Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£9.35
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 February 2004
This is a great book of film reviews by one of my favourite critics. These essays are intelligent and perceptive. They are the sort of reviews that one can think about long after reading them. Ebert combines a very down to earth approach to film with a loving and serious regard for the power of film. He is a great humanist critic.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
like all great books of this sort Roger Ebert's essays send you back to movies you have seen in the past and search out ones you may have missed out on. Even when you may not always agree with some of his selections you can still enjoy reading his views on them. Like Pauline Kael and David Thomson he is also a very good writer so even reading about movies you have not seen is never a task.
Along with Thomson's 'Have You Seen' this is a great book to pick up and flick through at any time.
As Mr Ebert sadly passed away in 2013 we will have no new volumes to look forward to but he has left behind many volumes of movie reviews and we can be thankful for that.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2011
This book is superbly written, interesting and highly informative. Whether you already know the film, or are looking up a film not yet seen, this is a joy to delve into.
Well done Mr Ebert!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
Wonderful to read all about classic movies, written by someone who truly loves them. An excellent read, an author greatly missed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
A great book to dip into. It sits in the pile next to my bed. He makes me rethink my opinions.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
St Roger is the doyen of reviewers, deeply informed, literate, humane. His passing is deeply mourned, but at least we have his writings - and the review site still continues his tradition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
Compulsively readable. Very balanced and erudite reviews. A little more edge would have been welcome but overall Ebert's love of film is infectious and admirable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 January 2016
Roger Ebert knows a lot more about movies than the rest of us. He proves it in I Hated, Hated, Hated This Movie by selecting some of the worst movies ever made—in his opinion—and subjecting their plots, scenes, actors, directors, etc., to his scathing affections. But there are some movies even Ebert likes. Here are 7 movies that Ebert lists as great that I have seen and can personally recommend as great. It can be validating to see that a great movie mind can sometimes agree with my ordinary one.

2001: A Space Odyssey [Blu-ray]
Casablanca and The Maltese Falcon
Fargo
The Godfather
It's a Wonderful Life
The Shawshank Redemption

And here are a few Ebert regards as great that I cannot agree about. Their value eludes me, even with Ebert’s explanations and endorsements.

- Apocalypse Now
- The Big Sleep
- Dr. Strangelove
- Gone with the Wind

This series of books continues with The Great Movies II. If you enjoy Ebert’s perspective, you will also enjoy Ebert's Bigger Little Movie Glossary: A Greatly Expanded and Much Improved Compendium of Movie Clichés, Stereotypes, Obligatory Scenes, Hackneyed Formulas, Conventions, and Outdated Archetypes.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)