Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars107
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£72.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 December 2011
The first of two box sets of Marx Brothers films, the other box is the films they made for MGM so this means you get their first 6 films up to Duck Soup (which bombed and the studio dropped them) and two late career duds that don't fit anywhere else... The first two films, Animal Crackers and Cocoanuts may seem a little stagey but that is because they are adaptations of their popular Broadway shows. Rounding out the box set is two films they made late in their careers, Love Happy sees the 3 Marx Brothers take on an exceptional bad script, not dreadful but uninspired and thin on the laughs, but A Girl In Every Port is truly bad and seems completely devoid of humour, I say that having got to about 11 minutes before I could take no more. Curiously these are the only two films where Groucho grew a real moustache, spooky huh?
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
What a good price for this collection of Marx Brothers films. Trying not to view the films all at once but its hard. The sound and picture quality at times is a little flat but what do you expect. The one liners are to die for still.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2011
I enjoyed the Marx Brothers when young so was very curious to see how I felt now. Well, I certainly wasn't disapointed. They are very funny in a way I didn't see before.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
Hysterical and so happy my son finds it just as crazy. It is a particular sort of funny and you have to be ready for the random singing and music mid scene but all adds to the craziness of it all. Makes us cry with laughter.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
The Marx Brithers never fail to amuse and this box set contains a lot of their best films. It used to be tradition to watch their films on terrestrial tv over the Christmas period. Now you can watch them whenever you want
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
Brilliant gift. I actually got something right.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2010
Being a Marx bros fan forever, I bought this box set just to complete my collection with Room Service and Love Happy. Its price is a true bargain, as you get 8 movies (including some of their best ones,like Duck Soup and Animal Crackers) inside a very elegantly designed box. Strongly recommended for fans as well as classic comedy lovers.
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
Happy collection for all of us Marxists. Gives Marx from the early works to the last one, with Haro as central character, and a young Vera Ellen dancing our heartsaway
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
I adore these guys. It doesn't matter how many times I watch them, their humour is timeless. Humour without profanity. Young comedians could learn from the Marx Bros.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
excellent value for the money,fast delivery,great watching the marx brothers again,highly recommended item.another great box set for my collection.thank you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Marx Bros DVDs: Classic Comedy Get the Marx Brothers on DVD!