Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Riots and then some.....
Simply magnificent.

Forget the much hyped "change of direction" - this has all of the grandeur of The Lost Riots and then some.

It's all here, commercial rock (Blood Meridian, Sing It Out, Bonfires)- sweeping epics (Left, Little Silver Birds, Church Choir) - searing political comment (Industry) and the most touching and beautiful ballad you will ever...
Published on 17 Jun. 2006 by Mancsam

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New Here
Dull record. Utterly forgetable. Nicely recorded but absolutely lacking in anything to make want to listen to it again. The pleading, earnest style of the vocal delivery doesn't help.
Published on 15 Feb. 2008 by Mr. S. Downes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Riots and then some....., 17 Jun. 2006
By 
Mancsam (Warrington, Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Left (Audio CD)
Simply magnificent.

Forget the much hyped "change of direction" - this has all of the grandeur of The Lost Riots and then some.

It's all here, commercial rock (Blood Meridian, Sing It Out, Bonfires)- sweeping epics (Left, Little Silver Birds, Church Choir) - searing political comment (Industry) and the most touching and beautiful ballad you will ever hear (January), if you don't get a tear in your eye listening to this mesmerising track then check your pulse, you are probably dead.

How do you follow a masterpiece such as "The Lost Riots"? - listen to "Left" and find out. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Gamble, 23 Jun. 2006
By 
Stappo (Ipswich UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Left (Audio CD)
Once in a while there is a track that comes along & you think 'Wow!' and can't wait to buy it. 'Blood Meridian' did that for me but it has been so hard to get hold of I have had to wait ages for 'Left' to appear. I was not dissapointed. This is an excellent album with a lot of excellent tracks and well worth the money (only 4 stars because I save 5 stars for only a handful of albums).

I try to avoid comparisons but those unfamiliar with HOTS will probably want a reference point. Think Interpol covering Ash with the feel of pre 'OK Computer' Radiohead. But this album is more than that and is impossible to pigeon hole.

Take the plunge & give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 29 Jun. 2006
This review is from: Left (Audio CD)
As other reviews elsewhere have stated, "Left" takes over from where "The Lost Riots" left off - minus the melodramatic, lengthy dramatics and orchestra (having said that, there is still a fair amount of strings, etc...)

"Left" is a leaner, meaner affair though, and each track is a killer. The tempo is generally fast paced, with 3-4 slower, sombre tracks. You'll find yourself loving each track for different reasons, as the album is fairly eclectic. Reminiscent of everyone from "OK Computer"-era Radiohead, Oasis, BRMC & The Editors. For me, this is the finest album of 2006. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album of 2006, 29 Dec. 2006
By 
M. Brown "The Deceiver" (Felixstowe, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Left (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the strength of hearing Sing It Out on MTV2 and haven't stopped listening to it since. I had heard a couple of their earlier songs and hadn't been over-impressed but the songs on this album all have such excellent hooks and the lyrics are always interesting with a good mix of slow songs, heavier guitar-led songs and all out anthems this stands head and shoulders above the rest of this years music for me. My personal favourite tracks are Blood Meridian, Sing It Out, Bonfires, Industry & Forwardirektion but the quality keeps up for the whole album.

I have also enjoyed albums by Embrace, Muse, Lostprophets, Jet, Cord & The Killers this year so if you enjoy any sort of indie or rock music I'd thoroughly recommend this album.

M Brown
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Streamlined follow up to 'The Lost Riots', 22 Jun. 2006
By 
This review is from: Left (Audio CD)
I don't know exactly how I feel about the new direction Hope Of The States are taking. "Left" lacks the kind of epic wide-eyed terror that made "The Lost Riots" such a classic album, and I feel like I should be annoyed at this new, mainstream sound. But I can't do it, it's just too good an album. Before they had the vision and the soundscapes, but few actual tunes - now they have some real chestbeating anthems to go alongside their post-rock roots.

Opener "Seconds" may not have the same shocking impact as "The Black Amnesias" but instead it kicks the album off to a more mellow start. The fires of anger and rebellion that powered HOTS through their debut has been streamlined to a smouldering bitterness that pours out in call-to-arms "Blood Meridian" and the stream-of-consciousness of "Industry".

Moments of glittering beauty ("Little Silver Birds", "January") merge with colossal angry anthems ("Bonfires", "Forwarddirektion", "This Is A Question") and uplifting choir-assisted hope ("The Good Fight", "The Church Choir") to form a wonderful and fitting second album for the band that lost it all, and are on the way back up. Hopefully this will give them the success they deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 20 Jun. 2006
This review is from: Left (Audio CD)
The first Hope of the States album was a very interesting CD indeed. Put next to Coldplay and Radiohead, the powerful anthemic songs proved a very pleasing antidote to commercial moodiness. However, the second album was a gamble. 'Tne Lost Riots' worked so well because the band had a window. So many groups were doing politics badly, so this was their moment. Now, that political fad is dying down, and news of a 2nd album certainly had me questioning whether there was a place for the band anymore.

Thankfully, although this album is definitely more of the same, it is more of the same but better. 'Sing it out', 'Industry' and 'The Church Choir' could easily have made the first album perfect. As before, political sentiment echoes over exceptional melodies and superb musicianship. The impact is the same, but the lasting effect is greater. You will be hooked in no time. After a gradually disappointing Coldplay LP last year, this is a welcome antidote and goes to prove that Hope of the States were deservedly revered in 2004. If you want excellent political indie, buy this album. Nothing else will suffice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Album Of The Year, 9 Dec. 2009
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Left (Audio CD)
They made one of the best records of the decade, a short and pointed treatise on the sharp teeth of modern society and the broken dreams of the workers of capitalism wrapped in powerful songwriting and instrumentation, before splitting up before it was even in the shops. No word was wasted, no note unneeded, no second anything less than vital. Even the numerous b-sides and unreleased demos were better than most other bands hit singles. This record then, was stillborn, with the band having a beautiful future unrealised before them. TheY coulda been contenders, here is their last flash of genius : if this had had the words "U2" on the cover, it would probably have been Q's album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New Here, 15 Feb. 2008
By 
Mr. S. Downes (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Left (Audio CD)
Dull record. Utterly forgetable. Nicely recorded but absolutely lacking in anything to make want to listen to it again. The pleading, earnest style of the vocal delivery doesn't help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Left
Left by Hope of the States (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews