what they were instructed to do. The popularity of their previous album (Dusk and Her Embrace) was so successful, that it sold over-seas, so they were naturally going to work hard on this one. Cruelty and the Beast is indeed a masterpiece for mainstream black...
Published on 24 Mar 2001

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Try harder next time Cradle
I was eager to buy this CD, as I already owned Midian and wanted to hear more of what the Cradle had to offer. It was a mistake. This album starts convincingly enough, with a solid intro and a good first three tracks. 'Cruelty Bought They Orchids' is a super-fast (almost thrash fast) track with excellent lyrics and a brilliant intro. 'Beneath the Howling Stars' starts to...
Published on 20 Aug 2002 by n_lang


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CoF's Cruelty and the Beast - Nice one lads..., 24 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cruelty and the Beast (Audio CD)
I first saw this album when I was browsing around a few Black Metal bands. Cradle of Filth have accomplished what they were instructed to do. The popularity of their previous album (Dusk and Her Embrace) was so successful, that it sold over-seas, so they were naturally going to work hard on this one. Cruelty and the Beast is indeed a masterpiece for mainstream black metal, even though tracks such as 'Desire in Violent Overture' can convince any hardcore Black Metallers that Cradle of Filth get inspirations from bands such as Darkthrone, Bathory, etc. This album is quite intense, yet very melodical. Only problem is the power which the drums give out. Sounds kind of tinny, but then again, that's distinctive of CoF. I would recommend this to both 'true' black metallers and newbies to the scene. -Digital
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking!!!!!!!!!!!, 6 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: CRUELTY & THE BEAST (Audio CD)
This album album is a absolutely amazing, the atmosphere is excellent. It starts off with three devastating tracks which suck you in and dont let you go till the end including one of my favourites on the album "Beneath The Howling Stars." It then goes into the weird and twisted "Venus In Fear" with its disturbing screams and groans. Then comes another brutal track followed by the excellent "Twisted Nails of Faith". Then comes "Bafory Aria" which is a mixture of orchestra, heart pounding guitar riffs and furious drumming. My philosophy is save the best till last and that is just what Dani and co have done concluding the album with "Lustmord and Wargasm" which is another of my favourites and is a true masterpiece. Dani`s vocals are also amazing with great lyrics inspired by an evil countess who lived around the 16th century which also adds to the atmosphere. All this combines together to make one of the best Cradle of Filth albums ever great job lads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory for all Black Metal fans, 25 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: Cruelty and the Beast (Audio CD)
This album is just excellent, and is one of the few concept albums that really works. Based on the legend of the Hungarian 'Blood Countess' Elizabeth Bathory, the album drags its listeners through a dark and violent story steeped in eroticism and lascivious imagery. Dani's lyrics are intelligent and intriguing in equal measures - it's almost worth buying the album just to read them. However, don't expect to be able to actually hear his message as his trademark screaming and barking blurs the dialogue into one long tirade of apocalyptic proportions.

At the time the band were disappointed with the sound production and were particularly despondent about the drum sound. However, until they had actually pointed that out to me I had not noticed that there was anything amiss. With hindsight it's noticeable that the drums are quite tinny, but I really don't think this detracts from the quality of the songs as a whole. Nicholas Barker's drumming is so furious, and his timing is so accurate, that any sound production issues pale into insignificance.

Cruelty and the Beast was the first Cradle of Filth album to really reveal the band's influences, and a heavy dose of Iron Maiden style riffage can be heard resonating from the twin guitars. The dark undertone, carried forward from The Principle of Evil Made Flesh, prevents the guitar sound from being too cheery, but the seeds of commerciality were definitely being sown at this stage. I bought the first couple of albums from underground 'goth' shops and was surprised to see this one hit the shelves in all the major music retailers immediately. This was partly due to Dani's increasing presence in the rock media at the time, but was also as a consequence of more traditional metal sounds coming through the mix.

Being a concept album all of the songs flow together well and are best appreciated in their original sequence. However, in my view, the classics are Thirteen Autumns and a Widow, Cruelty Brought Thee Orchids, Beneath the Howling Stars and The Twisted Nails of Faith. The album loses the plot slightly half way through The Bathory Aria, but quickly picks up again towards the end. Concluding the album is Lustmord and Wargasm, a huge song that leaves you feeling knackered when it's over.

All of the songs explode with a diverse array of sounds and the orchestration is extremely impressive. At times there are classical elements that could be confused with Brahms, whilst the cacophony that erupts from other parts, usually from the same songs, could only be matched by the most intense thrash metal band after thirteen shots of Black Death vodka.

I highly recommend this album to any fan of Black Metal. This was Cradle of Filth at their best. It swept aside the whole genre and redefined 'heavy' for a new era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my faviroute cof albums, 8 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Cruelty and the Beast (Audio CD)
In my opinion this is cofs most creative album to date. It is a concept album, about Elizebeth Bathory. Many of the tracks have clasical influences. This is most prominant in the instrumental `Portrait of the dead countess`.
By far the best track is Bathory Aria. This is divided into three parts `Benighted like Usher`, `Murder of ravens in fugue` and `Eyes that witnessed madness`. This song has a duration of approximately eleven minuites. However there is sufficiant variation in tempo and atmosphere to justify this.
The next best song is probably `Lustmord and Wargasm`. This has an excellent clasical introduction, leading into an extremely fast song. Personaly I am suprised that this does not often apear in their live shows.
`Thirteen Autums and a Widow`, `Cruelty brought thee Orchids` and `Beneath the Howling Stars` are in many respects similar songs. For example they are all very up-tempo, are of similar length, and have many structural similarities.
If this album has a weakness it is the production.
As was actually pointed out by a band member, on the official site, the drums sound tinny. This is a shame, as the drummer on this album is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cradle's best, 11 Oct 2003
This review is from: Cruelty and the Beast (Audio CD)
Unlike with a lot of bands, you have to turn back a few pages in Cradle's history to find the best record that they have released. Cruelty and the Beast is by far the most impressive sound they have created.Based upon the life of Countess Elizabeth Bathory, the album is not just a collection of songs, but a story...and what a good read it is!
Combining truly terrifying guitar riffs, ghostly keyboards, electrifying drumming from Nick Barker (who is surely the best metal drummer of today), and of course superb variety of vocal styles, every song leaves you breathless and in absolute awe of how mere mortals could create something so genuinely grand.
A special mention has to go to Robin Graves on his truly inspirational bass playing. Listen to 'Beneath the Howling Stars', the best track on the album and you'll see what i mean.
Other classics on this masterpiece include 'Desire In Violent Overture' and 'The Twisted Nails Of Faith'.
One 'song' to be wary of is 'Venus In Fear'. Actually quite disturbing in places its not for playing if parents or relatives are within hearing distance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most darkly erotic album and the best, 5 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Cruelty and the Beast (Audio CD)
Welcome my feinds to the darkest heart of Transylvania where we take a journey into the life of Countess Elizabeth Bathory. This has to be the best Cradle Of Filth album ever I garantee that you will not be dissapointed by this truly dark and morbid masterpiece also it features the legendary Igrid Pitt providing the voice of the Countess on severel songs. As with all my reviews I will do it song by song.
1.Once Upon Atrocity
An intro filled with the true heart of everything that is the scum of the earth as you can feel yourself passing over the bridge entering Castle Cséjthe as you enter the sinister world of the Countess.
2.Thirteen Autumns And A Widow
A truly amazing beginning to the album it is one of the best songs on the album yes the choral singing is real and raw as anything. But this is just the beginning to this tragic story.
3.Cruelty Brought Thee Orchids
I am tired of reviewing title tracks but anyway this again will fail to dissapoint you. The driving guitars and powerful drumming is by far the main attraction if you may have noticed that Nick's snare has a very high, crisp sound which alot of people don't like on this album but it was intentional.
4.Beneath The Howling Stars
There was always something truly magical about Robin Graves's bass playing on this album which fills your soul with ease as this track is a prime example of it. They are plenty of things to listen for in this track.
5.Venus In Fear
One could easily be discouraged by this terrifying intrumental It is not for the weak-stomached as we can hear one of Elizabeth's servent girls being toutered .It is strange for Sarah Jezebel Deva to do something as erotic as this but it just goes to show that one can easily be truly horrified by this track APPROACH WITH CAUTION
6.Desire In Violent Overture
Going deeper into Castle Cséjthe we are revealed more of this reality nightmare a good song, probally the most different track on the album in terms of style has some kind of dark moral meaning i'm sure
7.The Twisted Nails Of Faith
In this track we finally get to here the Countess speak portrayed very well by Ingrid Pitt well, come on they wouldn't choose her just for the sake of it! The song is brilliant it is the best song on the album.
8.Bathory Aria: Benighted Like Usher, A Murder Of Ravens In Fugue, Eyes that witnessed madness.
This is a very long song. And the most powerfull more vocals of Igrid Pitt can be heard towards the end. Overall it's not really the best song but there are bits to it which really are quite intersting.
9.Portrait Of The Dead Countess
The title again echos lines for 'Dusk And Her Embrace' All I can say is that this stands as the most emotinal intrumental on the album of the Countess's death.
Lustmord And Wargasm (The Lick Of Carnivorous Winds)
A brilliant ending short but sweet full of energy and passion as you end your journey of Cruelty And The Beast
My final conclusion is that this is the best Cradle Of Filth album ever and that you could live inside. I would recomend it to any Cradle fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Black Metal album EVER!, 1 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Cruelty and the Beast (Audio CD)
All I can say is that this album is truly Cradles best. If you are interested in them buy this or 'Midian'. 'The Twisted Nails of Faith' is the best song of all time with its Gothic leanings, yet still brutal guitars. Keyboards are put into good use too. 'Portrait of the Dead Countess' is Cradles best instrumental, really making you feel the darkness of Elizabeth Bathory's soul (whom this whole album is bases upon). The rest of the album is of usual Cradle standard....exellent, yet the latter songs really do stand out. Dani's vocals are bound to echo inside yer head for weeks to come too! Buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional Symphonic Vampire Metal, 20 April 2004
This review is from: Cruelty and the Beast (Audio CD)
Having had this album for over a year and knowing all the songs fairly well, liking it, but not rating it particularly highly, i decided to take the CD out again and listen through the whole thing devoting full concentration to it.. WOW, i was blown away. This is a pure masterpiece with all tracks being standouts. I simply can't tell you which songs are the best as the whole album (which is a concept album) is good. Some people have commented on Venus in Fear, but i think this is a good break in the album, the actual music beneath the erotic screams is actually very powerful and i enjoy the song. My description of this album is emotional (many of the songs are very emotional, ive cried to Cruelty... before, and the ballad sections of Bathory Aria and Beneath the howling stars are incredibly beautiful) Symphonic (used to great effect the keyboards give it a very dark, brooding, gothic vampire atmosphere, and some of the symphonic stuff especially towards the end of the album gives a feeling of classical music) Vampire metal (genre). The songwriting skills and musicianship are absolute, and i'd agree with the comment by someone else that the only downside (which is very slight) is the production which gives the drums a slightly tinny feel.. but the drumming is exceptional anyway.
100/100
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cradle of Filth - Cruelty - Can This get Any Better???, 7 May 2004
This review is from: Cruelty & the Beast (Audio CD)
Of all the albums before and after Cruelty & The Beast, I have yet to see an album with this ones maturity. The lyrics are legible in this (a minor failing previously), The melodies in "Thirteen Autums & A Widow" and "Beneath The Howling Stars" are just stunning, and the album continues to get heavier while keeping melody and a fantastic production quality. I cannot recommend this highly enough. If you are buying Cradle of Filth for the fist time, this is the place to start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dark as dusk, 14 Aug 2005
This review is from: Cruelty and the Beast (Audio CD)
this was the first cradle album i got in about 97 and it certainly wasnt the last. i was hooked from the first 10 seconds, having never heard them before. the lyrics are stunning, vocals out of this world, telling the story of a countess who bathed in the blood of virgins (incidentaly one of the nieces of the historical dracula)oh my lory, what a masterpiece, this is it the magnum opus what the filth will be remembered for in a hundred years. a true original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cruelty and the Beast
Cruelty and the Beast by Cradle Of Filth (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews