Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warn me
Fledgling UK electropop band Hot Chip have found greater success with their second album, "The Warning," but thankfully have not sold their souls to do so.

This sophomore album is simply exploding with experiments and ideas, so much so that an otherwise amazing album gets a little drippy around the edges. Give them a few more years, and Hot Chip will be blowing...
Published on 31 Aug. 2006 by EA Solinas

versus
11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little overhyped..
With all the hype surrounding 'the Chip thought I'd give 'The Warning' a go, after a few listens nothing really sticks out and I'm sure I will not be dusting this CD off again.

Don't get me wrong this is not a bad album and it sounds very quirky and original in patches, but I can't help thinking it is missing something. A lot of the tracks start off well then...
Published on 3 Oct. 2006 by A. J. Conway


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars hot for hot chip, 20 Oct. 2007
This review is from: The Warning (Audio CD)
I went into Virgin the other day heard the first minute of a song from the album being played. I asked a staff member what it was and they of course said "Hot Chip". I instantly bought the cd and before this cd i had never owned another of the electronica/rock genre [other than massive attack and portishead but Hot Chip are completley different and i struggled to get into those artists].

This has opened my eyes into a whole new wonderful genre and im loving it, also listening to simular artists such as Postal Service.

If you want something new to listen to and you dont mind this type of music GO FOR IT.

If you are involved in music engineering of any sort this can be a great inspiration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Warning, 26 May 2006
By 
John Donald "Tatters" (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Warning (Audio CD)
After seeing Hot Chip supporting Goldfrapp and hearing 'Over and Over', I was instantly hooked on their mixture of quirky melodies, beats and vocals. Now having bought this album, I'm hooked all over again. It hasn't left my car stereo since I got it and I would recommend it to anyone looking for something a little different from the mainstream. Highlights? 'Over and Over' obviously, but the title track's garage-esque beats and lyrics about how 'Hot Chip will break your legs, smash up your head' is fantastic and a good laugh considering how nondescript they all look!

Buy it, and you won't regret it. Fantastic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Chip's greatest work, 22 May 2011
This review is from: The Warning (Audio CD)
Now a band perhaps more renowned for being used on BBC soundtracks, Hot Chip's most emotionally engaging and interesting work is their sophomore 'The Warning'
The tracks on the album have a real sense of intimacy and frailty which blends well with their electronica influences, most notably seen on tracks like 'So Glad to See You' and 'Look After Me'
There are also the more danceable singles like 'Over and Over' and 'And I was a Boy From School'.
There are few better albums for post going out relaxing and it is also good travel music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars band of the year?, 19 April 2006
By 
Mr. N. MCCUTCHEON "Neil M" (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Warning (Audio CD)
You're probably familiar with Over And Over by now. I first encountered this band courtesy of The Blue Room on Radio 1 - they played No Fit State, which has become my "latch song" for Spring 2006; the melody and vocals just get under your skin and temporarily replace motor functions... It's extremely - unusually - well arranged, with one of those mantra-like outros. And interesting lyrics too, well sung. (Want a summer hit? Re-release it as a single, go on!)

Hot Chip aren't "wild" - reminiscent of early 80s electro pop like Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark - though there are some boundary-pushing tracks, for example the opener, Careful. Hot Chip are a headphones band too, full of musical ideas like The Beach Boys at their peak - behind all the catchy pop tunes are lurking a lot of hidden, playful sounds. I haven't heard the whole album yet, so I gave it four stars on the strength of the tracks mentioned, as well as Boys From School and Colours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hot stuff by Hot chip, 21 Nov. 2006
By 
This review is from: The Warning (Audio CD)
Think of squarepusher, think of Aphex Twin, Beta Band, now think of a sprinkle of offbeat melodies from various styles of musical influences and you are presented with the sound of Hot Chip. Ive heard one reviewer desrcibe them as sounding like the Boo Radleys...ha ha ha....fear not, thats just plain ridiculous. One reviewer said stick with Depeche Mode and Kraftwerk because Hot Chip are just a poor version of them?? Well yes, i am sure Hot Chip are influenced by such artists but come on, Hot Chip create a sound which has evolved from such pioneers, a refreshing, challenging band for the year 2006. Give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Chip Do It Again, 15 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The Warning (Audio CD)
Another fantastic by Hot Chip.Yet to find something by them,or that they are linked to,that I don't like.Brilliant!If you like them,and do not own this album then add this to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than the first, 1 Jun. 2006
By 
This review is from: The Warning (Audio CD)
I got tickets to see Hot chip at liverpool and wasn't too keen on going, i had the fist album and wasn't that impressed as all the songs felt - empty. Bands like fischerspooner can use this to their advantage but hot chip seemed to fail. Luckely 'the warning' is alot better, complete with funky songs that have plenty going on. 'Over and over' is amazing and sounds like a band who's realised their mistakes and started afresh while 'the boy from school' and 'the warning' take the band to new levels.Buy it - its actually rather good this time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little overhyped.., 3 Oct. 2006
By 
A. J. Conway (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Warning (Audio CD)
With all the hype surrounding 'the Chip thought I'd give 'The Warning' a go, after a few listens nothing really sticks out and I'm sure I will not be dusting this CD off again.

Don't get me wrong this is not a bad album and it sounds very quirky and original in patches, but I can't help thinking it is missing something. A lot of the tracks start off well then transcend into blandness, the singer does not help his voice just wants to send me to the land of nod.

Like the previous reviwer has said I can see this band creating a real monster of an album in a few years but 'The Warning' ain't it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it was a present for my son he is happy with it, 19 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warning (Audio CD)
it was a present for my son he is happy with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Warning (Audio CD)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Warning
The Warning by Hot Chip (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews