Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars surfsoulfunkadelia
If like me you've been lucky enough to see Donavon's band live then you've probably been eagerly anticipating this release, and you won't be disappointed. Even as an introduction to the man's music if you're not familiar with his debut, this album serves to showcase his (and his band's) stunning ability to ride a groove like he does a wave. And what grooves; every tune's...
Published on 6 Jun. 2006 by pabs

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Good chill out music
Published 6 months ago by hopey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars surfsoulfunkadelia, 6 Jun. 2006
By 
pabs (london, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Move By Yourself (Audio CD)
If like me you've been lucky enough to see Donavon's band live then you've probably been eagerly anticipating this release, and you won't be disappointed. Even as an introduction to the man's music if you're not familiar with his debut, this album serves to showcase his (and his band's) stunning ability to ride a groove like he does a wave. And what grooves; every tune's alive, and the Stevie Wonder-esque organ really barrels them along (the title track sounds very fresh for this and is bound to be massive). That Jack-Johnson-meets-Hendrix-and-Clapton-on-acid guitar work that makes your jaw drop when you first see Donavon live is very evident here (as opposed to the more minimal approach of his debut), but not once is a tune sacrificed for indulgence. Better still, the dude plays with more soul than I've heard in a long while and gets more out of a sustained note than most can with a furious lick (and he's not short on those either). 'Fool' is an absolutely awesome tune for this very reason, and one that could easily have been overdone by a lesser bunch of musicians. Donavon's a real bluesman, he's assembled a real soul-rock band (check out the backing female soul vocals throughout, and the strings on 'The Way It Is' really stand out as something different on a rock album), he's reinventing soulful sun-drenched 70s funk-rock and he's penned a couple of the soundtracks to your summer on the beach. If I had one criticism it'd be that initially I felt some the vocals re-covered similar ground too often, but the last two tracks are absolute belters in this respect and I think that if I gave it 4 stars now I'd have to re-review later to 5 as the album's also got definite 'grower' potential. If you like your music funky, uplifting, infectious yet still original, check out this album. Oh, and if you want a poignantly beautiful acoustic tune, 'Beautiful Day' is a right tear-jerker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars impressive, 14 Jun. 2006
By 
This review is from: Move By Yourself (Audio CD)
A very very good album, and in my opinion, better than his debut, which takes some beating. Full of funky, laid-back tunes, it really is ideal as a soundtrack for the summer. I even think im starting to prefer him to jack johnson. I highly recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funky, soulful and personal, 18 April 2009
By 
J. Forrow "jonah_fro" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Move By Yourself (Audio CD)
Lot's of people tend to class Donavon Frankenreiter as a poor man's Jack Johnson. Sure, he's a pro surfer, a singer/songwriter and used to work with JJ, but there's a very different feel to Donavon's music.

Some of the tracks on this album are downright funky. The title track "Move by Yourself" is an upbeat groove that will have you dancing 'round the kitchen. While other tracks are very personal dedications of love.

This album (like his others) is equally suited to a quiet night with someone special, or driving on a summer's day. His songs have a positive outlook and never fail to chill me out, no matter what the day has done to me.

So don't approach this guy as a Jack Johnson clone; he's got much more to offer, just take some time out to listen to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 8 Feb. 2008
By 
H. Robertson "King Hen" (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Move By Yourself (Audio CD)
This is an amazing follow up to his self titled first album which is great. This, for me, is even better. The album is full of happy Summer tunes. If you aren't sure about this album just buy it and I guarantee you'll love it. Once again, and I know it's always said but, if you like Jack Johnson, you'll love this. This is a really really good album! Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Move By Yourself (Audio CD)
fantastic summer ,laid-back sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Move By Yourself (Audio CD)
Great cd and like new
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 21 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Move By Yourself (Audio CD)
Good chill out music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Move By Yourself
Move By Yourself by Donavon Frankenreiter (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews