Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to Cicely
If everyone had watched Northern Exposure about ten years ago, then there would've been no need for 'Lost'. No need for 'Sex & the City', in fact there would've been no need to ever watch any other drama series again.

This fourth season broadens its horizons a little from the previous three, with a bigger cast and maintains the excellent quality shown so far...
Published on 15 Aug 2006 by J. Norrish

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The standard drops
Like many others,I am a long time fan of Northern Exposure, so it was a delight to discover that Amazon had every series available on DVD. I found I already had Series 1 and 2, so I watched those again and then bought Series 3, which was an absolute delight. In my view that series represented the peak of Northern Exposure, when the show was deservedly winning Emmy awards...
Published on 29 Nov 2008 by jem


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to Cicely, 15 Aug 2006
This review is from: Northern Exposure - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
If everyone had watched Northern Exposure about ten years ago, then there would've been no need for 'Lost'. No need for 'Sex & the City', in fact there would've been no need to ever watch any other drama series again.

This fourth season broadens its horizons a little from the previous three, with a bigger cast and maintains the excellent quality shown so far. The brilliance of the scriptwriting cannot be overstated. The slight sense of weirdness is still coursing through Northern Exposure's veins.

The locations are stunning from the first episode where Maggie O'Connell goes to the river to write to her boyfriends. Another favourite is when Chris is sent an old compadre's body through the post, which sounds grim. If you've seen Northern Exposure you'll know that the subject matter is tackled with tongue firmly in cheek. The result is moving, funny and well, perfect!

Once again, this season has no duds, and will be one you revisit time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The standard drops, 29 Nov 2008
By 
jem (New Forest, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Northern Exposure - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Like many others,I am a long time fan of Northern Exposure, so it was a delight to discover that Amazon had every series available on DVD. I found I already had Series 1 and 2, so I watched those again and then bought Series 3, which was an absolute delight. In my view that series represented the peak of Northern Exposure, when the show was deservedly winning Emmy awards left, right and centre.
I timed my purchase of Series 4 so that it arrived just as my watching Series 3 came to to an end, but, frankly, it has been a disappointment. Don't get me wrong, some of the episodes are still as good as ever, but by no means all and for me the biggest problem is the arrival of a new character played by Anthony Edwards, later to star in ER. I find his character lacks credibility. Everything about Northern Exposure has always been quirky, but this character goes beyond quirky into the area of the barely credible. What's worse, he disrupts one of the vital elements of the chemistry of the show. Luckily, he's gone and almost forgotten before the end of the series, but I'm still going to wait a while before I buy Series 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timeless, 2 May 2011
This review is from: Northern Exposure - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
My favorite tv series ever! It's timeless and have the most deep, sincere and sweet sense of humor..
I used to watch it when i was in high school without getting the concept really.. somehow it had a feel good affect then.. There is still a Northern Exposure fan club in Turkey and they made one of the TV channels to show it again last year.. Just for one season or two however..
Haven't met anyone who knows about it in UK yet. Now i'm enjoying every single episode thanks to Amazon.. just finished the 4th season and ordered the 5th..
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still Fresh, New and Relevant, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Exposure - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely brilliant! You will be totally enamoured by all the great characters and funny, insightful and moving stories. Great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Northern Exposure Season 4, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Exposure - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The DVDs are in perfect condition. Many thanks! I await the release of thirtysomething season 4 in the autumn! Andréa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just wonderful, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Exposure - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
An absolute gem of a series. If you've seen Northern Exposure, you know what to expect. Well worth buying for hours of brilliant sit-com set in Alaska. It ticks all the boxes that most stuff coming from the US doesn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars northern exposure, 2 Jan 2014
This review is from: Northern Exposure - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I very much enjoyed the series when on tv and to purchase DVD's was good. The quality very good. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As quircky as always, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Exposure - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
More of the same quirkiness as the Cicellians live through another summer and winter. I like the offbeat humour, though I find I have to take in in small doses, as Dr Fleischman's neuroses can be a bit much... But who can complete with the very yummy Chris in the Morning...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Season!, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Exposure - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
If you've come this far then you sure as hell may as well follow season 4. Worth watching despite increasingly dud episodes, there are still plenty of great ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Northern Exposure, 6 Feb 2011
By 
Mrs. J. P. G. Rice "Piccadilly Poet" (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Exposure - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant - full of the quirkiness of life in Cicely Alaska!
I enjoyed watching this on TV x years ago and am enjoying it more the second time around.
It feels like meeting old friends! Ruth Ann in the store - Holling & Shelley at The Brick (wish it was my local!) Ed and his ideas for being a famous film maker/director, Joel the Doctor and 'the will he won't he' relationship with Maggie.
Plus all the other characters who crop up - Maurice the Astronaut who appears to own practically everything in town! Marilyn the quiet Indian who hardly says anything but who can say more with a look or a shrug!
Adam the weirdo chef - almost legendary like BigFoot!
Not to mention Chris-in-the-morning the DJ with his homespun philosophy drawing on many faiths, ideologies etc.
Plus the brilliant Alaskan scenery.
Northern Exposure real escapism!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Northern Exposure - Season 4 [DVD]
Northern Exposure - Season 4 [DVD] by Janine Turner (DVD - 2006)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews