Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FROM ENGLAND TO CANADA! (and well worth it!)
Yep! This second set completes the Marx brothers catologue.
I live in Canada, and whilst looking up the Laurel & Hardy 21-disc boxset, (which I eventually got, and glad I did!), I happened to have found this set. (Had to get a Cambridge Audio DVD99 dvd player to play both regions over here, though, but a great machine nonetheless!).
I got this boxset on...
Published on 25 Feb 2009 by Joseph W. Szilagy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers.
Not the best of the Marx Brothers films in this Box Set.
They seemed funny years ago, but have lost their sparkle, as they seem so dated.
The best couple of films in our opinion are not here, they are A night at the Opera and A Day at the Races.
These two films are the only ones that we recommend.
Published 8 months ago by Jo


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FROM ENGLAND TO CANADA! (and well worth it!), 25 Feb 2009
By 
Joseph W. Szilagy "Joe Szilagy" (Mississauga, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Yep! This second set completes the Marx brothers catologue.
I live in Canada, and whilst looking up the Laurel & Hardy 21-disc boxset, (which I eventually got, and glad I did!), I happened to have found this set. (Had to get a Cambridge Audio DVD99 dvd player to play both regions over here, though, but a great machine nonetheless!).
I got this boxset on sale, and when the bill came in (plus what Canada Post dinged me for), it came to just over $50-something dollars which is still anywhere from $10 to $20 less than the earlier 6-disc Silver Screen collection we have on this side of the Atlantic! I've noticed you have that one as well, but obviously I'm going to go for this 8-disc set.
I was initially attracted by the black cover, which has some attractive computer/lithograph photo/painting type colour pictures inside the fold out sleeves. One, in fact, looks so good, (I think from "Horsefeathers" with a funny shot of Harpo being held up from collapsing in the background), that I really wouldn't mind trying to get it enlarged and printed on a black t-shirt!
As far as the movies go, they pretty much all look, and sound great! I once read a review about "The Cocoanuts" from someone who had purchased the "Silver Screen" edition, complaining that the picture quality was poor. Well, either Universal cleaned it up for this edition, or the fellow didn't watch it long enough to notice that after the first few minutes, the picture gets better and better. Hell, what do you want for 1929?! And, if you have trouble understanding Groucho's quick banter on this one, just throw on the subtitles. The quality of all the other movies is just fine, and although (as far as content goes), "Love Happy" doesn't stand up to the other gems in this set, it's still an interesting movie, and introduces us to Raymond Burr (Perry Mason) and bits of Marylin Monroe (although maybe not the "bits" you'd like to see!). Sorry, must have been the Groucho influence there! Anyway, "A Girl In Every Port" is actually not bad, and Groucho is in fine form, but it's either the direction, or the fact that the other brothers aren't in this (only non-Marx Brothers picture), that doesn't quite make it work.
But it's really the superb "Duck Soup", "Monkey Business", "Horsefeathers", etc., that this is really all about, and "Love Happy" simply rounds out the collection.
But to make it totally complete, you should really get (if you don't already have), the other great boxset which is from Warner Brothers, with "A Day at The Races", "A Night at the Opera", etc., complete with cartoons, newsreels, and other features they probably showed in the theaters before each movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers Mayhem!, 20 Mar 2011
By 
Philip Roberts (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
If you love the Marx Brothers you can hardly get better value for money than this. The eight movies come on 8 picture-disc single-sided discs, not those awful American flippers, so expect them to playable for many years to come. This set actually has 7 Marx Brothers films and 1 Groucho Marx film. It contains: The Coconuts, Horse Feathers, Duck Soup, Animal Crackers, Monkey Business, Desk Front, Love Happy (often called the worst Marx Brothers film, having never seen it before I loved this film), and A Girl In Every Port (Groucho Marx Only). Seven of the best Marx Brothers films plus an excellent, much unfairly criticised Groucho Marx film. And great value for money too. It's a shame the set with the other Marx Brothers films is so expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very pleasant surprise, 14 Mar 2009
By 
Neonaki "Kat" (Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I already had the box set with the most known films and only bought this one to complete the collection with Duck Soup. But the included movies were really a surprise! The stories, direction, faces, everything so interestingly different, gives a good sense of how the Marx Bros legend started and a feeling of evolution of their amazing sense of humour. I strongly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 8 films, bargain price, 20 Jan 2014
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is a bargain set at the current price of 15GBP. That is little under 2GBP per film.

Given the years that these films were produced, the transfer to DVD is top quality in both picture and sound. Duck Soup has to be one of the best Marx Bros film, but anyone with a liking of them will no doubt find a winner in this set. By no means a round up of the best of Marx Bros, but a big way into collecting all their films.

1. Animal Crackers
2. Monkey Business
3. Horse Feathers
4. Duck Soup
5. A Girl in Every Port
6. The Cocoanuts
7. Room Service
8. Love Happy

If you also get this set ( http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B000FFJVGO ) you will have a great collection of Marx Bros greats
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers Films, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent set of films from the Marx Brothers. Ideal replacement for my defunct videos. They are my favourite comedy group and these DVDs give hours of fun and laughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers Compendium, 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very thorough collection of Marx Brothers films - all the familiar ones are here, as well as a few I have never heard of (usually with good reason).The picture and sound quality is generally excellent, and the price is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable., 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
An enjoyable collection of light hearted comedy films. Watching them it made me realize that the actual genius of the Marx Brothers was not Groucho as everybody thinks but Harpo. It' only when he features in them that the films are truly funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers., 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Not the best of the Marx Brothers films in this Box Set.
They seemed funny years ago, but have lost their sparkle, as they seem so dated.
The best couple of films in our opinion are not here, they are A night at the Opera and A Day at the Races.
These two films are the only ones that we recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
cant stop laughing when the brothers are on, such great lines and so ahead of themselves for their genre. love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Xmas gift, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Quick delivery, exactly what I wanted and was a perfect Christmas present for my father, I am very pleased with my purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD]
Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] by Joseph Santley (DVD - 2006)
15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews