Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most incredible live albums
This is easily one of the finest live albums ever recorded. Aretha is on superb form, taking the crowd from the impossibly fast and energetic Respect, through a bit of Crosby, Stills and Nash to an unforgettable duet with Ray Charles (who Aretha picked out the crowd to join her on stage).
The backing band reads like a who's who of music - Billy Preston on organ, King...
Published on 11 April 2003

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit dissapointed
this is aretha but it is a live album of lesser known songs and very bluesy - non of the classics apart from elenor rigby and are you gettin the spirit but only for die hard aretha fans - not easy listening so only playable for your self - ie; not background music.
Published on 30 Nov 2011 by plumplum


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most incredible live albums, 11 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Live At Fillmore West (Audio CD)
This is easily one of the finest live albums ever recorded. Aretha is on superb form, taking the crowd from the impossibly fast and energetic Respect, through a bit of Crosby, Stills and Nash to an unforgettable duet with Ray Charles (who Aretha picked out the crowd to join her on stage).
The backing band reads like a who's who of music - Billy Preston on organ, King Curtis on Saxophone, Cornell Dupree on guitar to name just three. Add to that a brass section the size of Texas and you have something truly amazing.
Even more amazingly, if leading Aretha's backing band wasn't enough, King Curtis and his crowd supported the main event and an equally fine live album came out with King Curtis' name on it.
Listen to it and love it - they don't play shows like this anymore!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best live soul album ever??, 27 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Live At Fillmore West (Audio CD)
A live recording of arguably the finest soul singer who ever lived, at her finest...not to be missed. Aretha's powerful voice on occasions seems to overpower the music which is a minor let down as the backing musician are all playing out of their skins as well. Just wish it was longer with a few more tracks to enjoy. Of what there is, "Love the One Your With", a fast and funky "Eleanor Rigby", and "Make it with you" stand out as the finest tracks. Aretha's interaction with an adoring crowd is also a bonus. This recording gives a true insight into the personality of Aretha Franklin, showing her warmth and humour, whilst showing she could ham it up as well as Elvis or Issak Hayes any day (helped by a booming Las Vegas size brass section).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aretha takes 'em to Church, 10 Sep 2007
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live at Fillmore West (Audio CD)
Aretha Franklin had been a major R&B voice since her first Atlantic album, and was considered a major star, after Grammy awards and TV appearances, but the 3 night booking at the Fillmore was designed to cement her "crossover appeal to Rock audiences.

Those 3 February 1971 nights in San Francisco came as Aretha was fighting back from both professional and personal low points - sales had slumped as Aretha went through a divorce from Ted White in late 1969, losing both her husband and manager as a result. They were to provide a springboard which saw Aretha fly as high as ever, with the single release of "Bridge Over Troubled Water" in April 1971, which went Gold.

Atlantic recorded all 3 nights, taking most of the original album from the first night, other than the encore from the final performance when Ray Charles joins Aretha for a duet on "Spirit In the Dark". All those tracks are here on disc one, plus the songs that didn't make the final cut and alternate versions on disc 2. In fact, there was another live album culled from these sessions for King Curtis, who was both opening act and support for Aretha. When you add in the Memphis Horns as further backing for the Queen of Soul, it is hardly surprising that she conquered the Fillmore.

The material includes classic Aretha as well as covers which, as usual, she makes her own. Highlights include "Bridge...", with the Gospel feel that Aretha injected and Dr Feelgood, which has the air of a personal confessional. Add in the covers from rock and pop, underpin it with an R&B "who's who" of musicians and top off with one of the few times Aretha and Ray Charles recorded together and this is a truly unique record of a woman at the height of her powers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Longer and Better, 28 Jun 2008
By 
Lozarithm (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Live at Fillmore West (Audio CD)
When a concert is released as an album, how accurate a representation of the night should it be? Quite apart from the dubious practice of adding studio overdubs to correct errors and "sweeten" vocals, there is a question of the sound balance - should it reflect the stage monitors that the performers hear, or the sound system that the audience experiences, and since most of the instruments are plugged directly into amplifiers, how important are the building's acoustics to the end result? Then there is the editing - the longeurs between songs while instruments are retuned and technicalities sorted out, the banter and chat between performers and audience - should they be left in? What songs should be excised and should any be shortened?

These questions (and I don't have the answers, by the way) were raised by this reissue of Live At Fillmore West, my third copy of the album, each one a substantial revision of the previous release. Aretha played three nights at the Fillmore and the album was compiled from two of the nights, so it never claimed to be from a single concert, and there is no suggestion of nefarious overdubbing. What fascinates me is how each release adds further clues as to what went down on those nights.

The original album was on vinyl, with all the time constraints inherent in the format. It clocked in at 42:43. Several of the songs were edited and there was little chat between the songs. Dr Feelgood, which ran for seven minutes on its CD debut, was edited to 3:23. The CD ran to 48:12 with most of the rest of the extra time coming from between the songs.

For this CD, Rhino have gone back to the unedited tapes of all three nights, as used on the box set Aretha Franklin and King Curtis Live At Fillmore West: Don't Fight The Feeling, and used the same performances to recreate the original track list. A note inside says, "Both performances of Spirit In The Dark were edited on the original album release but appear on this release unedited." This means that performances that previously ran to 13:44 on CD now extend to 26:26, with the whole disc now lasting 67:54. Both came from the final night and include an impromptu performance from Ray Charles, plucked from the audience, and are thus especially valuable to hear as originally performed.

I was surprised to discover that many of the other selections were also now longer, the same performance of Dr Feelgood now being 8:58, and there were stage announcements I'd never heard before, which to my mind added to the sense of the event, as Aretha interacted with the appreciative Fillmore crowd, making it more of an occasion. I did notice that the mikes of the band and singers were left open between songs more on this mix, allowing extraneous noise such as coughing and rattling, which may be a more honest representation but which I found mildly intrusive.

The recording dates given here of 5-7 March 1971 differ by a month from those given on earlier releases, and in all the discographies I could check, but are correct, as I was able to confirm from a reproduction of the original psychedelic poster for the event. According to the notes, nearly all of the recordings come from the final night, with Love The One You're With and Dr Feelgood from the second night. However, one very good reason for choosing this particular revamp is the second disc of Alternates And Unused Songs.

This includes seven songs from the opening night, including a Jimmy Webb song, Mixed-Up Girl, not represented on the album. Other unused songs include her own classic Call Me, Bobby Blue Bland's Share Your Love With Me and her current single, a revival of You're All I Need To Get By. The rest of the disc offers alternative performances from other nights to those on the album, with some enjoyable variations and banter, cherry-picked from the box-set which considerations such as keeping a roof over our heads may discourage us from acquiring.

My focus in this review is on this two-CD edition of a very well-known album, originally released in 1971. Therefore I have little to add to the mileage of editorial coverage it has already received. I would say that the perspective of time has been less kind to the material chosen to pander to the Fillmore audience. The lyrically preposterous Love The One You're With and the MOR excesses of Make It With You suffer far more than her fabulous gospel-infused interpretation of Bridge Over Troubled Water, but it is on home-grown material like Don't Play That Song, Dr Feelgood and Spirit In The Dark that Aretha's true brilliance shines. Her new band, featuring King Curtis, the Memphis Horns, Billy Preston, Bernard Purdie, Cornell Dupree and an all-star cast, really make a difference, too. One of the great live albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live at Fillmore West, 7 Feb 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at Fillmore West (Audio CD)
'Live at Filmore West' is an amazing double album showcasing Aretha's awesome live talent. The first disc is the original album in remastered format and the second disc has alternate takes and unused songs from the concerts. The choice of songs are perfect, 'Love The One You're With' is especially note-worthy, and Ray Charles duets with Aretha on 'Spirit In The Dark (Reprise)' which reaches almost gospel revival proportions. The audience atmosphere can clearly be heard and adds to the overall ambiance and feel of the album. When Aretha speaks with the audience it reminds me of Jill Scott today when she talks with real soul to her audiences (I highly recommend her albums by the way). The level of soul and emotion from both artists is staggering. This is an outstanding live album and is well worth a listen whether you're a fan of Aretha or not.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at Fillmore West (Audio CD)
Fantastic CD with great versions of songs played live with the added bonus of having Ray Charles joining in on the piano!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Queen of soul, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at Fillmore West (Audio CD)
the Queen of soul wows the filmore rockers. Brilliant set backed by a brilliant band led by the late King Curtis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aretha Live at Fillmore West, 4 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Live At Fillmore West (Audio CD)
Great performance by a legendary singer - raised the standard for all those who followed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album reflecting the brilliance of Aretha!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No other words than "ARETHA!", 1 July 2010
By 
J. Thomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live at Fillmore West (Audio CD)
Recently recieved this amazing live recording. One thing I love is a live album or performance especially if its from a TRUE SINGER, Aretha is that a so much more and she proves it on this album! The album is two discs. Disc 1 is the original album from 1971, and Disc 2 is alternate versions of most of the songs on the orginal album, as well as other songs Aretha sang across the the three days at Fillmore West. The alubum is a GEM, Aretha singing LIVE truly brings me straight to the concert like if I was there back in '71. She knows how to give a performance! For me personally, I love Disc 2 more, because it has the additional songs and alternate versions. My favs on the album have to be DR FEELGOOD, BRIDGE OVER TROUBLED WATER, MAKE IT WITH YOU & THE SHOW STOPPER & ENDER, SPIRIT IN THE DARK! The performances on the entire album are AMAZING as well as the inside booklet & cover, I loved the info & pictures. If you didn't know, this album will show you WHY ARETHA FRANKLIN IS THE QUEEN OF SOUL, OR JUST simply 'THE QUEEN!!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live at Fillmore West
Live at Fillmore West by Aretha Franklin (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews