Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Gilbert & Sullivan
I have seen many versions of HMS Pinafore and even those performed by the famous D'oly Cart company, but this Opera Australia DVD is the very best that I have ever seen. The whole production has been carefully directed to make it a totally enjoyable viewing experience. The principal cast members have voices which are rarely heard in the modern theatre. I would highly...
Published on 19 Oct 2006 by John Lewis

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good musically, but atrocious Buttercup
HMS Pinafore is mostly very well done, although Buttercup nearly spoils it. Some other reviewers complained about her, but her voice is like fingernails on a chalkboard. Also, the ship and uniforms are a little more modern than Gilbert intended, but not enough to spoil it.

Be aware that the "big, big D" is not left out, we always mute it for that point...
Published on 7 May 2008 by MG


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Gilbert & Sullivan, 19 Oct 2006
By 
John Lewis "widescreenfan" (Aldwincle, Northamptonshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - HMS Pinafore & Trial by Jury [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I have seen many versions of HMS Pinafore and even those performed by the famous D'oly Cart company, but this Opera Australia DVD is the very best that I have ever seen. The whole production has been carefully directed to make it a totally enjoyable viewing experience. The principal cast members have voices which are rarely heard in the modern theatre. I would highly recomment this version to anyone who likes G&S, but to those who do not know if their work, this will be a delightful way to get to know it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contrast, 18 Oct 2006
By 
Caz (Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - HMS Pinafore & Trial by Jury [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Terrific pairing of a pretty "straight" interpretation of Pinafore combined with a rip-roaring version of Trial. In Pinafore the production evokes a romatic Victorian naval idyll with impossibly clean and worthy ships and sailors, a sweet and proper heroine and appropriately brave and dutiful captains and sailors - with a delightful monarch of the sea! In the latter, the protagonists are portrayed as warring celebrities, complete with adoring fans and paparazzi. Highly entertaining character acting from all the stars,lovely singing and chorus work. All look as if they are having an exceedingly good time, which is as it should be. Astonishingly chameleon-like transformations from the major stars as they change from one performance to the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars G & S performances at their best!, 14 Oct 2006
By 
P. Mallard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - HMS Pinafore & Trial by Jury [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Opera Australia has excelled itself with HMS Pinafore and Trial by Jury. Conductor Andrew Greene, Director Stuart Maunder, Designer Roger Kirk, Lighting Designer Trudy Dalgleish and Choreographer Elizabeth Hill have made this an audio and visual treat.

Equally excellent are the fantastic performances by the Cast and Chorus, from the inspired choice of Colette Mann as "Little Buttercup", the brilliant and versatile Anthony Warlow as "Capt Corcoran" and the "Learned Judge", non better than the lovely Tiffany Speight and the talented David Hobson "as the "Merry Maiden and the Tar", to John Bolton Wood's "Sir Joseph Porter", Richard Alexander's "Dick Deadeye", Andrew Jones, Jerzy Kozlowski and Roxane Hislop as Cousin Hebe.

Ali McGregor is wonderful as "Angelina" in Trial by Jury with David Hobson as "Edwin". The Learned Judge steals the show aided abetted by a jury of ex-sailors, and a public of journalists (ex-sisters, ex-cousins and ex-aunts). The Usher and Counsel seem familiar too! Watch this again and again to see the little expressions and sideshows of the Chorus.

Verdict:- Unbeatable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Double Bill of G & S, 26 Jun 2009
By 
A. P. Wells "Tony Wells" (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - HMS Pinafore & Trial by Jury [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Over the years I have seen too many disappointing versions of these two operas. Many purists decry attempts to update the operas but tastes change and modern audiences would not find the original, late 19th century versions very appealling.
However, these two operas have kept well to Gilbert's intentions and some obscure, even for modern British audiences, references have been updated. For instance, in Trial by Jury the phrase 'I became as rich as the Gurneys' has been updated to modern Australian as 'I became as rich as the Packers'. Many British people would have heard of Kerry Packer and his cricketing involvement, but the Gurneys? Their London bank, Overend, Gurney and Co failed in 1886 and the surviving Norwich branch was taken over by Barclays in 1896. Not, I am sure, a fact generally known to a British 21st century audience!
The chorus of bridesmaids has become the lady reporters press box to good effect.
HMS Pinafore is admirable done with some fine singing voices who also doubled in Trial by Jury. There have been less than favourable comments about Colette Mann as Mrs Cripps, Little Buttercup! Personally I find her quite plausible as she is described a 'a Portsmouth bumboat woman' in other words a woman of very humble origins amongst the contrasting upper crust main characters in the plot.
An admirable double bill of these two operas. It is also available direct from Australian Broadcasting Corp as a PAL DVD rather than an NTSC adapted version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HMS Pinafore & Trial by Jury, 24 Jun 2007
By 
Edward Smart (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - HMS Pinafore & Trial by Jury [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
HMS Pinafore I have over the years seen many performances of this comic opera.. musically it is by far the best performance I have ever seen, with a little comic relaxation from the more formal productions. The scenery, whilst suitable for this particular performance, was a background of a more modern ship than one would expect from a more traditional production. The scenery would in my opinion have been improved by giving the impression of the old sailing ship.. Whilst the uniforms and dresses of the cast were absolutely first rate.. As regards Trial by Jury once again superb musically but must confess to preferring the traditional dress rather than the modernish dress of this production, in spite of those points the whole is really superb value for money EJS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most enjoyable, 8 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - HMS Pinafore & Trial by Jury [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I have seen about 3 of the Gilbert and Sullivan comic operas by the D'Oyly Carte Opera many years ago and looked forward to renewing my aquaintance with them via video. I saw the previous reviews about this version of Pinafore, that caused me to hesitate a while. I am glad that I took the plunge as I found both performances very enjoyable. It was mentioned that this video is in the NTSC format (confirmed in microscopic print at the bottom of the case), so I was relieved that my DVD unit played it with no problem. I thought the quality of picture in full widescreen and the sound were excellent. I appreciate the comments by others concerning the ship being more modern than the expected sailing ship. Buttercup is somewhat strident compared with the other singers, but as she is a common bumboat woman, it was in character.

Something that others have not mentioned is that there is the option of having the words displayed at the bottom of the screen. Not having a copy of the libretto for either opera, I found this a great help in following the songs, particularly when in chorus or several parts together. Trial by Jury was completely new to me and so the captions here were invaluable.

A most enjoyable couple of performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Mar 2012
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - HMS Pinafore & Trial by Jury [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The singing voices are ALL excellent. Watched it dozens of times and sing along with the subtitles. Anthony Warlow is a brilliant character actor wheather in pink tights and long blonde hair in Patience, or the Captain in HMS Pinafore or the Judge in Trial By Jury - ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 19 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - HMS Pinafore & Trial by Jury [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is the best DVD we have ever bought, watched this dozens of time and will be inviting our friends around to share the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OPERA AUSTRALIA, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - HMS Pinafore & Trial by Jury [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
These performances of HMS Pinafore and Trial by Jury set the gold standard and are absolutely superb. Opera Australia has captured the true essence of Gilbert and Sullivan. This DVD is absolutely compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Terrific !!!, 20 Jan 2012
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - HMS Pinafore & Trial by Jury [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is a most enjoyable DVD with superb singing from all the cast. Litle Buttercup is slightly offkey occasionally but this only enhances her life status as a 'poor BumBoat woman'. Trial by Jury is also excellent. Previous reviews are spot on.
Have had this copy for about 3 months now and must have watched it 20 times. I would love to see Opera Australia tour the UK
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gilbert & Sullivan - HMS Pinafore & Trial by Jury [DVD] [2010]
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews