Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers Mayhem!
If you love the Marx Brothers you can hardly get better value for money than this. The eight movies come on 8 picture-disc single-sided discs, not those awful American flippers, so expect them to playable for many years to come. This set actually has 7 Marx Brothers films and 1 Groucho Marx film. It contains: The Coconuts, Horse Feathers, Duck Soup, Animal Crackers,...
Published on 20 Mar. 2011 by Philip Roberts

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars you can learn a lot from Lydia
In a lot of ways the cleverness, cynicism and strangeness of the Marx Brothers suit modern tastes. Many people say they're their favourite pre-war film comedians - but I always suspect they are isolating individual moments and not watching the films in their entirety. Because as films, they are rubbish. They really fall between two stools - feeling obliged to provide some...
Published 17 months ago by gille liath


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers Mayhem!, 20 Mar. 2011
By 
Philip Roberts (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
If you love the Marx Brothers you can hardly get better value for money than this. The eight movies come on 8 picture-disc single-sided discs, not those awful American flippers, so expect them to playable for many years to come. This set actually has 7 Marx Brothers films and 1 Groucho Marx film. It contains: The Coconuts, Horse Feathers, Duck Soup, Animal Crackers, Monkey Business, Desk Front, Love Happy (often called the worst Marx Brothers film, having never seen it before I loved this film), and A Girl In Every Port (Groucho Marx Only). Seven of the best Marx Brothers films plus an excellent, much unfairly criticised Groucho Marx film. And great value for money too. It's a shame the set with the other Marx Brothers films is so expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FROM ENGLAND TO CANADA! (and well worth it!), 25 Feb. 2009
By 
Joseph W. Szilagy "Joe Szilagy" (Mississauga, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Yep! This second set completes the Marx brothers catologue.
I live in Canada, and whilst looking up the Laurel & Hardy 21-disc boxset, (which I eventually got, and glad I did!), I happened to have found this set. (Had to get a Cambridge Audio DVD99 dvd player to play both regions over here, though, but a great machine nonetheless!).
I got this boxset on sale, and when the bill came in (plus what Canada Post dinged me for), it came to just over $50-something dollars which is still anywhere from $10 to $20 less than the earlier 6-disc Silver Screen collection we have on this side of the Atlantic! I've noticed you have that one as well, but obviously I'm going to go for this 8-disc set.
I was initially attracted by the black cover, which has some attractive computer/lithograph photo/painting type colour pictures inside the fold out sleeves. One, in fact, looks so good, (I think from "Horsefeathers" with a funny shot of Harpo being held up from collapsing in the background), that I really wouldn't mind trying to get it enlarged and printed on a black t-shirt!
As far as the movies go, they pretty much all look, and sound great! I once read a review about "The Cocoanuts" from someone who had purchased the "Silver Screen" edition, complaining that the picture quality was poor. Well, either Universal cleaned it up for this edition, or the fellow didn't watch it long enough to notice that after the first few minutes, the picture gets better and better. Hell, what do you want for 1929?! And, if you have trouble understanding Groucho's quick banter on this one, just throw on the subtitles. The quality of all the other movies is just fine, and although (as far as content goes), "Love Happy" doesn't stand up to the other gems in this set, it's still an interesting movie, and introduces us to Raymond Burr (Perry Mason) and bits of Marylin Monroe (although maybe not the "bits" you'd like to see!). Sorry, must have been the Groucho influence there! Anyway, "A Girl In Every Port" is actually not bad, and Groucho is in fine form, but it's either the direction, or the fact that the other brothers aren't in this (only non-Marx Brothers picture), that doesn't quite make it work.
But it's really the superb "Duck Soup", "Monkey Business", "Horsefeathers", etc., that this is really all about, and "Love Happy" simply rounds out the collection.
But to make it totally complete, you should really get (if you don't already have), the other great boxset which is from Warner Brothers, with "A Day at The Races", "A Night at the Opera", etc., complete with cartoons, newsreels, and other features they probably showed in the theaters before each movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very pleasant surprise, 14 Mar. 2009
By 
Neonaki "Kat" (Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I already had the box set with the most known films and only bought this one to complete the collection with Duck Soup. But the included movies were really a surprise! The stories, direction, faces, everything so interestingly different, gives a good sense of how the Marx Bros legend started and a feeling of evolution of their amazing sense of humour. I strongly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 8 films, bargain price, 20 Jan. 2014
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is a bargain set at the current price of 15GBP. That is little under 2GBP per film.

Given the years that these films were produced, the transfer to DVD is top quality in both picture and sound. Duck Soup has to be one of the best Marx Bros film, but anyone with a liking of them will no doubt find a winner in this set. By no means a round up of the best of Marx Bros, but a big way into collecting all their films.

1. Animal Crackers
2. Monkey Business
3. Horse Feathers
4. Duck Soup
5. A Girl in Every Port
6. The Cocoanuts
7. Room Service
8. Love Happy

If you also get this set ( http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B000FFJVGO ) you will have a great collection of Marx Bros greats
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some classics, some filler, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
If you like the Marx Brothers then you are going to enjoy the great films in this collection. The sound and filming in the early ones (especially the Cocoanuts and Animal Crackers) are basic and betray how early in the development of cinema technology they were made. Duck Soup remains anarchic and brilliant and what we have left of Horse Feathers (there are missing scenes) is also funny. However, you can file away the later films as rather slow and below the best - I have read that they were only made by the Brothers to clear Chico's gambling debts. If so, they show the lack of care that their earlier films had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great roundup of Marx Brothers films if you dont have any on DVD, 5 Feb. 2014
By 
K. T. Higgins (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Good inexpensive box set , well presented. Missed a couple of films I wanted out of the collection hence only 4 stars, but the films themselves are wonderful - terrible plots, ridiculous scenarios, genuinely anarchic comedy and of course the famous one liners and riposts. Some of the choreography is unaccountably astounding. If you like the Marx Brothers this is a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When you consider the date when these films were made and you can still watch and roll about laughing like a lunatic, 11 July 2014
By 
M. Wadkin "Mike Wadkin" (South Yorkshire,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
What can you say about the Marx Brother ,When you consider the date when these films were made and you can still watch and roll about laughing like a lunatic.If you are feeling down,take time out and watch this box set and see the true Kings of Comedy.Without a doubt the best delivery of one liners ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars marx brothers box set, 24 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
i bought this for my sons to give to their dad on fathers day he loves the marx brothers and the box set was at a fantastic price for 8 dvds my youngest son watched some on friday evening and we could hear him laughing at it downstairs will be purchasing more of the marx brothers in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable., 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
An enjoyable collection of light hearted comedy films. Watching them it made me realize that the actual genius of the Marx Brothers was not Groucho as everybody thinks but Harpo. It' only when he features in them that the films are truly funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes a very good change from the modern, swearing, 'comedians' ., 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
At the price why wait to buy. If you like the Marx Brothers this is a very good collection. This kind of comedy can be watched by all ages and thoroughly enjoyed. Lots of their routines are as good now as when I first saw them over 40 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD]
Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] by Joseph Santley (DVD - 2006)
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews