Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story about what is important in life...
"Son of the Bride" is a story about family, love, and what is really important in life. It takes place in Argentina, during its 2001 economic crisis, but I think that everybody can relate to the subject it tackles, disregarding the place where one lives.
The main character is Rafael (Ricardo Darín), a self-absorbed man in his forties who runs a prestigious...
Published on 23 May 2005 by B. Alcat

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Son of the Bride
It is difficult to rate this item as the subtitles on this DVD are so poor. There can be two or three exchanges between characters before any subtitles appear. Some subtitles simply do not make sense and I had to go to a plot summary in Sight and Sound to understand some of the film. It was if the subtitles were written by someone with limited English and they only...
Published on 27 Sept. 2010 by Sandyliz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story about what is important in life..., 23 May 2005
"Son of the Bride" is a story about family, love, and what is really important in life. It takes place in Argentina, during its 2001 economic crisis, but I think that everybody can relate to the subject it tackles, disregarding the place where one lives.
The main character is Rafael (Ricardo Darín), a self-absorbed man in his forties who runs a prestigious Italian restaurant, "Belvedere". Rafael is separated, and has a daughter he often forgets to pick up due to his numerous responsibilities. Rafael also has a beautiful girlfriend, Naty (Natalia Verbeke), but doesn't pay her enough attention, so their relationship starts to go to the dogs.
Rafael's relationship with Nino (Héctor Alterio), his father, is good, but he hasn't seen her mother Norma (Norma Aleandro) in a year. He had a huge argument with her after dropping out of university, and they stopped talking to each other. Some time after that, his mother got Alzheimer's disease, an illness that made her forgetful and disoriented. As a result of all this, they never really manage to patch things up.
Truth to be told, Rafael doesn't seem to mind. His entire life is his job, and he is content. That is, until he has a heart attack, something that leads him to revaluate his priorities, and to see things from another perspective. An excellent example is that while before he was against his father's idea of marrying Norma in a church (in a belated religious wedding after 44 years of being married), he ends up helping him to do exactly that. In a way, he realizes that even though Norma won't be aware of what exactly is happening, his parents would be doing something terribly important to them.
But will Rafael be able to change his life after making such a tremendous mess out of things?. What is more, will he learn the real meaning of the word "family"?. Watch "Son of the bride", and learn all that, and more. On the whole, highly recommended !!!
Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Son of the Bride, 27 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Son Of The Bride [DVD] (DVD)
It is difficult to rate this item as the subtitles on this DVD are so poor. There can be two or three exchanges between characters before any subtitles appear. Some subtitles simply do not make sense and I had to go to a plot summary in Sight and Sound to understand some of the film. It was if the subtitles were written by someone with limited English and they only translated the words they could understand. These are the worse subtitles I have ever seen on a film and for one that was nominated for an Academy Award it is a disgrace. Having said that, although the film is a little predictable, a forty something male having a midlife crisis, it is charming, well acted and has some moving moments as well as laugh out loud ones. A feel good movie. Darin proves himself to be as good in comedy as in noir thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING!! Hardly any subtitles makes this a poor DVD, 12 May 2011
This review is from: Son Of The Bride [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen this film years ago, I did not read any of the reviews for this DVD, but wish I had, as I could have heeded the warning of others. THE SUBTITLES ON THIS PARTICULAR DVD, BEING SO SPARSE BEAR LITTLE RELATION TO THE ACTUAL DIALOGUE. I know this because I speak Spanish, but even my mother, who does not, and for whom I bought the film, noticed that there were huge section of dialogue with no accompanying explanation, leaving her at a loss to what was going on. I don't know if the subtitler was being paid by the word, as this is the impression that is given, with perfunctory phrases covering minutes of dialogue full of anger, tears and laughter. She left it after fifteen minutes (and I don't blame her), after continually looking at me when speech came without subtitles, as if to say 'did I miss something important?', and I was thoroughly annoyed with the manufacturers as this is a film she would have loved, and which hoped to enjoy with her. As it was, I later watched it alone, and it IS a good film if you speak Spanish or are given adequate subtitles, but if you don't speak Spanish, this particular DVD, with its bad subtitling, does not do what is an amazing film any justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Subtle but wonderful Argentinian film, 1 Aug. 2010
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Son Of The Bride [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is of a rare kind - realistic, subtle, humane, occasionally funny and full of life. It focuses on Rafael, a 42 year old restaurant owner in the throes of Argentina's financial, as well as his own mid-life crisis. He is divorced, stressed by supplier and payment problems at work, somewhat absent as a part time father, a pretty crap boyfriend to his current love, and estranged to his mother, who is sufering from Alzheimer's.

On top of that a heart attack fells him and has him reconsider his life, work and typical of a mid-life crisis he simply wants out, to escape to a simpler life.

It is difficult to do the movie justice with a description, much of the themes are fairly common but the way they are addressed, the quality of the acting, and the way everything is made to fit without stretching the bounds of what is realistic for the characters makes this an excellent piece of cinema. On top of that there are some truly wonderfully funny moments and I dare say the movie does not really make one look forward to the mid-life crisis, especially an Argetinian one, with no fast cars to compensate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars love finds a way, 7 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son Of The Bride [DVD] (DVD)
a high flying restaurant owner gets stressed out running his business, dividing his attentions between work, his ex wife, his small daughter and his current (neglected) girlfriend. To add to his problems his mum is in an old folks home with Altzheimers whilst his dad - living on his own - has decided after 44 years to agree to his wife's once dear desire to wed in church. The complex family/personal relationships become affected by the main character's heart attack and his subsequent change of heart - he 'gets' family oriented emotions and eventually manages to bring his life under control and even wangle the (not quite) 'church wedding' - with a lot of help from a madcap friend. The best of this film is the touchingly sweet vagueness of Norma Alejandro who portrays his Altzheimer mum with an amazingly delicate and authentic touch. Well worth viewing for this beautiful cameo role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie, 30 April 2014
This review is from: Son Of The Bride (DVD)
Funny and touching. The story is engaging and the acting is great. One of the best movies I've seen in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Son of the Bride DVD, 10 Sept. 2010
By 
M. Dent (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the DVD to help with my learning Spanish. For that it is great. As a film it is rather sentimental - but sentimental films have more useful dialogue than action films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite movies of all times, 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son Of The Bride [DVD] (DVD)
Great piece of art for those touched by the ordeal of a family member going through Alzheimer's and dementia. A balm and hope arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 10 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Son Of The Bride [DVD] (DVD)
Item received earlier than I expected, nice surprise, excelent condition. The movie is funny, witty and also very touching. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 4 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son Of The Bride [DVD] (DVD)
The excellent performances and both the happy and sad moments make of this film one of the best movie ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Son Of The Bride [DVD]
Son Of The Bride [DVD] by Juan José Campanella (DVD - 2006)
£5.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews