Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best way to learn about numbers, bar none.
If you want to help your child to understand numbers (and not just get a superficial, hazy and shaky notion of 'sums') and to have fun doing it then forget those pricey 'educational' electronic gizmos at five times the price and buy these.

I used these wonder blocks more than 30 years ago when teaching infants and juniors with learning problems and now I use...
Published on 15 May 2011 by Aileen Mitchell Stewart

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Product incomplete
I bought this product as a gift and when we received it some parts were missing. We were offered a partial refund, but to be honest it is not much good without all part.s
Published on 11 Dec. 2012 by a caring mum


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best way to learn about numbers, bar none., 15 May 2011
By 
Aileen Mitchell Stewart (N.W. Sutherland, Scotland) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Learning Resources Cuisenaire Rods Introductory Set (Wood) (Toy)
If you want to help your child to understand numbers (and not just get a superficial, hazy and shaky notion of 'sums') and to have fun doing it then forget those pricey 'educational' electronic gizmos at five times the price and buy these.

I used these wonder blocks more than 30 years ago when teaching infants and juniors with learning problems and now I use them with my grandchildren. In my view there is no better way for young children - or even adults whose grasp of number is shaky - to truly understand the link between symbols on a page and the real, practical numbers they represent. And they can be fun in a creative way too: playing with them to create shapes and patterns helps develop the bases of all real maths.

Children need to reach a certain stage of brain development (about the age of 7) before they can really understand the abstract ideas behind adding, subtraction, multiplication and division. Until then they simply have to remember HOW to do the processes without any real grasp of why. This sometimes even confuses very bright children who find it distressing simply to follow procedures they don't really understand. But the more experience children have of handling numbers in concrete, tangible forms the quicker (up to a point) they will understand and the more solid their learning will be. And they will gain huge confidence when they finally understand why 'sums' work the way they do.

Remember, even adults sometimes need concrete objects to tackle abstract ideas. Think about it: have you ever used pens and coins, etc., to illustrate an idea? Or perhaps, if you are a man, resorted to using concrete objects to explain the offside rule to your wife? (Or maybe to understand it yourself?). ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They just get more and more useful!!, 3 July 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Cuisenaire Rods Introductory Set (Wood) (Toy)
I decided to start using cuisenaire rods in private one-on-one English classes recently because I noticed that many of my students were getting frustrated with how their grammar knowledge relates to the English they were picking up in day to day life. There seems to be quite a lot of paranoia amongst students that the English they are being taught isn't the same as the English that is actually used!! I was just curious to find out what sort of effect the rods would have...

After gaining some familiarity, I am finding that many students now illustrate EVERYTHING (including timelines for verb tenses) with rods!! After two weeks, they are using the rods to illustrate stories, to show comparatives and superlatives, to show different verb tenses in a sentence, to indicate subordinate clauses, to convert sentences into questions, to stand in place of people, vehicles, etc. when considering hypothetical situations, and even to help re-enact their favourite football moments!!

Students started with puzzled looks on their faces when I introduced them and one even found it a bit patronising that I was using little coloured rods to help things along. Then - once they realised how useful they are - they forgot that the rods look like something out of a nursery and started innovating new ways of using them! After showing students that the rods can represent ANYTHING they are now showing me new ways of using them all the time!!

My recommendation for one-on-one classes: just put them in the middle of the table and see what happens! You'll be amazed!!

A short note on the product: if you don't want to lose all the tiny 1-unit and 2-unit rods during your first class then I suggest that you buy two or three clear plastic envelopes from Ryman's (where they are dirt cheap). The plastic container that the rods come in is practically designed to help you lose them!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb maths teaching aid, 22 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: Learning Resources Cuisenaire Rods Introductory Set (Wood) (Toy)
these are just brilliant, i remember using them to learn maths when i was a kid, and it is great fun using them to teach numeracy to children, lots of games you can play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cuisenaire rods, 9 April 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Learning Resources Cuisenaire Rods Introductory Set (Wood) (Toy)
This is a very valuable extension for learning for children begining to learn and understand number facts. It can also be used in a variety of number processes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Product incomplete, 11 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Cuisenaire Rods Introductory Set (Wood) (Toy)
I bought this product as a gift and when we received it some parts were missing. We were offered a partial refund, but to be honest it is not much good without all part.s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Positive, 12 Sept. 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Learning Resources Cuisenaire Rods Introductory Set (Wood) (Toy)
A brilliant educational purchase - more than a toy! It would have been even better if the plastic tray it came in had a closeable lid for storage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Nov. 2012
By 
Dominic J. Emery (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Cuisenaire Rods Introductory Set (Wood) (Toy)
My kids love these blocks, while the 2 year old tried to build with them "Lego Style" the 6 year old counts with them. Perfect post dinner "Educainment" Brought back memories of my primary school as we had these too (similar ones anyway)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Check what you get, 12 Nov. 2011
By 
Ian Johnston "Ubergeek" (Castle Douglas, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Learning Resources Cuisenaire Rods Introductory Set (Wood) (Toy)
The four ten-unit orange roads were missing from my set. I'm getting a replacement, and will be interested to see whether I have a one-off dodgy set or whether a major international gang is cornering the orange rod market with a view to world domination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rough & splintery edges :(, 8 Nov. 2014
By 
Ruth Mulenga (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Resources Cuisenaire Rods Introductory Set (Wood) (Toy)
Very disappointed in the quality. The edges of the wooden blocks were extremely rough and splintery. There was a large splinter I removed from one block and there were numerous smaller splinters which caught the skin when handling the blocks. Unsafe to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for visual learners!, 26 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Learning Resources Cuisenaire Rods Introductory Set (Wood) (Toy)
So much fun for a visual learner. It makes it simple to see why 5 + 5 = 10, etc as you line two 5 length pieces next to a 10 length piece. The wooden rods are well cut, long lasting, and precise in their lengths which is essential for this product! It is helping my sons with their numeracy homework; with addition, subtraction, multiplication... It's a pity it does not come in longer lengths! The child eventually learns which colour rods represent which number but to start with I had one of each lined up (like in the picture) so that they could easily see which rod was which length.
Box is not great for storage but can always get another box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews