Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Modern Folk Album
Recorded for a cost of £500 in Seth Lakeman’s kitchen, Kitty Jay has a better and clearer production than albums recorded for 100 times its cost. It has propelled Seth to recognition following its nomination for the 2005 Mercury Music Prize. A good example of the Mercury bringing deserved exposure to a new act though Kitty Jay almost wasn’t entered for...
Published on 16 Nov. 2005 by Greg Farefield-Rose

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars damaged goods
this cd arrived badly broken looked like it had been kicked around the floor for a week before being packed !!! envelope was not damaged !! sent back for refund
Published on 14 May 2013 by Ms. A. Campbell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly Evocative, 31 Oct. 2005
This review is from: Kitty Jay (Audio CD)
I live on the edge of Dartmoor and constantly dwell in its looming presence and this album evokes that spirit brilliantly, The opening tracks transport you to this legendary place and the stories which inhabit it. Arthur Conan Doyle once said that if you came across a caveman on the moor that you would think his presence on the moor more natural than your own, and Seth sums that phrase up with his musical tribute to this timeless place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Seth!, 16 Nov. 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitty Jay (Audio CD)
What a great album! This guy sounds like a young Rod Stewart singing folk. Forget the beards and tabards, Seth Lakeman makes folk rock very cool. He's a fair singer but a better musician and the intensity of his voice makes masterpieces out of several of the tracks. The title track has the most wonderful atmospheric violin backing (by Seth himself) and recalls The Ballad of Lucy Jordan from the Seventies; both are about women who had unusual fates.
Other great tracks are Blood upon the Copper, Henry Clarke and the haunting John Lomas, with the Ballad of Josie (about another fated lady).
Seth seems to have been heavily involved in writing, producing and arranging most of the tracks.This is treally an album which brings folk into the 21st century!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on., 4 Nov. 2006
By 
George Connor (The Remote Parts of, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kitty Jay (Audio CD)
A quick encapsulation? Seth Lakeman is English folk's Jeff Buckley.

The compositions on this disk balance the tense, brooding atmospherics of Dartmoor with impossibly attractive hooks and performances.

The quality is in the balance. The persistent drive of John Lomas sits directly next to the addictive Bold Knight. The range of the eleven songs is ambitious by anyone's standards.

The album stamps its greatness with the frighteningly raw Kitty Jay, the sound of contemporary English folk embracing its own heritage in a way that, say, Kate Rusby does not. It's not pretty, it's naked, raw and nervous; it's compelling, uncomfortable listening and carries a breathtaking emotional weight. Haunting, does not begin to describe the feeling.

The album rolls along with very different tones portraying the moods of the moors. It's incredibly affecting but never ever contrived, never inauthentic.

Pertinent to the achievement is the stripped down sound, leaving sounds with impurities and a real feeling of spontaneity. The real sound on display, though, is Lakeman's voice. Simultaneously familiar and idiosyncratic, each listening reveals new layers, new sensitivities. As I say, the only comparable feeling is that of listening to Jeff Buckley's "Grace" for the first time. Spine-tingling.

It's been a long while since I have felt so electrified by a new artist. Seth Lakeman has assembled one of those much-abused labels in its truest sense: "instant classic".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars last chords, 4 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitty Jay (Audio CD)
I heard the last few chords of Lakeman's set at a festival perhaps a year ago. The 'sound' attracted my interest but as I walked into the tented stage, I heard 'Thanks very much - hope you enjoy the rest of the festival'.

That left me feeling a bit short changed and - finally - I have his Kitty Jay album - and I am not disappointed. Those few closing chords I heard have manifested themselves into a first class album bringing much enjoyment. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 years of listening, and still love it, 20 Jan. 2012
By 
Mr. M. J. Law (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitty Jay (MP3 Download)
From the first hand claps to the last chord this is one great album. I have had this album for over 5 years now and i must listen to a track off it at least once a week, if not more. When you consider that Seth produced this album in his kitchen, coupled with his great story-telling, this makes it an amazing album. It is without a doubt in my top 100 and would be knocking on the door of the top 10. Buy it, you will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite concerts ever of any kind - an energy verging ..., 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitty Jay (Audio CD)
Saw him in concert on the strength of hearing the title song on the radio. One of my favourite concerts ever of any kind - an energy verging on the supernatural!. I then bought this album and later two others by him and love the range of the themes he uses - but most of all the brilliant music making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars perfect intro to folk, 29 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Kitty Jay (Audio CD)
Kitty Jay remains a joy to listen. Its traditional folk quality mixed with an edgy attack makes it a perfect introduction to folk music. The title track is the strongest here and acts as beacon to deliver the rest of the album. A worthy mercury prize nominee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitty Jay (Audio CD)
Absolutely brilliant musician and writer, I was prompted to purchase this by my wife after seeing a Sky Arts concert featuring him and have now gone on to buy 3 more of his albums and can't wait to see him live in concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 12 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitty Jay (Audio CD)
Listen to this over and over. Have number of Seth Lakeman's CDs, like this one the best but they are all good. After buying the CDs went to see him in concert, was fabulous, great experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kitty Jay, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitty Jay (Audio CD)
Where have I been I have only just discovered Seth Lakeman. I now have three of his albums and will be purchacing the rest shortly. I adore track 1 John Lomas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kitty Jay
Kitty Jay by Seth Lakeman (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews