Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plan of attack - wow
I read a review on amazon stating how it was thought the subject of this book was old hat and needed bringing up to date.I can watch news channels to see the facts --- I read fiction, although somewhat believable fiction - I want taking out of the "up to date current affairs stuff" and Dale Brown does just that - Dale Brown takes you right up there with him you can...
Published on 4 Feb. 2005

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Risible
This isn't Proust or Shakespeare or Marquez; no-one should expect much from a book of this kind in the way of character development or good writing or nuanced political thought. But what is to be expected is tension, and of that there is nothing here because the author so stacks the odds in favour of the Americans, and so stupidly. The dialgue between the American and...
Published on 23 Sept. 2010 by Sean Corley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plan of attack - wow, 4 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
I read a review on amazon stating how it was thought the subject of this book was old hat and needed bringing up to date.I can watch news channels to see the facts --- I read fiction, although somewhat believable fiction - I want taking out of the "up to date current affairs stuff" and Dale Brown does just that - Dale Brown takes you right up there with him you can imagine youself flying alongside him and believing that his ideas for hitech airplanes could some day be "current affairs". I personally thought it was an excellent book, I have searched for some time to find an author that can keep me on the edge of my seat, figuratively speaking, and now I 've found him. Its just a pity some of his older works are difficult to obtain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 1 July 2005
This review is from: Plan of Attack (Paperback)
I must confess that I'm turning into a bit of a Dale Brown fan.
The plot revolves around Russia attacking America is one which I'm sure some will think is outdated. Certainly, my first thoughts were that this would be similar to Red Storm Rising.
I enjoyed this book a lot and is probably one of my favourites from the author. Its been a while since I've stayed up half the night reading, just to see what happens next!
My only criticism and the reason I have not given it a 5 star rating is that I found the ending to be disappointing and somewhat unimaginative. I don't want to say more in case I ruin it for others. Overall though it is a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Risible, 23 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This isn't Proust or Shakespeare or Marquez; no-one should expect much from a book of this kind in the way of character development or good writing or nuanced political thought. But what is to be expected is tension, and of that there is nothing here because the author so stacks the odds in favour of the Americans, and so stupidly. The dialgue between the American and Russian president, presumably designed to show the brutality of the Russian through the American's indignant reaction just serves to make the Russian's dismissive judgment on his opposite number all too accurate. And the 'grudging' admiration from the Russians for the book's swashbuckling 'renegade' (only he's not really, comic fans) hero is just embarrassing. Escapism is fine - what else is a book like this for? But it has to be founded on some basic level of reality where The Good Guys don't automatically triumph. How subtle Clancy's 'Red Storm Rising' looks compared with this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plan of Attack (Patrick McLanahan Book 12) (Kindle Edition)
This yarn rips along at a fair old pace as do may of DB's books. It's quite realistic given his attention to detail and accuracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plan of Attack, 1 Sept. 2013
By 
Philip Boaler (Worksop, Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plan of Attack (Patrick McLanahan Book 12) (Kindle Edition)
Like all of the other Dale Brown books a good read. If you haven't read any of the others in this series this is a good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive Reading, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plan of Attack (Patrick McLanahan Book 12) (Kindle Edition)
As usual with all of Dale Brown's books, full of action and difficult to put down. Dale Brown or Tom Clancy? Give me Dale Brown every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good reading, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plan of Attack (Patrick McLanahan Book 12) (Kindle Edition)
well written.Enjoyed the excitement and of following the plans and actions. Could well imagine the plans and action at each stage of the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great escapist fun!, 30 Oct. 2007
By 
This review is from: Plan of Attack (Paperback)
As recently as a few weeks ago the Russians flew 8 bombers up to UK airspace, all at once. In Dale brown's increasingly realistic book they go an awful lot further and attack the US.
Nukes, bombers, high tech this and that everywhere, what's not to like?
Convincing escapist fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plan of Attack (Patrick McLanahan Book 12) (Kindle Edition)
simply the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plan of Attack (Patrick McLanahan Book 12) (Kindle Edition)
Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews