Customer Reviews


719 Reviews
5 star:
 (418)
4 star:
 (102)
3 star:
 (52)
2 star:
 (58)
1 star:
 (89)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational and very well-written!
Having felt a little lost and somewhat gloomy recently I came across an inspirational and thought-provoking book called The Shamanic Prophecy: The past will set you free. I had heard that The Alchemist was another book with a powerful message to convey, and I certainly wasn't disappointed. Although, I don't think that any book has the power to transform your life, I found...
Published 22 days ago by Manchester

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Great Fable, Just Too Weighed Down By Moralistic Messages
The best way for me to arrange my thoughts on `The Alchemist' is to split my thoughts into two main sections the first would be the story, though really `The Alchemist' fits more into the fable category. Santiago is a shepherd in the Spanish countryside, though educated highly rather than go onto another career he chose to herd sheep as it would cause him to travel and...
Published on 11 Jun 2010 by Simon Savidge Reads


‹ Previous | 159 60 6172 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wounderful & enchanting, 30 April 2000
By A Customer
You'll never feel so positive about the world until you've read this book. You will always be searching for your omens after this and feel at peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars might change your life, 12 Jun 2007
Santiago and Fatima....the epithome of modern love. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did. Yes its very simple, but life changing at times. An inspiration...If youre looking for an easy read (In a matter of hours) with meaning and a moral to the story, then this is it... Enjoy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOOKING FOR A MESSAGE!!, 20 Feb 2006
TO FULLY APPRECIATE THIS FABLE YOU NEED TO KNOW HOW TO SEEK OUT 'YOUR MESSAGE' IN THE TEXT. IF YOU ARE SEARCHING FOR MEANING IN YOUR LIFE OR LOOKING FOR AN ANSWER TO SOMETHING THEN YOU WILL MOST CERTAINLY FIND IT IN THIS BOOK THOUGH YOU WILL HAVE TO BE ALERT AND OBSERVANT. IT IS ALSO A GREAT STORY.WORDS ARE MULTI DIMENSIONAL AND FLEXIBLE AND THE INTERPRETATION IS ALWAYS DEPENDANT UPON THE READER/LISTENER.IF YOU ARE WILLING TO SEEK THEN YOU WILL FIND!
THIS RATES AS ONE OF MY MOST TREASURED BOOKS THAT I WILL KEEP IN MY LIBARY ALWAYS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars New-age 'mystical' ramblings, 18 April 2002
By A Customer
I was recommended to read this by an enthusiastic friend, whose serial consumption of self-help books should have warned me. I was annoyed by page 3 at the faux-naif Santiago, and the truisms mixed with non-sequiteurs that passed for 'deep' messages from the folk he encountered. A Jonathan Livingston Seagull for the new millenium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A mirage, 17 July 2007
By 
Drivel. Possibly the worst book I have ever read. No hold on that's the "Celestine Prophesy". The Alchemist is badly written, one dimensional (despite its vaunting claims for mystical and spiritual significance), banal and infantile. Like a mirage promising so much it turns out to be empty space with only the desert tumbleweed blowing through its pompousness. I can't believe this is a book for adults. It's staggeringly unimaginative. That this book apparently "changes lives" must indicate people prefer a delusional, cod, pseudo significance to their lives rather than a healthy dose of reality, which is far more interesting and stimulating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars do yourself a favour, daydream, 3 Jan 2007
By 
what is wrong with people? this book is simply terrible.i was given it as a present by a man i was potentionally falling in love with, when he declared this was his favourite book i realised it would never work. this book drags on, points are continually repeated as if the reader has the intelligence of jade goody and needs to be reminded. if you are a dreamer/ hippy/ on a pilgramage or sickening romantic you will love it, otherwise, find something eles to read! don't believe the hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Self-help positive thinking spiritualist drivel, 17 Mar 2012
If your idea of a good book is a protracted allegory centred around thinly disguised metaphor for your own life, look no further. Alternatively, put a sign on the inside of your front door with the words "You're Great!" written on it so that you get a positivity boost every day before you leave for work.

If you cry at the end, I also recommend any Dan Brown book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 20 Feb 2009
By 
Johnston Mary Angel "Mary Angel" (Limassol, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book was great. I read it years ago but forgot most of it. I loved the positive way of thinking of Santiago. Whatever the situation he took it in a positive way and always attracted the things he wanted in life. It teaches you watch what comes to you and keep thinking positively. Take everything that comes to you in life without fear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life is what you make it, 22 Oct 2007
By 
Alison Smith "Passion In Life" (Fife, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book works on some many different levels I get something different every time I read it. Essentially it's a story so sometimes I just enjoy it at that level - at others I am reminded of the importance of taking action towards my dreams. If dreams stay in my head they'll just remain daydreams - life is about making them a reality.

Paulo Coelho just writes fabby stories which each reader will take different things from.

EnJOY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great starter book, 13 Sep 2007
I have avoided this book for ages due to the hype but was finally convinced that i should read it. Actually it's OK, it's a version of the universal odysseus story, charming and simply written. I would highly recommend this book for people who are looking for an introduction to concepts and ideas around spirituality and religion especially teenagers and young people. It doesn't give answers but then it's not supposed to, you have to go off on your journey and find your own.
This is a male story so women, especially those with young children may ask themselves, where do i fit in to all this? As the women in the story act as male cyphers rather than travellers in this own right. But thats a minor criticism! Give it a bash, this book may just change you life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 159 60 6172 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews