Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Year with C S LEWIS- Inspiring and insightful
This book provides a new reading to correspond to each day. It takes simple extracts from C S Lewis' major works. For new and old readers of Lewis' works it provides an interesting synopsis of this inspired and inspiring man, and may well encourage further reading. I found I could relate to many of his view points, many of which were moving and profound, especially those...
Published on 6 Feb 2005 by Jackanory

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing.
Disappointing. Instead of being short extracts suitable for a daily reading it is often just a straight extract over three or four days from one of C. S. Lewis's books. Not nearly enough editorial work done. A lazy production counting for its sales on the reputation of Lewis.
Published 25 days ago by Fwat


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Year with C S LEWIS- Inspiring and insightful, 6 Feb 2005
This book provides a new reading to correspond to each day. It takes simple extracts from C S Lewis' major works. For new and old readers of Lewis' works it provides an interesting synopsis of this inspired and inspiring man, and may well encourage further reading. I found I could relate to many of his view points, many of which were moving and profound, especially those relating to his wife Joy. It also puts key dates of his life at the bottom of the page for each day.
I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good if you are VERY short of time., 2 May 2014
By 
A. G. Morrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cannot be used as a replacement for reading through the unedited books, which surely constitute the most readable Christian literature in print today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For anyone who likes CS Lewis this is a great little book for daily reading. It does help though if you have a background knowledge of the other works of CS Lewis otherwise some of the references he makes to his other books might confuse the uninformed reader! It is a great way of reading some of the great writings of this very talented and knowledgeable man in 'bite sized' pieces. It's a good way of doing some thought provoking reading when reading is often seen as a bit of a 'luxury' time wise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anything by C.S.Lewis is worth its weight in gold. This is a book of daily readings and every one is a gem from this outstanding writer. Don't hesitate to buy this or give it as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 366 daily readings, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
C. S. Lewis's writings have entertained and helped shaped my thinking over the year and I already have most of the books that the extracts come from. What I was looking for was a book with something fairly brief to read last thing at night. This one works reasonably well and unlike some other daily reading books, this one does include something for 29th February (leap years).
4 stars because some of his language and ideas now strike me as old fashioned - not wrong but equally not quite how I might express things these days.
If you are looking for something thought-provoking that encourages faith then this might be useful to you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 21 Aug 2014
By 
Fwat (Western Isles Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disappointing. Instead of being short extracts suitable for a daily reading it is often just a straight extract over three or four days from one of C. S. Lewis's books. Not nearly enough editorial work done. A lazy production counting for its sales on the reputation of Lewis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm sure a very useful book for deep thinking, however it was not what I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews