Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kon Tiki Expedition on DVD
This is the Oscar-winning documentary black-and-white silent film converted to DVD with Thor Hierdahl's original voice over. It's a great story of the almost completely successful balsa-wood raft voyage from South America to the South Pacific islands.
As a bonus, there's a lot about Thor's later expeditions in Ra I and Ra II and his involvement with the people and...
Published on 16 Aug 2009 by Biographer

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For completists only
I've loved the book of the Kon Tiki expedition for most of my life so, never having seen the film, I bought this with some anticipation. Oh dear. The hour-long documentary (1951 Oscar winner) is okay but a primitive reminder of how film-making has progressed since the 1940s. Many of the best shots appeared as stills in the book. The 'bonus' hour-long colour documentary,...
Published on 4 Feb 2011 by nibs2lou


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kon Tiki Expedition on DVD, 16 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kon-Tiki (NTSC) [DVD] (DVD)
This is the Oscar-winning documentary black-and-white silent film converted to DVD with Thor Hierdahl's original voice over. It's a great story of the almost completely successful balsa-wood raft voyage from South America to the South Pacific islands.
As a bonus, there's a lot about Thor's later expeditions in Ra I and Ra II and his involvement with the people and historical research of Easter Island. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For completists only, 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: Kon-Tiki (NTSC) [DVD] (DVD)
I've loved the book of the Kon Tiki expedition for most of my life so, never having seen the film, I bought this with some anticipation. Oh dear. The hour-long documentary (1951 Oscar winner) is okay but a primitive reminder of how film-making has progressed since the 1940s. Many of the best shots appeared as stills in the book. The 'bonus' hour-long colour documentary, apparently from the 1980s, on Heyerdahl's work has little on the Kon Tiki: it's mediocre with terrible sound quality. Worse, Heyerdahl comes over as an unlikeable man whose theories are discounted, often disproved, by the scientific consensus. The book is a glorious adventure story: if you're a fan, avoid this pricey distraction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great true adventure film., 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kon-Tiki (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
This film was Oscar nominated 2012 so expectations were high, I was genuinely impressed, stunning photography and acting,
the film was shot simultaneously in Norwegian and English, this disc from Germany has the English version plus dubbed German.

I would imagine this film would be stunning on the big screen but as yet no release in Britain is forecast, so Bluray or dvd is your sole means of viewing this superb film about a voyage not so well known today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great memory, 10 Feb 2013
By 
R. F. Poole - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kon-Tiki (NTSC) [DVD] (DVD)
Fascinating memory of something I read about at school 50 years ago. I liked the nteresting extra bits that were included as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent adventure story, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kon-Tiki (NTSC) [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent adventure story. Old fashioned documentary, but none the worse for that. Modern reality TV is feeble and small scale in comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Photographic masterpiece, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kon-Tiki (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Pointless repeating previous reviews . I would mention the fine photography as some of the best views I have seen (especially on Bluray )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good adaptation and the production was excellent, 24 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kon-Tiki (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Visually stunning, good adaptation and the production was excellent. Still felt there was a little something lacking but still a good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kontiki, 30 Jan 2010
By 
Martin I. Coombs (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fascinating!!! It was all brought back to me after 50 years. The sound was very poor in parts!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kon-Tiki (NTSC) [DVD]
£14.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews