Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polished Amicus Anthology Film Featuring Murder, Insanity And Magic
As all true lovers of British horror undoubtedly know the production companies of Hammer and Amicus ruled the horror scene for most of the 1960's and early 1970's with their stylish horror films and tales of the macabre. While the product of Hammer Studios, especially their well known Gothic horrors, are well known and loved world wide the output of Amicus often receives...
Published on 29 Aug. 2010 by Simon Davis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Once You're In...
This is a '70s, very traditional Horror.
Dr Martin is assigned as a new Doctor at an Asylum for criminal mental patients. After meeting his "Guide" he is shown around the Asylum and hears the disturbing, maybe even supernatural reasons why they're there in the first place as he meets them, one by one, trapped in four walls of their own insanity. Whilst there Dr...
Published on 23 July 2010 by Ms. L. J. Braisby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Classic anthology, 29 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hammer may have been the biggest name in horror at the time but amicus were champion when it came to anthology, this film was produced in 1972 and is one of six anthology films produced by amicus that i know of.There are some big names in this film, most notably horror legend peter cushing along with herbert lom and patrick magee.Overall a very good film with all concerned proving their worth not least the director roy ward baker who also worked for hammer studios but ultimately its not the best amicus anthology, in fact its the worst of the six in my opinion so if you like this one you will love these,

Dr.terrors house of horrors
The house that dripped blood
The vault of horror
Tales from the crypt
From beyond the grave

Finally some information about the dvd, this is a german import so all the writing on the cover is in german and the audio features german or english, the subtitles are in german only.The transfer is excellent and the original theatrical trailer features in the extras section
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not so much a horror film as a horrible disc!, 27 Jun. 2013
By 
Gary Aronsson (Liverpool,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film IS one of my favourites and the actual film and sound quality are perfectly acceptable.So it might seem odd that I ended up throwing the damn thing in the bin,but that is what happened and for the simple reason that the Amazon description of this disc is WRONG in one very important respect.
The disc is indeed the German language version and comes in more than one version,TWO to be precise and NOT THREE.It comes in a German language version without German subtitles and it also comes in its original English language version BUT only WITH FULL GERMAN SUBTITLES!
Can somebody tell me WHY it was thought necessary to inflict GERMAN SUBTITLES on the ENGLISH LANGUAGE version of this film as I would love to know what particular market such a disc was aimed at! Either this disc was designed by a sadist or a cretin,it certainly wasn't organised by anybody who will be getting any more of my custom and I strongly suggest you don't buy this version yourself unless you are German!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware of selective product descriptions, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reasonable delivery service but description of the product misleading - YES it did have English language version of the movie but NO it wasn't mentioned that the German subtitles weren't optional. Atmospheric old horror anthology mood totally ruined binned it - literally - after first few minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Creaky, funny and rather unsettling., 19 May 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Asylum [1972] [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The house of Amicus productions brings to us a horror anthology directed by Roy Ward Baker and written by "Psycho" scribe Robert Bloch. The four stories center around Robert Powell's job seeking Dr. Martin. Whom upon arriving at the classy, yet foreboding looking Asylum {New Lodge, Winkfield, Berkshire, England}, is required to interview the four patients up on the top floor so as to prove his credentials for the position. As with all anthology horror pictures, the stories vary in quality, but what is consistent tho is that the atmosphere and mystery element to it all never flags. Atmosphere that is somewhat boosted by Douglas Gamley's impacting construction of Modest Mussorgsky's music.

'Frozen Fear' sees a murdered wife come back to reek revenge on her husband and his lover. Not a bad trick since she was dismembered!.

'The Weird Taylor' has Peter Cushing as a grieving father who will do anything to bring his deceased son back to life.

'Lucy Comes to Stay' features Charlotte Rampling and Britt Eckland in a murderous spin on the "imaginary friend" angle.

'Manikins of Horror' is the last story which stars Herbert Lom as a maker of little robotic dolls that have worryingly realistic faces.

All of which leads us to the finale where we get a nice and rewarding twist. It's a good production is this, the direction and writing is fluid and there are some genuinely creepy and unsettling moments. Perhaps not one to rush out for if you want to be scared on Halloween, but certainly a picture that achieves a high level of genre entertainment. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely Creepy!, 6 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Asylum [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
To be honest i have not really seen that many horror films and i'm not a huge fan, however i do love the hammer horror films that were virtually owned by Christopher Lee and Peter Cushing, and were very popular during the 1970's before the birth of the slasher flick. This relatively unheard of movie produced by Amicus, the British equivalent of Hammer Studios, really is a little gem and well worth a look in.
The film begins with the arrival of Dr Martin at a mental asylum for the incurably insane run by Dr Rutherford and Dr Starr, the latter of which has recently been housed with the rest of the housemates after attacking Dr Rutherford. He agrees to give Dr Martin the position, if he can choose which of the house mates is the former Dr Starr.
The first of the four people that Dr Martin speaks to is Bonnie, who tells him about how her married lover killed his wife in their basement so that they could be together. He chopped her up into several pieces and and then packaged her up in parcel paper and stored her a large freezer. He is very suprised to find that not long after, the head of his wife has roled up the stairs and is now sitting in his kitchen. He follows it down to the freezer where he is strangled. Bonnie then arrives to find her lover dead in the freezer, and that the pieces of his wife have come back to life and attack her.
The second of the four is Bruno the tailor whose business is suffering to the point where he cannot even afford to pay the rent. His luck seems to change however, when he is visited late one night by a man who wants a special suprise suit made for his son, for which he is willing to pay the sum of two hundred pounds. It must be made from a special metalic like material and only between the hours of midnight and five o'clock in the morning. On its completion Bruno takes the suit round to the man who reveals that he too is broke but he needs the suit bring his son back from the dead.
The third of the four is Barbara who much to her disgust returns home from hospital to find that her brother has hired a nurse to look after her. her best friend Lucy is also there and, and together they plan to escape that night. To free Barbara properly Lucy decides to kill both Barbara's brother and her nurse, but then dissappears, leaving Barbara to take the blame.
The final person that Dr Martin sees is Dr Baron who spends his time making minature figures that he claims are perfectly human on the inside and all they need is for him to 'will' his brain into them for them to become alive. He does actually manage this and sends one of his dolls to kill Dr Rutherford. Dr Martin who is with Dr Rutherford when he is stabbed in the back of the head by the doll, takes it and stamps on it. Then, realising that he had seen it earlier in DR Barons room, Dr Martin goes to see him, only to find that he has been crushed, just like somone has stamped on him. From her, the frightening conclusion to the film unfolds.
One of the legends of this genre Peter Cushing, suprisingly does not have a very big role in the movie, and only appears in a handful of scenes. However his performance as Smith, the strange man who comes to see Bruno the tailor really is good. Britt Ekland plays Lucy the good looking blonde her kills her best friends brother and nurse in order to free her from them. Other actors include Herbert Lom who plays Byron, Patrick Magee who plays Dr Rutherford, Robert Powell who plays Dr Martin, and Barry Morse who plays Bruno.
Overall, 'Asylum' while a relatively unheard of hammer horror film, really is as i have said before, a little gem and well worth watching. Extras include a trailer and a picture gallery. If you are a fan of the Hammer Horror movies or just want a genuinely creepy film to watch, then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of the Amicus horror anthologies, 17 April 2012
By 
Andrew Banks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asylum [1972] [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
'Asylum' is my personal favourite of the the Amicus horror anthology films. The script was written by Robert Bloch, who is best known for writing the novel upon which Alfred Hitchcock's 1960 film 'Psycho' was based, and who also wrote a number of other screenplays for Amicus, including 'Torture Garden' (1967) and 'The House that dripped blood' (1970). Bloch's screenplay is well written and includes a number of effective surprise twists. The cast is also excellent. Peter Cushing gives his usual brilliant performance, and there is some very good acting from Robert Powell, Charlotte Rampling and Geoffrey Bayldon, too. The psychiatric hospital setting is quite atmospheric, and the film benefits from some good cinematography courtesy of Denys Coop, the director of photography. The Digital Versatile Disc features an interesting commentary track from the director Roy Ward Baker and the camera operator Neil Binney, and a fairly good 20 minute documentary about Amicus Films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robert Powell enters the Asylum, 20 Sept. 2002
By 
Caleb (Unitied Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Asylum [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
A great 'Hammer' spin off, a number of small films put together in one film - kinda like minature episodes from - 'The Hammer House of Horror'.
Each asylum patient is involved in a story of how they came to be at the asylum. I love the story about the man who chopped is wife up and put her in the freezer - it's really spooky when her body parts come back to haunt him. Great British Horror!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four great entertaining tales of horror!, 22 Aug. 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Asylum [1972] [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Four classic tales of horror, told by supposedly 'insane' patients who are kept locked up in a country Asylum.

A new Doctor arrives (Robert Powell) who is given a test to find out who was once the mysterious 'Dr. Star' before he himself became an inmate! He's to do this by the process of elimination, and interviewing each patient and hearing their story of how they became 'institutionalised'. This is trickier than it at first seems, since one or two of the patients do not appear 'mad'. There's a great twist at the end, and so this is well worth watching!

As always in this genre; the tales involved are extremely entertaining!

A galaxy of stars in this, including; Peter Cushing, Megs Jenkins, Herbert Lom, Sylvia Syms, Richard Todd and James Villiers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amicus, 27 Dec. 2014
By 
S. Holmes (GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asylum [1972] [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Great Amicus film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars but has subtitles in German which is really annoying to watch, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You ask me to take the time to give an opinion and in general I will, but how much do you care? I gave you my opinion a short while ago over buying a Celestron telescope which was an awful purchase and I heard nothing in return, so I'll try once more with this product before at last switching to Ebay. I've nothing to lose. To begin with this product -the cover not as advertised came in German as did the Dvd itself so when I actually got it to play found itcan only be done in English, but has subtitles in German which is really annoying to watch. and for the cost of £12 50 with post I think way over the top, but go on you asked for my opinion what do you think?or do you care?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Asylum [1972] [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£9.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews