Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FROM ENGLAND TO CANADA! (and well worth it!)
Yep! This second set completes the Marx brothers catologue.
I live in Canada, and whilst looking up the Laurel & Hardy 21-disc boxset, (which I eventually got, and glad I did!), I happened to have found this set. (Had to get a Cambridge Audio DVD99 dvd player to play both regions over here, though, but a great machine nonetheless!).
I got this boxset on...
Published on 25 Feb 2009 by Joseph W. Szilagy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers.
Not the best of the Marx Brothers films in this Box Set.
They seemed funny years ago, but have lost their sparkle, as they seem so dated.
The best couple of films in our opinion are not here, they are A night at the Opera and A Day at the Races.
These two films are the only ones that we recommend.
Published 6 months ago by Jo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
still epic films very funny recomend it to all even children exellent vallue, keep a family amused for hours exellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars marx brothers box set, 24 July 2011
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
i bought this for my sons to give to their dad on fathers day he loves the marx brothers and the box set was at a fantastic price for 8 dvds my youngest son watched some on friday evening and we could hear him laughing at it downstairs will be purchasing more of the marx brothers in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great price, elegant package, 10 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Being a Marx bros fan forever, I bought this box set just to complete my collection with Room Service and Love Happy. Its price is a true bargain, as you get 8 movies (including some of their best ones,like Duck Soup and Animal Crackers) inside a very elegantly designed box. Strongly recommended for fans as well as classic comedy lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cracking comedy, 16 Feb 2009
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
goes without saying . A cracker. fast and furious fun.up there with the greats. fantasic fun, loved it. strongly recommend. thanks to amazon for the chance to buy wonderful comedies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers DVD Review, 12 Nov 2010
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Marx Brothers Boxset: A Girl in Every Port/The Cocoanuts/Love Happy/Room Service/Animal Crackers/Monkey Business/Horse Feathers/Duck Soup [DVD]

I bought this item for my husband, he was delighted. It brought back memories of his childhood, watching the Saturday Cinema film mornings, which were specially for children. Hilarious viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars you can learn a lot from Lydia, 27 Dec 2013
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
In a lot of ways the cleverness, cynicism and strangeness of the Marx Brothers suit modern tastes. Many people say they're their favourite pre-war film comedians - but I always suspect they are isolating individual moments and not watching the films in their entirety. Because as films, they are rubbish. They really fall between two stools - feeling obliged to provide some kind of tedious romantic plot, but not even attempting to integrate it with the comic routines. As a result these are as random and pointless as the slapstick skits in a pantomime. Groucho's wordplay, Chico's organ-grinder schtick, Harpo's general weirdness and Zeppo's...whatever he does*: they enter, they exit, on to the next unconnected bit of business. Then an arbour scene between the romantic leads, followed by some second rate cast 'number' and a dance routine.

Now, don't get me wrong: some of the Brothers' bits are very good, but it's not enough. The best films, like Duck Soup and Horse Feathers, do have a degree of coherence; but great comedy also needs meaning - not a message, but to have truth behind it - and it needs a heart. The Marxes, as characters, have no heart; they're like demons. Madness in their eyes, they prey mercilessly on everyone around them - until the denouement requires a bout of schmaltzy sentimentality to make sure the audience don't go off and have nightmares.

I don't know why this set doesn't include Day at the Races (my favourite) or Night at the Opera - but obviously without them it can't be seen as remotely definitive.

*To be fair, Zeppo was a pretty good singer; but that's not exactly what the act was most in need of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like that any more......, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Had already bought this box set a few years ago & watch it regularly as I love the Marx Brothers, even my 11 year old niece has become an 'Addict' . I have a friend who also loves them so I thought it would be a nice idea to treat him to this Fantastic Box of Comedy. As the saying goes...'They don't make them like that any more'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
We have lots of hours watching these films they are very corny and the acting is a bit dire but they make us laugh so that all you can ask for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers Later Films, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this from the NY seller because of the eye watering prices quoted in the UK for these particular DVDs, excellent service, arrived before they said it would. If you are a Marx Brothers fan you will already know these films and you will have your own thoughts on which is their best film. My favourite (not in this set) is Duck Soup but I would not argue with anyone picking one of the films from this set. Even the lesser known, dare I say weaker films, have some magic moments/routines. All Marx Brothers films have a similar formula, banter between Groucho and Chico, piano and harp solos, chaos etc. but it doesn't matter this is great stuff. You either love it or hate it, if you haven't seen them (why?)give them a go you've nothing to lose but your sanity (clause).
Just a slight warning, the DVDs are meant for the American market, a couple of them have A & B sides, I had trouble playing these on my DVD player as it would not accept the region, played OK on my PC though. The single sided DVDs played fine on both my DVD player and PC. I was a little nervous about purchasing from the US but no problem at all, I would have no hesitation in buying from this seller in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marx Bros, 3 Jun 2010
By 
C. H. Boyd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
What enjoyment. These movies have a great capacity to provide humor and bring a smile to the face. A couple of the shows have one of the four Marx Bros - Groucho - and whilst this works, it is when the four are together that I found better humor and enjoyment. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD]
Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] by Joseph Santley (DVD - 2006)
15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews