Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£7.12

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 December 1998
Randy Alcorn has done the best job of anyone in truly uncovering what the New Testament teaches about the place of money and possessions in the life of a Christian. He does a great job interpreting Jesus' many teachings on wealth and prosperity. The fallacy of the materialistic "God wants you rich" theology is made obvious. God gives wealth and wealth is good but it is not to be hoarded and stored up on this earth. It is to be shared with the poor, the needy, and the martyrs in Christ. Christians will be judged based on what they do with the wealth God gives them.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2009
I found this book challenging and informative. It is, of course, very American, but accepting that it has a number of extremely important principles to follow and traps to beware of. It encourages readers to give liberally and to adopt a sensible lifestyle. It's treatment of the subject is very comprehensive, far more than any other book on this subject of money. It reminds us that money figures largely in the Bible but is sadly so often neglected in sermons.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2004
This is an extremely thorough book on looking at money from a biblical perspective, and will shed light on areas of your life which you never thought the bible had anything to say about.
It even covers topics such as saving, investing, pensions, renting versus buying a home, and has a very good section on teaching children to use money wisely.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2008
This is a great book containing some fresh insights alongside a lot of stuff you've heard before. Randy's style is gracious and friendly even when bringing the reader a direct challenge. The stuff on being a pilgrim really stood out to me along with the example of John Wesley's approach to money and possessions. In places it reads like a textbook and overall it's too long but even so, in these days of rampant consumer Christianity, the perspective it gives is very, very needed.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2009
Had been looking for something to help understand what the Bible has to say about money and finances, and this was really comprehensive and thorough, not to mention challenging, in just the right ways.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2012
.... shapes how we see eternity. Randy Alcorn's book gives a very insightfull and biblical overview of this whole subject. If you are a Christian I would recommend you read this book 100% - if you're not yet a Christian I would recommend you read this book 110%!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 1998
This is one of my all time favorite books. Reviewer Jeff Burg did good job summerizeing it. It was given to my husband and me as a gift and we have given it as a gift. It is set well up for group study. Money spent on this book is money well spent.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2007
Excellent book and very challenging, He gives real insight into so many aspects of life and would highly reccomend it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
This book was recommended by my Pastor and I would recommend it to all Christians. It has encouraged me to tithe.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
I recommend this book as a 'must read' for all Christians. It succeeded in exposing my materialistic proclivity.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)