Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FROM ENGLAND TO CANADA! (and well worth it!)
Yep! This second set completes the Marx brothers catologue.
I live in Canada, and whilst looking up the Laurel & Hardy 21-disc boxset, (which I eventually got, and glad I did!), I happened to have found this set. (Had to get a Cambridge Audio DVD99 dvd player to play both regions over here, though, but a great machine nonetheless!).
I got this boxset on...
Published on 25 Feb 2009 by Joseph W. Szilagy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers.
Not the best of the Marx Brothers films in this Box Set.
They seemed funny years ago, but have lost their sparkle, as they seem so dated.
The best couple of films in our opinion are not here, they are A night at the Opera and A Day at the Races.
These two films are the only ones that we recommend.
Published 10 months ago by Jo


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FROM ENGLAND TO CANADA! (and well worth it!), 25 Feb 2009
By 
Joseph W. Szilagy "Joe Szilagy" (Mississauga, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Yep! This second set completes the Marx brothers catologue.
I live in Canada, and whilst looking up the Laurel & Hardy 21-disc boxset, (which I eventually got, and glad I did!), I happened to have found this set. (Had to get a Cambridge Audio DVD99 dvd player to play both regions over here, though, but a great machine nonetheless!).
I got this boxset on sale, and when the bill came in (plus what Canada Post dinged me for), it came to just over $50-something dollars which is still anywhere from $10 to $20 less than the earlier 6-disc Silver Screen collection we have on this side of the Atlantic! I've noticed you have that one as well, but obviously I'm going to go for this 8-disc set.
I was initially attracted by the black cover, which has some attractive computer/lithograph photo/painting type colour pictures inside the fold out sleeves. One, in fact, looks so good, (I think from "Horsefeathers" with a funny shot of Harpo being held up from collapsing in the background), that I really wouldn't mind trying to get it enlarged and printed on a black t-shirt!
As far as the movies go, they pretty much all look, and sound great! I once read a review about "The Cocoanuts" from someone who had purchased the "Silver Screen" edition, complaining that the picture quality was poor. Well, either Universal cleaned it up for this edition, or the fellow didn't watch it long enough to notice that after the first few minutes, the picture gets better and better. Hell, what do you want for 1929?! And, if you have trouble understanding Groucho's quick banter on this one, just throw on the subtitles. The quality of all the other movies is just fine, and although (as far as content goes), "Love Happy" doesn't stand up to the other gems in this set, it's still an interesting movie, and introduces us to Raymond Burr (Perry Mason) and bits of Marylin Monroe (although maybe not the "bits" you'd like to see!). Sorry, must have been the Groucho influence there! Anyway, "A Girl In Every Port" is actually not bad, and Groucho is in fine form, but it's either the direction, or the fact that the other brothers aren't in this (only non-Marx Brothers picture), that doesn't quite make it work.
But it's really the superb "Duck Soup", "Monkey Business", "Horsefeathers", etc., that this is really all about, and "Love Happy" simply rounds out the collection.
But to make it totally complete, you should really get (if you don't already have), the other great boxset which is from Warner Brothers, with "A Day at The Races", "A Night at the Opera", etc., complete with cartoons, newsreels, and other features they probably showed in the theaters before each movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers Mayhem!, 20 Mar 2011
By 
Philip Roberts (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
If you love the Marx Brothers you can hardly get better value for money than this. The eight movies come on 8 picture-disc single-sided discs, not those awful American flippers, so expect them to playable for many years to come. This set actually has 7 Marx Brothers films and 1 Groucho Marx film. It contains: The Coconuts, Horse Feathers, Duck Soup, Animal Crackers, Monkey Business, Desk Front, Love Happy (often called the worst Marx Brothers film, having never seen it before I loved this film), and A Girl In Every Port (Groucho Marx Only). Seven of the best Marx Brothers films plus an excellent, much unfairly criticised Groucho Marx film. And great value for money too. It's a shame the set with the other Marx Brothers films is so expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very pleasant surprise, 14 Mar 2009
By 
Neonaki "Kat" (Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I already had the box set with the most known films and only bought this one to complete the collection with Duck Soup. But the included movies were really a surprise! The stories, direction, faces, everything so interestingly different, gives a good sense of how the Marx Bros legend started and a feeling of evolution of their amazing sense of humour. I strongly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers Films, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent set of films from the Marx Brothers. Ideal replacement for my defunct videos. They are my favourite comedy group and these DVDs give hours of fun and laughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers Compendium, 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very thorough collection of Marx Brothers films - all the familiar ones are here, as well as a few I have never heard of (usually with good reason).The picture and sound quality is generally excellent, and the price is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable., 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
An enjoyable collection of light hearted comedy films. Watching them it made me realize that the actual genius of the Marx Brothers was not Groucho as everybody thinks but Harpo. It' only when he features in them that the films are truly funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers., 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Not the best of the Marx Brothers films in this Box Set.
They seemed funny years ago, but have lost their sparkle, as they seem so dated.
The best couple of films in our opinion are not here, they are A night at the Opera and A Day at the Races.
These two films are the only ones that we recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
cant stop laughing when the brothers are on, such great lines and so ahead of themselves for their genre. love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An uneven collection with one jewel, 12 Sep 2014
By 
Markku Ojanen (Lempäälä Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
The average of four stars may be too much, but there is one great jewel and that is Duck Soup. Perhaps it was not good to watch these during a week, because some things get irritating. I do not care of Chico's piano nor Harpo's Harp. And Groucho is a bit overbearing seen eight times. There are, of course, great parts in every one of them except in A Girl in Every Port which is not a Marx brothers film. I have watched it about 15 minutes and may not watch it more. Love Happy and Room Service were a bit better I expected even though Groucho himself had some harsh words about them in TV interviews. The musical numbers can be good if they are humorously made but tedious if there is a couple singing to each others and taking time from the brothers. This was the problem of the later Marx brother films though they were quite popular at that time. MGM was not a good place for crazy comedies. It was nice to see Lucille Ball in Room Service and Marilyn Monroe in Love Happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Xmas gift, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Quick delivery, exactly what I wanted and was a perfect Christmas present for my father, I am very pleased with my purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD]
Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] by Joseph Santley (DVD - 2006)
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews