Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow what a series
Having been an avid fan of Doctor Who in the era of Tom Baker I was a little sceptical about a "new Doctor Who". I must say I shouldn't have worried wow this is great.

It has the feel of the original series without the Blue Peter type props. It has grown up and gone into the electronical age - sonic screwdrivers and all. If you have any hesitation in buying...
Published on 2 Jun 2006 by Ms. C. E. R. Potts

versus
22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor value for money
Don't get me wrong I enjoyed the episode but the DVD as a whole is poor value. I'm a big fan of the vanilla releases as I'm not a huge admirer of extras on DVDs but this release was just a huge disappointment for me. One episode (albeit an hour long instead of the usual forty-five minutes) selling at the same price of a release with 3 is just daylight robbery and the...
Published on 29 April 2007 by Anth.P


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good start for the Tenth Doctor., 9 Sep 2006
David Tennant gets off to a good start as the Doctor in these two episodes. In the Christmas Invasion he has to deal with the threat of the alien Sycorax and their attempts to invade earth. However, he must first recover from his recent regeneration.

Although Tennant only really comes to the fore during the last half of this adventure, he still manages to make a formidable impression. A superb debut story, with a nice twist at the end.

The second adventure, 'New Earth' acts as a sequel to previous season's 'The End of the World.' In it, the Doctor and Rose travel millions of years into the future and discover a hospital, which is run by a group of cat-like creatures. Behind the scenes there lies a dark and shocking secret, and to make matters worse, the Doctor is confronted with his old enemy Cassandra. This episode has received mixed reviews, but I found it a real creepy thriller, with good performances. The highlight has to be Billie Piper's wonderful turn as the 'possessed' Rose.

A very good start for the Tenth Doctor. Two very entertaining adventures, which are worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 8 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who - The New Series: Series 2 - Vol. 3 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This DVD has three episodes on it:

The Rise Of The Cybermen - The Cybermen double episode part 1.

The Age Of Steel - The Cybermen double episode part 2.

The Idiot's Lantern - London in the 1950s.

The Cybermen episodes are very good. The first has a lot of action and tension building up to part 2, I think it's the better of the two. The second is a bit of a let down and is disappointing compared to the previous one, but it's still an impressive episode that concentrates more on the emotional side of things.

The Idiot's Lantern is also a very good episode. There is some great acting from the Doctor, Rose and all the supporting actors too. The monsters are surprisingly freaky. There is a very inventive way of solving the problem as well.

Generally this is a good DVD to get and I would recommend it to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Fantastic..., 30 April 2006
By 
Good Wolf (South West, UK) - See all my reviews
Two brilliant episodes introducing David Tennant's Tenth Doctor. He's settled into the role without a hitch, and was the perfect choice to take over from Christopher Eccleston.

These episodes are fun, exciting, stylish, imaginative, beautiful... everything Doctor Who should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xmas Invasion/New Earth, 15 April 2006
By 
J. Gibbons (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
15/4/2006- Doctor Who series 2 begins!!!!

What a brilliant first episode, the 10th Doctor's first journey is absolutly fantastic! David Tennant and Billie Piper produce some fantastic acting, especially Billie Piper's performance which is the best so far (including series 1), coupled with the Christmas Invaison, this would be make a great first DVD of the second new Doctor Who. "Sorry thats the Lion King"

Fantastic!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best 'Who' moments ever!, 17 April 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Okay - the baddy wasn't the best ever, but the concept behind her was good.

The one thing that I was worried about for this special, was the way the whole Doctor/Rose relationship would be dealt with. Would she be forgotten in a flash? The answer of course is no. There were some brilliant moments by the fab David Tennant where he mourned the absence of a companion who was often more than just a friend. It was great to see that there was an intelligent continuity dealing with the issue of Rose going away.

Speaking of companions - Catherine Tate did a sterling job as Donna. She naturally brought humour to the show, but she is a good actress and managed to bring compassion also. Her warning to The Doctor at the end of the show highlighted his darker side, maybe there's more of this to come?

The effects in this special were nothing short of jaw dropping, especially for long-time Who fans. The Tardis shooting up into the sky was a visual treat, but the car chase was amazing - one of the best Doctor Who moments ever. Seeing the Tardis hover on the motorway whilst bouncing off other cars had me giggling like an excited schoolgirl upon discovering she's got 200 to spend on anything she wants in Topshop.

So overall, the mechanical Santa's didn't seem to add to the plot and the baddy wasn't the best...

...But, the interplay between The Doctor and Donna was spot on, the special effects were polished and spectacular, the plot was good and there were some fab moments seeing The Doctor in the 'real world' (taxis and cash machines, etc). Something to savour and enjoy again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who - The Runaway Bride, 27 Mar 2007
This disc features the hour long Doctor Who Christmas Special starring David Tennant as The Doctor and Catherine Tate as The Runaway Bride.

THE RUNAWAY BRIDE

Written by Russell T Davies

Directed by Euros Lynn

The final episode of Series 2 saw the dramatic exit of Rose Tyler (Billie Piper) from the series, and so the question that many Doctor Who fans were asking themselves in the run up to the 2006 Christmas Special was whether or not the show could survive without its lead actress. Rose had been a very interesting and successful companion since the show was revived two year's ago, and there were worries/doubts in my mind that the series would suffer in quality as a consequence. Luckily, my doubts were completely ill-founded, because 'The Runaway Bride' is another superb addition to the new series, boasting an ambitious, confident and action-packed hour of sheer entertainment, suitable for the whole family to sit down and enjoy together. One of the main reason's that Doctor Who has survived for 44 years is because of it's ability to handle change - and luckily Catherine Tate puts in a lively and memorable performance as Doona (the Bride), and it is clear to see that she has great on-screen chemistry with David Tennant, because the pair play off/interact with one another very well indeed. With head writer Russell T Davies on scripting duties, the viewer isn't given a split second to miss or mourn Rose, because the episode is tightly plotted, full of witty one-liners, big action sequences and some really rather touching, tending moments, that make you realise just what a versatile, unique show Doctor Who is. Perhaps, it's slightly weaker than the 2005 yuletide offering, the sublime 'Christmas Invasion', but it was really was the hihglight of the festive TV season, and served as a nice piece of light, comic relief after the harrowing intensity of 'Doomsday'.

Okay, the plot - Donna Noble (The Bride) finds herself suddenly transported from her wedding and ends up in the TARDIS with the Doctor, leading to some humurous and energetic banter between the pair, and the wonderful moment where she realises she's in space. From this point onwards the plot never slows down - there's a big full-on motorway car chase involving the TARDIS, the return of the Robot Santa's and killer Christmas Tree's, a journey back to the creation of the universe and the evil Empress of the Rachnos, half-spider, half-human. My favourite part of the episode however was the beautiful written end sequence - Russell T Davies' dialogue and characterisation is second to none, and there are some really special, poignant moments between the Doctor and Donna. David Tennant feels completely at home through the duration of the episode, and gives what is possibly his best performance in the role to date. I was sceptical about Catherine Tate, not being a fan of her 'comedy' show, but once she'd calmed down and the audience had an oppertunity to get used to her brash persona, she was hoot - and I wouldn't mind seeing her again in the future. Also included on this disc is the hour-long Christmas Day edition of Doctor Who Confidential, entitled 'Music and Monsters', which was broadcast on BBC1 at 1pm on Christmas Day, and featured footage of the brilliant Children In Need concert in Cardiff, and is a veritable feast of Murray Gold's sublime music scores for the show.

On thr whole, although perhaps not the best Who episode, it's certainly a worthy addition to your DVD collection. And now of course, the wait begins for Series 3, of which I have incredibly high expectations for. 'The Runaway Bride' comes highly recommended from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 30 May 2006
By 
Dangerous Dawson (Burslem, S-o-T UK) - See all my reviews
Am not much of a writer so I'll just keep this short.

They were all amazing, Tooth and Claw was my least favorite but still very good. School Reunion, I just thought it was a blast from trhe past especially K-9's lazer gizmo, A-Firm-A-Tive!!!! And the evil Giles!!!!(Buffy Moment :) ). The best one was Girl in the Fireplace, must have watched it 20 times, absolutely perfect mix of humour (the horse) and dramatics. Best episode out of all the doctor who's I have ever seen!!!!

Essentially, just buy the DVD, thats my opinion!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's back - and brilliant as ever, 16 April 2006
By 
Well series two started last night with New Earth and didnt disappoint. David Tennant has big shoes to fill as I loved Christopher Eccleston's Doctor but he has made a good start. However, the real star of the show continues to be the amazing Billie Piper as the fantastic Rose.
On the evidence of The Christmas Invasion and New Earth we are set for another classic series of the best show on tv and I can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE DOCTOR WHO, 27 April 2006
I had never seen Doctor Who before david Tennant joined the cast but now I am addicted to it. There is the perfect combination of good writers, great acting and humour ...plus the ocacasional other worldly creature. Both of the episodes on the DVD are fantastic. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I WATCHED THIS EPISODE BECAUSE ADAM GARCIA STARRED IN IT, OTHERWISE I'M NOT SURE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - The New Series: Series 2 - Vol. 3 [DVD] [2005]
3.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews