Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The savage and the governess!
Lady Charlotte Dalrumple is a very proper governess. Lord Wynter Ruskin has travelled far in his youth, ended up in Arabia and is now more savage than english. Plot: These two meet and Charlotte is to teach Wynter a few things. But... Let's say, she needs to be taught something to, according to Wynter. This is a book worth reading! Funny scenes, steamy scenes and a hero...
Published on 28 Mar 2003 by greennie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars it was ok
I really like the way Christina Dodd writes. Her descriptions are well-assessed and she makes you feel things, rather than telling you what you should be feeling directly. However, the hero was rather to close-minded and too "I am a man and you shall listen to me". Heroine was too reserved, but this was her character and what made her the heroine she is.
It's a ok...
Published on 5 Aug 2009 by Angela


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The savage and the governess!, 28 Mar 2003
Lady Charlotte Dalrumple is a very proper governess. Lord Wynter Ruskin has travelled far in his youth, ended up in Arabia and is now more savage than english. Plot: These two meet and Charlotte is to teach Wynter a few things. But... Let's say, she needs to be taught something to, according to Wynter. This is a book worth reading! Funny scenes, steamy scenes and a hero who seeks to dominate and does not get away with it. My rating is 4 stars, given because of the fun and ease and true love. My advice: this is a keeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful reading, 16 July 2003
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Lady Miss Charlotte Dalrumple was known as England's most proper governess. Adorna, Viscountess Ruskin, hired Lady Miss Charlotte to help her two grandchildren comprehend the complexities of English society within only a few months. Until now the children had lived with their father in the desert of El Bahar. They were considered barbarians and needed to learn etiquette before Queen Victoria and the Serminian delegation arrived. Once Charlotte and the children began doing well together, Adorna admitted that she hired charlotte in hope she could help reform Lord Wynter Ruskin, who was sadly uncivilized as well.
Wynter had no desire to be taught English manners. The Bedouins of the desert were more straight forward with their wants and desires. However, Wynter DID want Lady Miss Charlotte. He would woo her the English way ... up to a point anyway.
***** A delightful story that I enjoyed from beginning to end. This author has always had a way with words and yet to disappoint me. Great for those long rainy nights. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it was ok, 5 Aug 2009
By 
Angela (London, UK) - See all my reviews
I really like the way Christina Dodd writes. Her descriptions are well-assessed and she makes you feel things, rather than telling you what you should be feeling directly. However, the hero was rather to close-minded and too "I am a man and you shall listen to me". Heroine was too reserved, but this was her character and what made her the heroine she is.
It's a ok book to read, but I admit, the hero does get to your nerves sometimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary start of the Governess series, 14 Feb 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Rules of Surrender" is book one of the popular Governess Brides series set in early Victorian England. Lady Charlotte Dalrumple is one of the country's most accomplished governesses and a co-founder of The Distinguished Academy of Governesses in London. She is a very proper young lady who knows everything about the rules of social etiquette. Apart from being a paragon, she is also hiding a mysterious past behind her beautiful exterior. She accepts the position of governess to Lord Wynter Ruskin's two young and unruly children. Lord Ruskin is a ruggedly handsome young aristocrat freshly returned from his extended travels in the Orient and he is sadly lacking in civilized society manners.
Charlotte is the epitome of a young Victorian woman who hides her emotions well and who is deeply disturbed by Wynter's unconventional behavior. Lord Ruskin prefers to ignore the rules of the ton and he immensely enjoys Charlotte's growing discomfort in his company.They are both very charming characters with a strong sense of responsibility. Wynter is intrigued by Charlotte and he is convinced that there is more to her than her spinsterly propriety. He teases her all the time and she lectures him constantly in return. Their verbal fights are witty, interesting and very entertaining. The surroundings are perfect, the storyline realistic and fast-paced. Ms. Dodd's choice of words is excellent and her characters fully developed. The secondary cast is supporting and their antics make the reader entertained on a high level. The love scenes are passionate, full of emotions and tasteful.
RULES OF SURRENDER is a wonderful beginning of the series and I look forward to reading about the other two governess friends too. The author has written a deeply touching historical romance which is worth the reader's undivided attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Can't make up my mind, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rules of Surrender: Governess Brides #2 (The Governess Brides) (Kindle Edition)
...whether I hated the 'Hero' (I use the term loosely) or whether he's actually a reasonably accurate portrayal of the majority of Victorian men's attitude towards women.
that being said, most people don't read a book entitled "Rules of surrender" for a healthy dose of realism.
I kind of thought he would redeem himself by not actually forcing himself on her, but in the end, some very odd 'wrestling' is all that stops it from being outright abuse.
Her writing style is engaging, and if the Hero had actually changed what-so-ever by the end I might have given this 5 stars, as it was, there's seducing a woman, and then there's putting your hand up her skirts and ignoring her cries of 'No!'...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I am feelin' violent....arrgghh!, 15 Nov 2006
It is rare that I come across a book where the hero is so off the mark that I literally want to punch him in the face then knee him in the groin. But this was one of those times.

The hero is childish, umcompromising, and arrogant with absolutely NO RESPECT for the heroine. Most of the book he uses sex to humiliate her and her morals - a situation that is borderline on abusive.

And if you think that it will all turn out right in the end and that somehow the heroine will regain her dignity in the end you would be WRONG. The author is under the misguided belief that if the hero admits he loves her that makes everything all better. 'Oh well all those instances of humiliation and disrespect were worth it because he LOVES me'. BS.

Now this is the first book of Christina Dodd's I have read and I am less than impressed. Especially after reading Anne Gracie - she knows how it is done. I have bought the second in the series 'Rules of Engagement' and I hope to god it is better otherwise I am ditching this author faster than Charlotte SHOULD have left Wynter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one great romance of fun and wit!!, 7 Oct 2002
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
In 1839 England, the newly formed Distinguished Academy of Governesses is a daring venture. Three young ladies--wellborn, beautiful, and poor--have decided to take destiny into their own hands and carve a societal niche as governesses. The Academy's first client employs Lady Charlotte Dalrumple to teach her untrained grandchildren the rules of proper English society. It isn't until Charlotte meets the children that she realises she's also been hired to re-train their father, who left England at 15 for a life of adventure among the Bedouins of the Far East. Once she meets the handsome Viscount Wynter Ruskin, it becomes instantly apparent to Charlotte why his mother feels he needs instruction in manners--the viscount seems determined to shock her at every turn.
Wynter accepts his mother's edict that he pay heed to Charlotte's lessons in decorum, but only because he has plans for the lovely young woman. He needs a wife and Charlotte fills his requirements perfectly. But while Wynter is tutoring her in the art of seduction, Charlotte just might teach the stubborn viscount more about women and his heart than he'd planned to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever, 26 July 2000
By A Customer
Well written, humourous, lively love story, with one of Dodds loveable but wrong headed heroes. A nice link to that Scandalous Evening (so thats what happened next!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BOTHER!!!, 30 Aug 2006
Totally frustrating!!! I was so disappointed!!!! Arrogant, alpha male knowingly compromises the heroine and at no point shows any regard for her feelings or wishes. He spends the entire time embarrasing and humiliating her and she lets him!!! No character development and very slim plot that is summed up in less than a paragraph at the very end. Supporting characters showed promise but did not step up to the plate at all. It was a trial just finishing it!!! This is my first Christina Dodd book and with such glowing reviews I was expecting much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could do better..., 6 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This is my first time reading novel by Christina Dodd, encouraged by other glowing reviews. Simple storyline, no chemistry, seriously i felt really bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews