Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revisionist history versus 'historical fact' - a true masterpiece...
This book is as good an example as any of the oxymoronic nature of that old phrase, 'historical fact'. There is of course no such thing. History is written by people, by cultures, by civilisations, and as such is subject to a huge array of prejudices, biases, grudges and agendas. Western history tells us almost nothing about Genghis Khan, short of casting him in the role...
Published on 22 Feb 2010 by C. Ball

versus
49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars revisionist interpretation full of assumptions, omissions, and factless assertions
This is an odd book. On the one hand, it is supposed to be a kind of narrative based on new source materials, an intimate biography if you will. As such, the author tries to tell it like an interesting story, with quirky personal details, the ascription of emotion at crucial moments, and some (surprisingly poor) evocative language. On the other hand, as an anthropologist...
Published on 8 Aug 2011 by rob crawford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting version of history..., 15 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World (Kindle Edition)
I am in two minds about this book.
Firstly, it is a very interesting read. It is well written, engaging and intelligently organised. I learnt a huge amount, and enjoyed it enormously.
On the other hand, and in line with one or two of the other reviewers, there are one or two warnings to be aware of whilst reading it. Firstly, the author is an anthropologist rather than an historian. Although he does make this clear, I found myself querying some of his assertions from an historical point of view. Secondly, he clearly loves the Mongolian people and culture. Again, this is not a problem as such. It is just that I think this has coloured his overall conclusions rather more than the evidence suggests.
So in conclusion, this is a very interesting version of the history of Genghis Khan and his successors. Just don't assume that it is the universally accepted version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revisionist History at its finest, 19 Dec 2008
A revision of history with respect to Genghis Khan and the enmpire he created has been long overdue. For 800 years we have a history of the Mongols being sourced almost exclusivly from the writings of the Chinese, Russians and Persians ... all people conquered by the mongols. Its inevitable that whoever writes history, writes it according to their prevailing biases. And its inevitable that the history of the mongols as written by the Chinese, Persians and Russians in the 13th, 14th and 15th centuries now needs serious revision.

This book provides that revision and joins the growing movement to re-assess "the daddy" of the Mongol nation, and the worlds largest land empire. What comes out is a bright and positive view of the contributions of Genghis Khan and the empire he founded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The truth though comes out in this brilliantly described and honest look at the true life and ..., 16 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World (Kindle Edition)
This is one of those type of books that contradicts the archetypical description of a so called despot.The truth though comes out in this brilliantly described and honest look at the true life and times of a leader who ranks atop of the list of so called world leaders?The outstanding and some what shocking difference is that this man did all his outstanding conquests when europe was still burning witches.The details of this mans achievements and his intellectual understanding of the option of a bloodless conquest put the rest of the eurasian empires on the same level of stone age man.A brilliant book that clears the mud from the water. Well Done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Genghis Khan and the Mongols, 23 July 2014
By 
G. Colville (Hertford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World (Kindle Edition)
This book is a very detailed account of the rise of Genghis Khan and the Mongol Empire, which initially I found hard going, especially the introduction which is quite lengthy. The story is interesting, however, and is presented very clearly in great detail. It was written by an American professor so I was surprised to find some grammatical errors in the text, which should have been edited out. All in all, I would recommend this book to anyone interested in knowing more about Genghis Khan etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well received gift, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for a friend after watching a film on Genghis Khan. Arrived within the week in good condition and enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The secrets & success of Mongols revealed, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World (Kindle Edition)
The book on Mongol tribes and history of it rulers written by Jack Weatherford is very revealing and informative. The Travels of Marco Polo was the first I have read and came to know about world history in the 13th century. In addition to the bloody events ( which the western scholars only emphasize ) I was very intrigued by technological ,social and commercial progress of the times. The Globalization as we are familiar with, started more than 800 years ago. They are far ahead of our recent times in conduct of global commerce, technological exchange, universal education, plant hybridization and conduct of warfare. Khublai Khan started to introduce social welfare and benefits system, paper money, mass production of goods, digital system of organization in the army and blitzkrieg which I thought the Nazis first used it. The Chinese bureaucracy was further refined, record keeping was enhanced and multinationalism encouraged. While Europe was in the Dark Ages, cosmopolitan East with millions population in the cities were in existence in the East. And I don't mean China only. India, Champa, Java, Bagan and richness of Middle Eastern civilizations are in evidence. But for the excesses of Mongol armies, cultures such as in Baghdad was reduced to the ashes. You can surmise that European renaissance was based on eastern civilizations as the author alleges. But everything was ruined by the plague, both in east and west. We can learn the lessons and apply to present urban metropolitan civilizations of the 21st century. The book is given five stars by the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars genghis Khan and the making of the Modern world, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating book! I have read several books about genghis Khan, this one is excellent. easily accessible for non-historians.
Highly recommanded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't know what to believe..., 13 Feb 2014
By 
Javvad Malik (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World (Kindle Edition)
I was excited to get this book and read the 'other' side of the blood thirsty warrior known as Ghenghis Khan.

In some respects it was a decent read - gave some perspective and views that give a decent insight into the times and life of Khan. However, there are aspects of the book where the author has clearly just inserted their own opinion or fantasy particularly in the introductory pages and in glamorising some of the events. When cross-referenced with other sources, there are many facts that begin to fall apart. As a result, I was left thinking that it was a good story - but little idea as to what was true, misinterpreted or wholly fabricated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Will read again.
It is an opening to the modern world that we live in.
Actually read it in Mongolia - witch was amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tony Reid, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World (Kindle Edition)
A very careful and concise history of this incredible leader of the Mongols. Without doubt one of the world's greatest ever leader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews