Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic be with you also
This is my favourite Captain beefheart record. It is his most commercial. The best Avant Garde record by Captain Beefheart, in my opinion is; 'Shiney Beast Bat Chain Puller' also highly recommended is 'Lick my decals off baby' which deserves a mention, for extending the boundries of contempory music. There has been nothing quite like it.
There was a lot of...
Published on 31 Aug. 2011 by Robin Emmerson

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something different from the captain
Id heard terrible things about this album and the next bluejeans and moonbeams, and nearly gave them a miss. But I desperatly needed another fix of the captain, so plucked for this album, it certainly lacks the charging twistedness of some earlier albums, trout mask replica and lick my decalls off baby. It is a much more main stream approch for the captain, that being...
Published on 5 Mar. 2001 by Bulbous Blues


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beefo goes mainstream, well almost., 3 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Unconditionally Guaranteed (Audio CD)
This album is essential if only for one track, This is the Day. Not a particularly brilliant song but incorporating the best guitar solo ever played on this, or any other planet. Zoot Horn Rollo reaches notes that other guitarists can only dream of. You can hear the Captain's influence (he could only give Zoot a rough idea about what he wanted) but what emerges is a thing of unfeasible beauty that's unmistakedly Beefheart. The rest of the album is worth a listen although it's not the sort of stuff normally associated with the Captain. Thankfully the original Magic Band supply the backing so there's some evidence of their rather unique style, admirably supported by Zoot Horn's incredible guitar playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A terrible Beefheart album but not a bad album., 30 April 2007
By 
This review is from: Unconditionally Guaranteed (Audio CD)
If you are a Beefheart nut who loves a bit of Trout Mask, Doc at the radar station, lick my decals off baby or any of the other hardcore beef stuff then you should seriously avoid this album.

This is the Captain's attempt at commercial success but it was a serious flop in the U.S. charts and was created as the Magic Band were slowly disintergrating.

The album itself is not bad at all but is nothing in comparison to the motherload magic band stuff. Unconditionally guaranteed is too commercial for any real Captain fan and the album only contains one or few gems that are worth a listen - upon the my o my, magic me and the song that the album is worth purchasing for this song alone - This is the day.

So in all I would stay a way from this album unless you are into the bluejeans, clear spot ...beefheart stuff probably left to the people who want to like the Cap'n but are freaked out by The Trout stuff.

If this album were by a mediocre band it would have probably been well liked but unfortunetly it is by the meister and we do expect much better, no wonder he completely dismisses this and bluejeans from his musical C.V.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 30 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reminds me of m youth, excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Nov. 2014
By 
C. Mildner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Beefheart at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unconditionally Guaranteed (Audio CD)
Marvelllous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unconditionally Guaranteed (Audio CD)
as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great LP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Makes me cringe but.........., 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unconditionally Guaranteed (Audio CD)
If you want the real Beefheart look elsewhere but if you have everything else well it has its strange draw
but listen before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good service, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unconditionally Guaranteed (Audio CD)
I found the CD in good condition and have enjoyed the music very much. I will use this service again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unconditionally Guaranteed
Unconditionally Guaranteed by Captain Beefheart (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews