Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cohen Film Collection Thief of Bagdad 1924 Blu-Ray Edition
Just wanted to write a quick review about this wonderful film to all those silent film fans out there who may be wondering if this Cohen Film Collection Blu Ray version will play on UK players. I can confirm that it is REGION FREE!!! It will play on a UK Blu Ray player, and with the addition of music by Carl Davis, conducting The Philharmonia Orchestra, the score is a...
Published 18 months ago by J. A. Bradford

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok but...
...get the version which uses Rimsky Korsakov's Scherezade. Trust me on this and then it will be a beautiful, surreal experience
Published 3 months ago by Craigmeister


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cohen Film Collection Thief of Bagdad 1924 Blu-Ray Edition, 23 Mar 2013
By 
J. A. Bradford "JAB review" (Sussex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just wanted to write a quick review about this wonderful film to all those silent film fans out there who may be wondering if this Cohen Film Collection Blu Ray version will play on UK players. I can confirm that it is REGION FREE!!! It will play on a UK Blu Ray player, and with the addition of music by Carl Davis, conducting The Philharmonia Orchestra, the score is a real joy! I found the transfer quality of the picture, (which is a 2k restoration) really quite impressive, the grain of the 1924 print being more evident than the fine grain stock available in later decades, but not diminishing the viewer experience at all! True to form, the coloured tints to indicate night scenes or day, flaming caverns of red etc. are all present! and the William Cameron Menzies Art Deco sets look truly entrancing! As to the FPS rate, I can only say that the movement appears natural and not over fast, producing a very contemporary feel to the scenes in this regard, with just the occasional light fluctuation now and again, which is entirely consistant with the 'look' of a silent film. Great purchase! Great Price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE THIEF OF BAGDAD, 6 Sep 2013
By 
jimmy budgie "P.D.P." (SOUTHEND ,ESSEX ,ENG) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thief Of Bagdad [DVD] (DVD)
I only bought this film simply to look back to the past, of when my father used to tell me that the good films were made , and as a kid I would giggle to my self saying he dose not know what he is talking about , until I grew up and am going through the same with kids ,
one has to put oneself back in time as to when these films were made , with nothing technical as to that of today, when actors really had to act when cameras were on the actor for minuets not seconds , so if you watch this film with all this in mind especially with the great Douglas Fairbanks, it was a master film for its time. I was shocked at some of the technical affects , I did not even think they had invented in those days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok but..., 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...get the version which uses Rimsky Korsakov's Scherezade. Trust me on this and then it will be a beautiful, surreal experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Punishment Park, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't quiet comprehend the thought ,why it took so long for me to discover this masterpiece of a movie.Its absolutely amazing and spot on how things look like around us.Definitely a keeper!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly good for a 87year old movie, 8 Nov 2011
I think this is a must have! While I am always skeptical of the quality of early movies, this one despite being a silent movie tops my personal chart of classic movies. It is so amazing to watch how they nearly 90 years ago constructed the screenplay build the stage settings and how they filmed it all. Including all these special effects. The underwater scene is one of numerous awesome highlights. A true gem which will never get old. Sadly the print is not fully complete and later film reels are visibly in poor condition. Nevertheless its still a beauty to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What on earth are the other reviews about?, 21 April 2011
By 
The 1924 "Thief of Bagdad" is hugely better than the 1940 Korda version, but more to the point - what is going on with the reviews on this page? They appear to be about an (unnamed) piece of American social realism from 1969, and some (also unnamed) book. Sort it out Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 21st Century Blues...from 1969, 20 Mar 2010
It is said that the cost of freedom is eternal vigilance, start by watching this film.

Peter Watkins directs this pseudo-documentary with an earnestness of style and a lack of presumption that still refreshes even in 2010. In fact, his gritty and authentic attention to detail is especially pleasing in the here and now. The basic premise has since been copied so many times as to render it almost a cliche, but the toughness and honesty that the direction brings to the script (assuming there was one) allows for instant, disconcerting familiarity without hastening predictability. You know nobody is going to survive, but because of the urgent camera and solid acting by non-actors you really want them to. You identify with those that chose to commute their sentence.

The characters are beaten, insulted and dehumanized in almost every way, and the sanctimonious sermonizing of the moral majority sentencing them is sadly all too believable. We watch a world where members of various movements, (e.g socialist, black power, feminist, Chicano) are subjected to dubious 'hearings' and admonished for their (equally dubious) 'crimes' they are then offered either a) an unfeasibly long prison sentence or b) four days in Punishment Park. Unsurprisingly, each chooses the park. The scene in 'One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest' where McMurphy states that Nurse Ratched enjoys "a rigged game" came to kind as soon as the scene was done and each actor shuffled out of the room towards a certain death sentence. Later films, such as 'Battle Royale' can also trace their origins back to this film, gravid with social commentary and shot with an uncomfortable frankness that makes the scenario feel compellingly real.

Here in the UK in 2010, with the advent of ID cards, lying politicians and the encroaching specter of far-right fascism embodied by certain fringe parties, the message of this film has never been more poignant, like 'Nineteen Eighty Four' or 'V for Vendetta' it is a veritable 'message in a bottle' warning us all what happens if we stop fighting. America, with the shadows of The Washington consensus, The Bush doctrine, an illegal invasion and the patriot act casting long over the white house, never seemed the more perfect setting.

The film has never been more believable or more powerful. Watch if you are looking for an amazing slice of social commentary, which, in the traditions of Shakespeare or Dostoevsky, remains as true today as when it was made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie for kindy children, 12 Feb 2010
By 
Z. Hanzlik (Toko NZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I put this Movie to children age 4-5 , and even when it was long and made them tired ,and I cut it they remembered and asked to see it again. Compared with Sesame street, Tom and Jerry , Aladin or other continuous programs this is quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as in my childhood memories, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thief Of Bagdad [DVD] (DVD)
And probably not a movie today's children would enjoy watching. Still, Douglas Fairbanks is good looking, almost as much as Valentino!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly accurate, even now ?, 14 Dec 2010
This film paints a dark, xenophobic, bigotted America still scared of the 'Reds under the bed' and using totalitarian measures to oppress what they can't understand or accept.

Now, I am not for one moment suggesting that it is a social statement on todays America, BUT, if you watch this from start to finish, I defy you not to feel your heckles raise and your mind start to wonder if this could be still the deep founded belief

Whether watched for the gritty movie experience, or as a social judgement, this is a great piece of little-known cinema magic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Thief Of Bagdad [DVD]
The Thief Of Bagdad [DVD] by Douglas Fairbanks (DVD - 2006)
£0.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews