Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new edition
Stratego is an entertaining game for two players, with 'incomplete information' where the pieces of the opponent are hidden. The initial deployment is not fixed, so there is scope for tactics and customisation right from the start. It is easy to learn and has quite a depth to it. The game has been around for nearly 100 years, though under other names, so it really has...
Published on 9 Feb. 2007 by Big Red

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought this for my son who fell in love with stratego after playing it at his grandad on ...
Bought this for my son who fell in love with stratego after playing it at his grandad on an old set. He loves it. I would have preferred the pieces not to be plastic but wood as they used to be and are not very impressed with the stickers you have to put on yourself. Hard to get straight, especially for a 7 year old boy who wants to do all that by himself and the do curl...
Published 9 months ago by S. B.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new edition, 9 Feb. 2007
By 
Big Red - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jumbo - Stratego Original (Toy)
Stratego is an entertaining game for two players, with 'incomplete information' where the pieces of the opponent are hidden. The initial deployment is not fixed, so there is scope for tactics and customisation right from the start. It is easy to learn and has quite a depth to it. The game has been around for nearly 100 years, though under other names, so it really has stood the test of time.

This new edition gets a rock solid 5 stars from me (4 for just being Stratego), but there are good and bad points:

The good: Great piece and board art, not gaudy like the previous edition. New tidy 'shield' piece design which slot nicely into a plastic tray to keep them secure. The Spy is now a seductive female which I think is a very nice touch (was previously an official-looking bloke in a top-hat). Spy is now rank 1 rather than "S" which could be confused with "5". The box is a more sensible book-shelf size.

The bad: Warning! Stickers! Old-timers like me might not like this. Yes, even the Euro Jumbo versions now use stickers (but note art is tastefully done). Numbers on pieces similarly might not appeal ("I attack with my 9" doesn't sound as good as "I attack with my General"). But that's all there is to say against it really, and younger players won't remember the old Euro sets which didn't use numbers at all.

Also slightly disappointing that Jumbo have never revised the rules, the cannon piece from Stratego 4 would make a good addition for many reasons, as the basic game needs a more elegant solution to chase scenarios (getting a bit too much into detail there though).

A great game for young and old. If you loved it years ago you'll certainly be impressed overall with this new edition I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good game, 18 Sept. 2013
By 
Ronnie Bradley (Wishaw, Lanarkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jumbo - Stratego Original (Toy)
I had heard of this game for many years and finally decided to purchase it. The game itself would be best described as a variant on chess, being a game of very simple moves on a very simple board. The objective is similar in that the game is about capturing a specific piece to win the game, in chess it is the opponent's King, in Stratego it is the opponent's flag. Each piece has a spcific way that it moves.

However there is where the similarities end. Unlike chess where the layout is structured and all pieces are visible, Stratego plays things differently. The 40 pieces each player has can be placed in any combination on the 4x10 section they have for placing the pieces. How they set out their troops can in many ways win or lose you a game. Also the ranks and values of the various pieces are left hidden from the opponent so a certain amount of guesswork and strategy comes into it. Not knowing if the piece you are attacking can be taken or not until an attack is made provides real tension.

The game as created by Jumbo is excellent in terms of its components. The pieces themselves are made from a sturdy plastic and resemble small towers where a sticker with a picture and numerical rank of the peice is placed on the straight side of the tower. if I have one complaint is that the size of the pieces and the stickers sometimes leads to crooked placings. I think it would ahve been far better if the pieces came with the ranks already upon them but this is a minor gripe. The board is sturdy and the rules are clear and easy to read. it comes with three versions of the game: Classic Stratego which is the full game, and also a smaller beginner's version and a variant where one of the scouts is replaced by an Infiltrator piece which allows you to look at the piece you are attacking rather than merely attacking it. I have not eyt tried the beginner or variant versions but the the main game holds up exceptionally well.

All in all I thoroughly enjoyed and do not regret purchasing this game. if you have members of your family or friends who enjoy chess then Stratego can give them a similar but distinct challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game remade at last!, 30 Nov. 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Jumbo - Stratego Original (Toy)
Essentially the game plays like a combination between chess, top trumps, and elements of other games (the computer game RUSE and the card game 'Pick up Pairs' being two examples I can think of) where the objective is to capture your opponent's flag whilst defending your own.

To do so each side has 40 pieces which can be setup however the player wants. Each specific piece will be known to the controlling player but not their opponent until attacked. The pieces have a hierarchy system where the highest rank wins, the lowest rank is removed from play, and draws result in both being removed. This hierarchy is tierred so that there are more lower ranking than higher ranking pieces as well as some special pieces which make this more interesting. Because you have limited knowledge of what you are attacking or defending against, it makes it very easy to set up decoy attacks as well as ambushes.

The game is great, and I like it as much as I did 15 yrs ago, and was really pleased that Jumbo have decided to remake it (I think it was originally Parker).

My only small criticism of this remake is that as other reviewers have said the picture stickers representing the ranks are not as good as they perhaps could be. The previous version I played had very easily recognisable accoutrements specific to each rank, which allowed instant identification of the piece at a glance, however these are much less obvious within this set. As such I find more often than not I have to rely on the rank number, which is shown next to the picture, instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, 4 Feb. 2009
By 
Robert Hunter "Bob the almighty" (Wiltshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jumbo - Stratego Original (Toy)
I had played this game many years ago as a child and wanted to get my children into it. This version comes with an easier set-up to get you started. You can quickly move onto the full version. My daughter had the most difficulty remembering the ranks but apart from that really enjoyed it. I think we had 4 games back to back upon opening it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought this for my son who fell in love with stratego after playing it at his grandad on ..., 8 July 2014
This review is from: Jumbo - Stratego Original (Toy)
Bought this for my son who fell in love with stratego after playing it at his grandad on an old set. He loves it. I would have preferred the pieces not to be plastic but wood as they used to be and are not very impressed with the stickers you have to put on yourself. Hard to get straight, especially for a 7 year old boy who wants to do all that by himself and the do curl up on the sides. I wouldn't hive mind paying a bit more for an "elite" (or however you want to call it) edition where the pieces would be of better quality (no stickers!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely made, good game of strategy, 3 Feb. 2014
By 
J. White (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jumbo - Stratego Original (Toy)
I've always loved this game.
You still need to add the stickers to the playing pieces. Tedious, it took about half an hour. The trick is to bend back each little picture at its corner so that the corner just starts to detach from the backing paper. Then you can pull up the complete sticker easily.
The pieces are made of good quality plastic, and the board is robust and nicely coloured.

The game is the same as old, described by other reviewers.
I would like like to point up, however, that a much higher depth of strategy can be brought to the game by making a few rule changes:
1. Only allow attacks when two pieces meet head-on. The original rules allow attacks from the side and behind, so pieces become removed much too quickly for a real game of strategy.
2. When attacks occur between pieces of the same value, allow both to remain on the board. The original rules require both pieces to be removed, again making the game too fast.
3. The game ends only when a flag is captured (if it can be). A player who cannot move (eg, for want of mobile pieces) simply sits out the game while the other player continues. The other player may be unable to capture the flag, if defended by a mine. In that case, the game ends in stalemate. If neither player can move, also a stalemate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing strategic game, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jumbo - Stratego Original (Toy)
I bought this board game to try and weave my 11 year old son from the X-box, and first impressions have been very successful. The shorter element of the game requires astute planning and thinking, whilst the longer version is rewarding particularly when a plan comes together. Overall a game that makes you think, plan and coordinate, and above all offers a respite from the damned X-box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great 5 star strategy game, 1 Jun. 2011
By 
Mark Mccarthy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Jumbo - Stratego Original (Toy)
Stratego is great strategy game for two players where the game play is completely different every time you play it. Stratego is based on the game, capture the flag but without knowing your opponents pieces unless they attack you or you attack them. The game looks good with shield type pieces that have a unit design and a rank number on them.

The spy is a female which is a good touch and two containers to keep each army, so useful when playing to know what you have taken from the enemy. The special pieces in this edition in increasing power (except the bomb) are a bomb, spy, scouts and miners with all other normal ranks. The only problem is that the pieces can be easily knocked over but this is fun when it happens in the game, just be careful. When reading the reviews, some mentioned stickers but when I received this game there was no stickers. The only thing you had to do was get an opponent, choose a strategy and play! Great game and a great 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stratego rules, 30 Dec. 2009
By 
Mr. Robert K. Northover "bob n" (unite kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jumbo - Stratego Original (Toy)
I first played this game many years ago, and reintroduced it to the kids as an antidote to the Xbox and Wii. surprisingly they've taken to it like ducks to water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, as described, 27 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jumbo - Stratego Original (Toy)
I've always loved this game, and found this version of it to be of great quality, and would recommend it to anyone who likes strategy board games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jumbo - Stratego Original
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews