Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quirky and excellent
As another reviewer pointed out, this film does not fit in any one particular genre, so those expecting the usual brand of comedy will probably be disappointed. Where is the low-brow or no-brow usual brand of big box-office hit humour? Well if you want that, maybe you had better look elsewhere. This does have funny moments in it, but this is more a study of when things...
Published on 24 Oct 2006 by Sarah Horne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars PREDICT THE DOWNERS OF LIFE?
Fairly run-of-the mill mix of life's downers and some comic edge to a cloudy loser.
Published 2 months ago by TQuote


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quirky and excellent, 24 Oct 2006
This review is from: The Weather Man [DVD] (DVD)
As another reviewer pointed out, this film does not fit in any one particular genre, so those expecting the usual brand of comedy will probably be disappointed. Where is the low-brow or no-brow usual brand of big box-office hit humour? Well if you want that, maybe you had better look elsewhere. This does have funny moments in it, but this is more a study of when things fall apart, and it's very well done, the melancholy and desperation in the film somehow do not leave you depressed, only impressed by the acting and the quiet beauty of the film.

Henry David Thoreau said that most men led lives of "quiet desperation", and this can't be better portrayed than here. David Spritz, aka Nicholas Cage, tries to keep himself from falling apart, but his anguish is palpable. He knows at best his weather reports are rough estimates, "it's just wind." His life mirrors his work, as his loss of absolute control over the weather reports is mirrored by his loss of control over events in his life, his father's illness, his children's teenage angst and his estranged wife whom he tries to win back but fails.

As things worsen in his life, he seeks solace in archery, and watching him concentrate on this you get the impression it has a meditative quality to it, the control he has over this sport is in complete contrast to the rest of his life. Somehow the archery scene manages to capture an essence of him re-adjusting to his new life, how he is finding new strength within when things are falling apart without.

It is difficult to write the feelings and impressions you are left with after watching this film. It's something that might make you think about your own life and how you are living it. It will probably make you acknowledge the fleeting nature of the world we live in, and if you have ever had to juggle work with difficult life issues, then you will probably find some solace here. It's simply superb. The acting is excellent, and the under-emotional performances work very well here. It all adds to the futility Spritz feels, the loss of control the cold, grey, life he lives and the constant ticking of time, also not on his side.

In summary, I found this film beautiful in it's sparse nature, it captures the struggle life can be and the façade we all have to put on whilst dealing with difficult elements in our lives. It does so with humour, pathos, and excellent character portrayals. It's well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the most underrated films i can think of, 3 July 2012
By 
This review is from: The Weather Man [DVD] (DVD)
I missed this film when it first came out, and, due to it not being particularly well reviewed, was in no rush to see it. I have only got around to it due to having watched "The Family Man" a while ago, and remembering how much I love watching Nicolas Cage in stuff, and so added a load more to my lovefilm list. And he doesn't disappoint again. In fact, I think this is one of his greatest performances.

The acting is superb throughout this film, with the one bad spot being Michael Caine's appalling effort at an American accent. It's such a small attempt, he gives up trying sometimes, and when he does do it, it makes you cringe. Other than that though, his performance is excellent, as Cage's disappointed father. He's disappointed with David Spritz (Cage), as is everybody else, most of all Spritz himself. He does 2 hours of work a day, and picks up a couple of hundred thousand dollars a year for it. He's a weather man, but he's not even a meteorologist. He hates that there is a high degree of variance, which means the predictions he makes can't even be relied upon. So if his predictions are unreliable, and that's all he does, then what use is he?

His conclusions about himself aren't happy ones, unfortunately, but what he thinks of himself is probably still nicer than what his ex-wife, played by Hope Davis, thinks of him. They have two kids, a fat unhappy daughter and a son who has had drug problems, and is assigned a counsellor, but has the bad luck to get a dodgy pervy one who wants to take photos of him topless.

Spritz gets a shot at getting one of the top weather jobs, on daytime US network television, which would mean relocating. He harbours dreams of reuniting his family and starting again elsewhere, an idea not wholly embraced by his ex who plans to marry someone else. It's this common feeling of "if only" that this film demonstrates so well. If only he could get this better job, then maybe everything else will fall into place. I'm very familiar with that feeling, and even if we know it can't possibly fix everything, or maybe even anything, the magic fix is a delusion we're often happy to entertain, as the alternative involves lots of hard work, and possibly unending unhappiness.

Another issue Spritz is wrestling with is the gradual wasting away of his potential. Sure, he's doing well, but you can only take one path in life, even if it's a meandering one. When it's all potential, the possibilities are endless. When you actually go through life, no matter which choice you make, you automatically discard all other choices. The possibilities are whittled down to one, even if you choose right. And nobody can choose right all the time. Eventually, all the possible you's are whittled down to just one you. And that's all you're left with. You.

It's a messy film, with no obvious plot lines, and mixing humour and sadness to the point you can jump from one straight into the other. Messy, then, kind of like life. I confess to laughing and crying (yes, how sad is that. And I'm not prone to crying at films, it's probably happened about three or four times ever, but Cage and Caine, sitting in a car with a song by Bob Segar playing in the background, made it happen) in this film, although there's no doubt it's more drama than comedy. Billed as a comedy, this was a crazy idea by the production company. Talk about false advertising. You want a comedy, you would hate this, as lots of people seem to have done. It's the same as About Shmidt, one of the most depressing films I've ever seen. However, if you want a film about the human condition, and what it means to find happiness in the world, and maintain relationships with your family, filled with terrific dialogue, fantastic performances, sparkling direction, tears, laughter, and the sense that anything could happen, then it's worth a go. You can continually think you know how a scene is going to pan out, and you will be continually wrong.

Steve Conrad's intelligent script is a joy - there's a love of language, a love of the unexpected, and a love of life. I try and write screenplays, and this is one I'd love to have written. Maybe I feel I loved this film so much because I didn't have much in the way of expectation, but this is one of the best films I've seen for a long time. I can't believe the negative ratings it gets. In a time of boring films by numbers that Hollywood puts out, in between reboots and remakes and sequels and prequels, this is something special, and I'm gutted it doesn't get more respect for that. This is a courageous and sparkling piece of filmmaking, that I already want to watch again. A film that can create tears of laughter and tears of sadness, sometimes only moments apart, is an excellent film indeed. Possibly even a great one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars for adults only, like a rock, 11 April 2013
By 
Carlos Vazquez Quintana "cvq" (Linares- Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film has too much divided opinions, and the mine is "Weather Man" is a good movie with one exceptional sequence represented by the exceptional Michael Caine.
I think this is by nothing a comedy, but mostly a drama. But to appreciate this, the key is a phrase Michael Caine, much better than the protagonist Nicholas Cage, says one or twice: "You know, difficult things are a matter for adults".
Yes, this a movie for adults, but today's cinema isn't for adults, but for teenagers, and teenagers haven't lived life.
Nicholas Cage, the protagonist is a well paid speaker in Chicago TV about the weather. He's that "Weather Man" all TV stations have all around the World. He's not taken very seriously, but a frequent objective for jokes. In fact he knows he's only a decorative figure, not a real meteorologist.
This is the drama of this Weather Man, as furthermore, he has failed in his marriage, he's divorced and has a daughter mostly stupid, born in a material comfortable home, but unable for interesting or effort in nothing, in this case, sport archery. She only wants to kill animals, as she surely hasn't seen any real hunting piece.
But another time, is the father of the weather man which remember us what life is really. Michael Caine plays superbly an old Pulitzer Prize yet forgotten and has got a terminal cancer. Modern society rejects intellectuals, for that this movie has passed mostly unknown. Caine knows there's no much time for him to die, but, then , before the end, this film has a colossal sequence that for me justifies all the film, and is the conversation into the car between fateher (Caine) and the weather man, Cage, with the musical bottom of rocker Bob Seger: "Like a Rock". If you aren't moved for this scene, you are surely more dead than Caine, the father which was, and still is, like a rock in work and in life something the Weather Man is unable to be. Not a round film at all, but very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melancholy; Thy name is 'Weather Man'., 24 July 2010
This review is from: The Weather Man [DVD] (DVD)
'The Weatherman' makes for a very 'comfortable' watch. I use 'comfortable' because of its coherence. First of all, Nicolas Cage was briliiantly cast for his role as Weather Wimp. Furthermore, the events depicted in the film blended together logically and seemlessly. Throughout the picture a sort of affluent consistency prevailed. Up to the smallest detail, everything had been worked out perfectly. Simple plot; David Spritz, prime example of Mr. Nice Guy who lets the whole world trample over him, tries to rearrange his life by meticiously avoiding stepping up for himself. Apart from the occasional fall out with ex wife and soon to marry new love of her life, David sports a stiff upper lip, sometimes accompanied by an apologistic smile, when life throws him another setback. This includes a whole range of fast food items, which are chucked at him from passing vehicles. David takes it all in his stride and keeps on trying to mend his marriage, support his children who live at mum's, support his dad who is terminally ill, write a book and land a job as weatherman with one of the national networks. In spite of all the opposition he encounters, David keeps on going with one step forward and two steps back. The combination of a well thought through plot, spellbinding acting and great score made me feel very melancholic. I presume this was the very emotion director Gore Verbinski tried to convey. He succeeded admirably. Another perk in this production is the appearance of Michael Caine. Listening to British actors having to speak with an American accent is not often a pleasurable experience. Michael Caine proved to be an exception to the rule. Just goes to show what a great actor he is. Don't mistake 'The Weatherman' for a comedy. It isn't. It's drama alright. It has its funny moments, but then again, they may occur in any movie. It's a sad story, rather. Not one to get your hankies out over, but one to provoke your thoughts, feel deeply sorry for and sympathise with the main character and wonder why nice people often get misunderstood and mocked by society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtle & brilliant, 1 July 2010
This review is from: The Weather Man [DVD] (DVD)
This film is one of my favourite films of all time, quite simply it is a subtle masterpiece.
If you didnt like it the first time watch it again, but dont focus on it being a rip roaring comedy, its a comedy drama!
Everyone should in some way be able to connect with the character, if you cant your not human.
simply Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Almost Excellent Movie, 25 Mar 2014
By 
Richard Cunningham (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a quasi arthouse film with famous actors. Alone worth watching for Michael Caine's performance. The lack of a major climatic moment is in itself part of the story. Chicago in winter: satire, anti-utopia, inverted worlds, cold and indifferent? Is Dave a Zen Archer/ Hawkeye from Last of the Mohicans/ Robin Hood?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mainly sunny outlook with occasional dull spells, 6 Nov 2006
This review is from: The Weather Man [DVD] (DVD)
Weatherman is a strange and ultimatley very enjoyable film. Nicholas Cage is excellent as Chicago's top weatherman, Dave Spritz, whose private life is steadily crumbling before his eyes. We follow as he aims to get the stint at New York's Hello America while battling the turmoil of his private life. This is a slowpaced and understated movie but it doesn't suffer from that. In fact, the film develops into a melodic and witty look at a normal guy trying to keep things together whilst fate conspires against him everywhere he goes.

The relationship he has with his almost-adolescent daughter is wryly observed and offers some genuinely touching and funny moments. Michael Caine keeps up his prodigious workrate as Cage's intelluctually brilliant father. His accent is unplaceable but his performance is fine. Overall this is an intelligent slowburning gem. The film provoked a very strong response from the critics. Why? Maybe they read the premise and expected some knockabout Anchorman type flick. That it most certainly is not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 July 2006
By 
Brogan (Huddersfield, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Weather Man [DVD] (DVD)
This is not a comedy! Just wanted to clear that up. The Weather Man was stupidly marketed as a comedy, when really it's a dark and sometimes depressing character study. It's story and tone is similar to American Beauty, albeit this is much darker and actually manages to paint a bleaker image of Nicholas Cage's character than of Lester Burnham. The acting is mostly good, but the greatest feature of the film is the cinematography; starting with the memorable opening shot of the ice covered lake, the cinematography never faulters and helps greatly in symbolizing Dave Spritz' loneliness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film, but not a comedy, 18 Dec 2006
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Weather Man [DVD] (DVD)
This film was not at all what I expected.

I watched "The Weatherman" for two reasons. First, I thought any film starring Michael Caine and Nicholas Cage was bound to have some good acting, and the trailer strongly reinforced that impression. Second, the trailer also made me think it was a gentle comedy.

The first assumption was absolutely right. The second was way out. There are quite a few moments in it which would be funny in isolation, and were funny in the trailer, but in the context of the central character's life I couldn't laugh at them.

The film is about Dave Spritz (Nicholas Cage), a weatherman who is the son of a pulitzer prize-winning journalist (Michael Caine) and the divorced father of two teenage children. During the course of the story, he has to come to terms with the death of someone very close to him, the challenges of being a parent, and the aftereffects of divorce.

Meanwhile, a steady thread through the story is Dave's bid for a much more prestigious job, while he is regularly brought down to earth with a bump, or distracted from his family duties, when some cretin in the street who didn't like one of his weather forecasts throws fast food at him.

In isolation, this may make you laugh. But if you identify with the central character, which Cage's excellent portrayal makes it easy to do, it is no longer funny if someone throws a drink at you and gets a mess all over your coat while you're on the way to collect someone you love from hospital where they are having tests to see whether their cancer is terminal.

Michael Caine's character, Robert Spritzel, is a very wise man, who gets some of the best lines in the film, and Caine delivers them superbly. Cage and the supporting cast also act very well indeed. It is a moving film, and a very well made film. But one thing it is not is funny.

The only point where I laughed at the trailer, and still laughed in the film, is the vignette which shows Dave walking to work with a five foot longbow and arrows on his shoulder, and you hear his voice saying "people don't throw things at me anymore - maybe because I carry a bow around."

If you want to watch the kind of film which illustrates one of Caine's great lines in the film - "Easy doesn't enter into grown-up life" - go ahead and watch this, and you won't be disappointed. If you are looking for a film to make you laugh, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great outlook for The Weather Man, 4 July 2006
This review is from: The Weather Man [DVD] (DVD)
Wasn't sure what I'd make of a film about, of all uninteresting subjects, a weather man. How wrong I was. It's a great film and Nicolas Cage turns in a stunning yet underrated performance. With Michael Caine being, well, Michael Caine, and Nicholas Hoult turning into a bit of a hunk, I laughed, I cried, I was thoroughly entertained throughout. Go watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Weather Man [DVD]
The Weather Man [DVD] by Gore Verbinski (DVD - 2006)
£2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews