Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHERE ARE THE FIRST TWO FOUNDATION TITLES ON KINDLE?
Asimov's Foundation SERIES does not need my review - anybody that knows anything about science fiction will know that this is a classic. What it does need is a publisher with the vaguest clue. Specifically this is a three part series and having the third book in the series available on kindle without the first two being available on kindle seems somewhat pointless. If...
Published 17 months ago by Average Sci Fi Guy

versus
74 of 77 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where are the first 2?
This is an excellent book and the Kindle version is a good edition. However the book is typicial of what is wrong with the way that publishers treat electronic versions of their books - what is the point of publishing a Kindle version of the third book in a trilogy without publishing the first two in the series? For goodness sake publishers, get your act together and...
Published on 15 Aug. 2011 by ThorNogson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHERE ARE THE FIRST TWO FOUNDATION TITLES ON KINDLE?, 11 Dec. 2013
Asimov's Foundation SERIES does not need my review - anybody that knows anything about science fiction will know that this is a classic. What it does need is a publisher with the vaguest clue. Specifically this is a three part series and having the third book in the series available on kindle without the first two being available on kindle seems somewhat pointless. If the whole series was available I'm sure lots of Asimov fans like me would snap up the opportunity to re-read them....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 77 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where are the first 2?, 15 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Foundation (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent book and the Kindle version is a good edition. However the book is typicial of what is wrong with the way that publishers treat electronic versions of their books - what is the point of publishing a Kindle version of the third book in a trilogy without publishing the first two in the series? For goodness sake publishers, get your act together and embrace the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Foundation (Kindle Edition)
A good kindle edition of a Foundation series book. What about the rest of the series? I have them all in paperback but I would buy them as e-books, as would many other Asimov readers, I believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second Fouundation: shocking revelations, 21 Jan. 2004
By 
Whilst it is best to read second foundation after 'foundation' and 'foundation and empire' it is not essential, as the prologue fills you in on the basics of the previous two novels.
The book goes a long way to explain the purpose of the mysterious second foundation, but the main focus is on its location, and the search for it by both the mule and the first foundation.
The first half puts order into the chaotic situation left by the events in 'foundation and empire', and follows many twists and schemes that make it entirely engrossing, without giving the slightest hint of the dramatic ending.
The second half provides the real substance of the book, a rebellion of the first foundation against the ideals of the second foundation. This leads the reader to question the entire idea of psychohistory, as the first foundation does not like to think of itself as being 'controlled' by the second, even though it knows that the interference of the second foundation will result in a bright, peaceful future for mankind.
The book is laid out with a new twist to the plot in every chapter, making it almost impossible to put down, especially towards the end.
The most interesting parts are meetings of the second foundation members, which explain the inner workings of the seldon plan, along with how the arrival of the mule affected it.
The characters are well presented, and are developed only as much as is necessary, to keep the fast pace of the novel going, but are entirely believable, and link in with the characters in the previous books.
Some people like to read the last page of a book first, doing this with second foundation, and indeed with the entire foundation series, will ruin the book utterly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second Foundation: shocking revelations, 21 Jan. 2004
By 
Whilst it is best to read second foundation after 'foundation' and 'foundation and empire' it is not essential, as the prologue fills you in on the basics of the previous two novels.
The book goes a long way to explain the purpose of the mysterious second foundation, but the main focus is on its location, and the search for it by both the mule and the first foundation.
The first half puts order into the chaotic situation left by the events in 'foundation and empire', and follows many twists and schemes that make it entirely engrossing, without giving the slightest hint of the dramatic ending.
The second half provides the real substance of the book, a rebellion of the first foundation against the ideals of the second foundation. This leads the reader to question the entire idea of psychohistory, as the first foundation does not like to think of itself as being 'controlled' by the second, even though it knows that the interference of the second foundation will result in a bright, peaceful future for mankind.
The book is laid out with a new twist to the plot in every chapter, making it almost impossible to put down, especially towards the end, with the most interesting parts being meetings of the second foundation members, which explain the inner workings of the seldon plan, along with how the arrival of the mule affected it.
The characters are well presented, and are developed only as much as is necessary, to keep the fast pace of the novel going, but are entirely believable, and link in with the characters in the previous books.
Some people like to read the last page of a book first, doing this with second foundation, and indeed with the entire foundation series, will ruin the book utterly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second Foundation, 12 Nov. 2012
Second Foundation is the third novel of the Foundation series by Isaac Asimov and is best read in sequence as it advances on concepts from the earlier novels. This is yet another excellent novel by Isaac Asimov (in fact, I've never encountered a bad book by him) and is written in two distinct parts.

The first part, "Search by the Mule", follows telepathic warlord The Mule's search for the elusive Second Foundation. The executive council of the Second Foundation is aware of the Mule's search and of his destructive intent but still allows him to discover the organisation "in a sense". It is then up to agents of the Foundation to deal with the threat in the most appropriate way.

The second part, "Search by the Foundation", is set sixty years after the events narrated in the first part. The members of the (First) Foundation are now fully aware of the existence and purpose of the Second Foundation. The original Foundation is embroiled in conflict with the Mule's former imperial capital at Kalgan and wants to avoid the potential threat posed by the Second Foundation. After inventing a device that can jam telepathic powers, the Foundation locates telepaths on Terminus and believes this to answer the question about the location of the mysterious Second Foundation. However, although this is an answer that satisfies, it is not necessarily an answer that is true.

Science fiction that is this good is a rare thing - I would recommend Asimov's Foundation series wholeheartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The decaying scope of the Foundation, 24 Feb. 2015
By 
Dr. Michael Heron (Brechin) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately, from truly epic beginnings the Foundation trilogy over time loses its ability to communicate big concepts and turns instead to a kind of parody of Machiavellian pile-up conspiracy theories, in the style of a vaguely Wildean farce. There were ideas in the first book that were hugely important in shaping the contours of sci-fi, and the echoes of these can be heard in a dozen fictonal universes. In book two, it was clear that things were slipping a little as the idea of a Seldon Crisis became more and more abstract and contrary to the original conception. By book three, it's a succession of 'Ah-ha, what you don't realise is,,,' followed by 'Ah, but what you don't realise that I realise is...'. It all becomes a little tiresome. 'I extracted this info from your operative!' 'Ah, my operative didn't realise that he didn't have the real information!' 'Ah, but I knew that he wouldn't have the information so...'. It reminds me very much of that Limmy's Show secret agent sketch where both participants are so confused by their own feints and counter-feints that they end up burning their own dossiers and drinking their own antidotes.

Really though, it's not a bad book - it's just bad in comparison to the earlier highs of the first tremendous instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Asimov the Best, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do not read Pure Sci Fi books too often mainly Koontz/Herbert/King but, when told to get the Asimov series, I made the leap and found I could not put them down and ended up reading one after the other. These are excellent books and keep you interested all the way through the lifetime of the foundation series. I would recommed these to anyone who likes to read well written and gripping books. I have tried other since but no other author can keep me interested as Asimov did. I suppose it is dependent upon individual tastes and these are my cup of tea. Seller was excellent providing great service and delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The climax to the series, and for most people, the place to stop reading, 29 Mar. 2008
By 
Dmitri M. A. Hubbard (Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you started with "Foundation", went on to "Foundation and Empire" and did not read the prequels, this is a high note to go out on. Your own internal loyalty will be tested between Foundation and Second Foundation - your old alliegance is to the Foundation, but is the Second Foundation a necessary evil? Iconic stuff of a level of art rarely reached in science fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great., 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first three books in the Foundation series are all fantastic. Maybe not quite up to the dizzy heights set by Frank Herberts Dune series, but then so few Sci-fi epics are and this maybe the closest that I've read.
This had passed me by until recently so if it's somehow done the same with you and if its your cup of tea then buy this trilogy asap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Second Foundation
Second Foundation by Isaac Asimov
£3.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews