Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars elvis enjoying a film song/gospel song
i saw a small part of this film on the vhs--he touched me the gospel music of elvis and in that clip he really enjoys himself (check out his happy dance)
and that alone is enough to buy this film.
Published on 26 April 2010 by jaimes moran

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The TROUBLE is this film!
What a diabolical film, and to think the King was reduced to act in such films, is pathetic! Elvis, was such a fine actor, and he had proved it by making such films like King Creole, Loving You, G.I. Blues, but this film??

It is such a shame that Elvis had to act in such a film, which has no substance,a very thin story line, songs which are best forgotten, and...
Published on 3 Aug 2006 by Piya


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars elvis enjoying a film song/gospel song, 26 April 2010
This review is from: The Trouble With Girls [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
i saw a small part of this film on the vhs--he touched me the gospel music of elvis and in that clip he really enjoys himself (check out his happy dance)
and that alone is enough to buy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis looks great ..., 30 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trouble With Girls [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
When I first saw this film in 1969 I wondered if I was actually seeing an Elvis movie at all. It seemed ages before he appeared, and then only as a peripheral figure that flitted in and out of the action. But when he did appear - oh wow, did he look handsome! Slim and trim in a white suit and with his hair flopping nicely - ooooer! It was enough to make a girl come over all unnecessary!

It had been years since I'd seen it but bought it to complete my Elvis collection of films. Because it's not got enough Elvis in it, I'm giving it four stars and not five. It often gets panned as one of Elvis' worst movies but, actually, it's really not that bad.

There's a decent plot, with a fairly adult theme. (Boss man takes advantage of poor sad shop assistant and gets murdered for his trouble.) Dabney Coleman as the deeply unpleasant shop owner is brilliant. There are some very funny one liners, mostly delivered by Marlyn Mason, who makes an attractive and intelligent co-star.

"Clean Up Your Own Back Yard" is a great song and Elvis looks great singing it. However, it was obviously filmed by the 1960s equivalent of a techno nerd with his baseball cap on backwards because the camera angles are enough to make you dizzy.

Interesting to see a 1969 film about the travelling chautauqua shows of the 1920s in America. From the 2010 point of view, it's nostalgia for the 1960s viewing nostalgia for the 1920s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The TROUBLE is this film!, 3 Aug 2006
This review is from: The Trouble With Girls [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
What a diabolical film, and to think the King was reduced to act in such films, is pathetic! Elvis, was such a fine actor, and he had proved it by making such films like King Creole, Loving You, G.I. Blues, but this film??

It is such a shame that Elvis had to act in such a film, which has no substance,a very thin story line, songs which are best forgotten, and the indignity of Elvis even though billed as the main star, has a miniscule role!

Only if you have a couple of hours to waste should this film be watched!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Trouble with girls, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trouble With Girls [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
this still helps to prove why he was the king and still is ,good music and an easy story line to follow,recomend to all Elvis Fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars trouble with girls, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trouble With Girls [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
If you like Elvis Presley you will love this film with him in good songs and dance scenes it's good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Trouble With Girls, 6 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: The Trouble With Girls [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
The Trouble With Girls [DVD] Closer to completing my collection of Elvis movies and before says, it looks as though Amazon supplied all of them, you would be wrong, the other in the past had supplied some, but then began turning negative, this I did not like as I had spent over the years quite an amount of money with them. Amazon have a great principal which is something similar to this "from little acorns, do great oaks grow",I admire the service and effort put into every aspect of their business, which means everybody that works for them is a vital part in their overall working strategy, in order to keep their customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Trouble With Girls [DVD] [1969]
The Trouble With Girls [DVD] [1969] by Peter Tewkesbury (DVD - 2006)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews