Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars21
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2006
It is such a shame that The King had to make films such as Harum Scarum, with a weak plot, and songs that make your gut churn, I can truly understand why Elvis was so ticked off with the Colonel!

This is a film for true die hard Elvis fans, even though he looks amazing in the film, and very, very exotic.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
item was in excellent condition and very prompt with delivery
i was very pleased with service.would recommend this site
promt delivery and v good service
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2003
This is terrible, no question. The acting is terrible, the songs are worse, the costumes look like my dog made them and the sets are so shaky I thought I was watching Crossroads.
I'm a big Elvis fan, but even I couldn't bear to watch. I go so embarrassed that I had to pause the video. The guy looks as if he wishes he was more stoned than he was. I'm sure this was not one of the films he and chums watched at the Memphian on one of his many film marathons.
Totally awful - has to be seen to be believed. I only gave it one star 'cos Elvis is in it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2007
Ok, this is not a good or even an OK film by the usual standards of film production and film criticism. However it's one of the most fascinating Elvis films simply because its soo bad...that it becomes good! Yes, good in a post-modern sort of way. Harum Scarum is obviously a B movie that can't even grade as kitch like so many of Presley's movies. In fact Harum Scarum seems to be a parody of the Hollywood exoctic Arab type stories, like Rudolph Valentino films and in some extent it even parodies B movies produced in the forties and fities like the Tony Curtis flick "The Prince who was a Thief".
What this means is that involuntarily Gene Nelson the director of this movie turned a lousy production into a delicious parody of Hollywood cliches and genre situations, resulting by today's standards as an interesting artifact of popular culture and commenting on the decline of Hollywood genre films (Cat Ballou, and Rocky Horror Picture Show are also examples of Camp).
Has a plus the soundtarck has some nice songs, very adequate to this type of film and setting, "shake that tambourine" comes to mind, but its regretable that the movie does't include the soundtrack's best tune, "Animal Instinct" that definetly deserves to be rediscovered since it has potential for a remix along the lines of "a little less conversation".
If you only enjoy Elvis best movies (like King Creole and Blue Haway, or Viva Las Vegas and Flaming Star) this film is not for you, but if CAMP is a concept you understand and enjoy...give it a try!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2008
Although I am a big Elvis fan of over 35 years I had not seen this film until very recently and was filled with no little trepidation at what I expected to be embarrassing viewing. OK its not brilliant and definately for fans only, as are most of Elvis' films, but not half as bad as I had been expecting. It is good clean fun and requires no greater suspension of disbelief than many of the current big budget movies. I really enjoyed the hour and a half or so spent in the company of the King, it was harmless escapism and at under a fiver I cant complain. If you dont expect too much you too may find yourself pleasantly entertained.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2001
Johnny Tyronne (Elvis Presley) actor and well known singer are on a tour in the middle east, together with some friends in a dance group, when they all of a sudden, gets kidnaped. After a couple of "moves" Johnny finnaly manage to escape, and climb over the palace wall, and for some reson ends up with the beautiful princess Shlimar (Mary Ann Mobley). She tell Johnny that she is a slave, and promise Johnny to help him escape from the kidnappers. She askes Johnny why he got kidnapped, and he tells her that it was done, because they needed him to assasin a "very important person."
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
I don't care what other reviews say, I own all Elvis's movies and seen them all many times over. Yes this is no King Creole or Jailhouse Rock, they were amazing musical dramas. This on the other hand is a musical comedy, that is so ridiculously silly, none of it really makes sense but just switch off for and hour and enjoy it. Don't take it to seriously, it's a fun slap stick musical comedy....with Elvis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2012
Thanks to Hollywood and Elvis' horrendous management, Elvis was pushed to starr in the movie that forever tarnished his acting reputation, and alongside 'Easy Come Easy Go' is unquestionably the worst of all his films.

In this 1965 MGM 'epic' Elvis is resplendent in arabian dress complete with turban, sings some of his less desirable movie songs, disables a leopard with an impressive karate chop, and surrounds himself with arabian harems.

The Plot: Johnny Tyronne the film star (Elvis) is promoting his new film in the Middle East when he is kidnapped by a gang who want to hire him to carry out an assassination. He refuses of course, especially as he has fallen for the target's daughter. And the target is a king if you will. He escapes dramatically and sings his way back to civilization.

Now as you can see from my other reviews I'm Elvis' number one fan but I draw the line at this junction. When presented with a good script Elvis was capable of tremendous acting, as can be seen from many of his other movies, especially the ones between 1956 and 1962. But here Elvis plays into the unmerciful hands of the greedy Hollywood moguls and his old fashioned foolish manager 'Col' Parker, whose only motive was quick dollars. The film took just three weeks to make and grossed $1.5 million only at the box office in 1965 (equivalent to approx $11 million today).

Poor Elvis stood no chance. With a title like 'Harum Scarum' one automatically deduced that this is no 'Titanic'. And releasing it as Harem Holiday in the UK did not help matters, nor did being produced by the king of the quickies Sam Katzman. But the film may appeal to children and you will need this dvd to complete your collection. If you are not a fan of Elvis however, please go and watch paint dry instead.

2 stars instead of 1 because Elvis looked great in the arabian costume. It is widely reported that he liked it so much that he even wore it at home after filming. So, some joy at least for Elvis.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2010
This could be Elvis' worst, corniest film. I only got it to complete my Elvis movie collection!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
Anything To Do About Elvis I Buy Elvis The Greatest Entertainer Of All Time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)