Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transcendent
What's rarely appreciated about this album is that it was actually the warm up set to an Aretha Franklin show. The resultant set was also released, and Aretha Live at Fillmore West is easily one of her best albums, as well as another insight into just how competent King Curtis's band was - check out the impromptu Ray Charles jam for instance. I first heard King Curtis on...
Published on 22 Nov 2001 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BOOTLEG BOOTLEG BOOTLEG
The music is fine and it plays on both my home and car stereo.

BUT...........It isn't what I requested, it is a bootleg of what I requested. I am not arsed about whether the artist receives the money etc etc BUT when I come to sell this CD I will struggle to sell it and get negative votes as it is a bootleg.

The linear notes and booklet are...
Published 9 months ago by Deano


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transcendent, 22 Nov 2001
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
What's rarely appreciated about this album is that it was actually the warm up set to an Aretha Franklin show. The resultant set was also released, and Aretha Live at Fillmore West is easily one of her best albums, as well as another insight into just how competent King Curtis's band was - check out the impromptu Ray Charles jam for instance. I first heard King Curtis on the classic film Withnail and I - their version of Whiter Shade of Pale accompanies - and somehow perfectly conveys the brittle intensity of - the opening scene. I ummed and ahhed over whether to get the whole soundtrack or this album. Am really glad I risked it, because over 3/4 of it is just as good. I tend to skip the faster tracks (Whole Lotta Love, Changes and Signed Sealed & Delivered) just because the rest keep a very consistent mood - slow, mellow and intense. A real treat of an album that I can't recommend highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting reminder of a great R&B saxman and band leader, 26 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This album was released in the US during the same week that King Curtis was senselessly murdered. Curtis was in his prime and undoubtedly still had much to offer the world of popular music. The release of this album in cd format is long overdue and all the more welcome for it. The album kicks off with a sensational version of the leader's own Memphis Soul Stew. The various members of the band each take a turn in the spotlight and right from the moment that Jerry Jemmott sets up the bass line, followed by Bernard Purdie's explosive drum break, you know that this band is something special. With stars like Cornell "Rainy Night in Georgia" Dupree, Billy Preston and the Memphis Horns also in the line up, it is no wonder that King Curtis himself turned in one of his finest performances. Their version of Procol Harum's "Whiter shade of pale", featuring King on soprano sax, is something else. It climaxes beautifully,driven by surging drums and bass and restrained support from the Memphis Horns. The first two tracks are so good that it comes as no surprise that the next two tracks -Led Zeppelin's "Whole lotta Love" and Jerry Butler's "I stand accused" do not scale the same heights. But the boys are back on top form with Buddy Miles's "Changes". King turns in an efficient performance but it is Dupree's stinging guitar work that really makes an impact. Things quieten down thereafter with a funky version of Bobbie Gentry's "Ode to Billy Joe" and a delicate but well judged perfromance on Jerry Jeff Walker's tribute to the legendary tap dancer Bill "Bojangles" Robinson. The final two tracks take the breath away. Stevie Wonder's "Signed sealed delivered, I'm yours" is taken at breakneck speed with everyone, especially the Memphis Horns, blowing at full volume. Incredibly, King manages to stay on top of things without his tone becoming in any way coarse or harsh. As someone memorably once said of him, King Curtis swings but he never blares. The album closes with a version of King's own "Soul Serenade" that is far superior to the original studio version. And this is one of the best things about this album - the instrumental versions stand up in their own right without making you want to turn to the originals. There are stars aplenty on this album, most notably Pretty Purdie on drums. But King Curtis is always the focal point. His mastery of this type of music on that night in San Francisco all those years ago, serve as an enduring reminder of his brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transcendent, 16 Sep 2009
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live At Fillmore West (Audio CD)
What's rarely appreciated about this album is that it was actually the warm up set to an Aretha Franklin show. The resultant set was also released, and Aretha Live at Fillmore West is easily one of her best albums, as well as another insight into just how competent King Curtis's band was - check out the impromptu Ray Charles jam for instance. I first heard King Curtis on the classic film Withnail and I - their version of Whiter Shade of Pale accompanies - and somehow perfectly conveys the brittle intensity of - the opening scene. I ummed and ahhed over whether to get the whole soundtrack or this album. Am really glad I risked it, because over 3/4 of it is just as good. I tend to skip the faster tracks (Whole Lotta Love, Changes and Signed Sealed & Delivered) just because the rest keep a very consistent mood - slow, mellow and intense. A real treat of an album that I can't recommend highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smoking Band, Smoking Performance, Funky!!!!!, 9 Feb 2010
This review is from: Live At Fillmore West (Audio CD)
Must must must have album!!!!!!!!!

Can't believe i didn't hear about it before!

Opening (9 min) track is a roll call style intro to the greatest musicians of the day.

If you like it funky, you will love this.

Sax playing is fab of course, but the biggest impression is of the amazing band / overall performance.

Desert Island Disc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marwood 19th nervous breakdown, 28 Jan 2008
By 
Arthur Dooley (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Fillmore West (Audio CD)
Most people these days will come to this album through the classic opening sequence of cult movie 'Withnail & I' where the eponymous 'I', Marwood played by Paul McGann, draws heavily on a cigarette as he stares into space through red eyes. King Curtis magnum opus 'A whiter shade of pale' plays over the opening credits and you feel the track was created for this moment.
This legendary album recorded in San Fransisco's Fillmore West in 1969 was Kc's last album before his unfortunate demise.
With a tight backing band which includes honorary Beatle, Billy Preston on keyboards,then at the height of his fame...think 'Get Back' in 69..the band rocks and the vibe is not unlike that created by The Blues Brothers.
Playing KC tracks and standards such as Zep's 'Whole Lotta Love' and Stevie Wonder's 'signed sealed and delivered', the album chugs along like floored Ford Mustang !
'A whiter shade of pale' is THE standout track and if the hairs don't stand up on the back of your neck you must be dead !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars king curtis live at the filmore west., 18 Nov 2007
By 
Ms. J. A. Heathcote "brian jones" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At Fillmore West (Audio CD)
in the history of rock n roll,soul saxophone playing,king curtis is the main man.these recordings date back to the 1970s when he was signed to atlantic records.this album is part of the show that was recorded at the filmore west along with aretha franklin who topped the bill.king curtis is in fantastic form along with his band the king pins,jerry jemmott-bass,billy preston-organ,cornel dupree.guitar,bernard purdie-drums,trueman thomas-piano and the memphis horns.this is the groove album of the decade.enjoy.brian jones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Fillmore West (Audio CD)
I presume these musicians had to behave themselves when they were backing Aretha for the second half of these Filmore West concerts, so this half is them messing around. They do it gloriously. A Whiter shade of Pale comes from the Withnail soundtrack, and is the best, but the Top of the Pops theme is also good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BOOTLEG BOOTLEG BOOTLEG, 17 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The music is fine and it plays on both my home and car stereo.

BUT...........It isn't what I requested, it is a bootleg of what I requested. I am not arsed about whether the artist receives the money etc etc BUT when I come to sell this CD I will struggle to sell it and get negative votes as it is a bootleg.

The linear notes and booklet are unreadable too.

Poor show. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At Fillmore West
Live At Fillmore West by King Curtis (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews