Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top class
after much searching and reviewing i took the plunge and went for the icn530,and mighty glad i am as well.this is a top notch sat nav system,worked straight out of the box and although it comes with extensive instructions,i was able to fiddle around and set it up without any problems.it is easy to set up a route and the map is displayed with clear instructions,voice...
Published on 2 Sep 2006 by Steve O Shea

versus
50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best GPS I have used, and yet...so near, but so far!
Overall, this is a fabulous little unit, and I have no doubt that in the four weeks I have owned it, it has justified the outlay.

On the whole, the unit is intuitive in its operation. Its ability to "see" satellites is phenomenal - as another reviewer has said, it operates even inside the house sometimes. The back-on-track re-routing function is incredibly fast...
Published on 5 Oct 2006 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top class, 2 Sep 2006
This review is from: Navman iCN530 GPS Navigation System With UK Mapping (Electronics)
after much searching and reviewing i took the plunge and went for the icn530,and mighty glad i am as well.this is a top notch sat nav system,worked straight out of the box and although it comes with extensive instructions,i was able to fiddle around and set it up without any problems.it is easy to set up a route and the map is displayed with clear instructions,voice instructions could do with being a bit louder but they,re clear enough.mapping is easy and points of interest come in very handy.it also has street level european mapping which comes on a supplied cd which down loaded onto a 512mb sd card in minutes and proved very handy and accurate on a recent trip to the backwaters of france,very impressive feature.you are able to set up preferences as to how you would like a journey ie quickest or shortest way,more or less motorway journeys and more country or more urban roads,several times i was taken down roads more akin to tracks but i always ended up where i wanted to be.back on track has also been tried out several times and has yet to fail me.i have no gripes whatsoever no wrong turns or missed turns so far and a nifty little device which comes in an attractive carry wallet with touch screen controlling which is well worth splashing out for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All in all a very good product, 20 July 2006
By 
Ozturk Aker (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Navman iCN530 GPS Navigation System With UK Mapping (Electronics)
Really impressed with this little unit! I'm into in-car GPSs since the early days and been using various systems over the years. ICN 530 has all the features and capabilities you could ask from a compact/handheld GPS system, and even more.

Most impressive and outstanding features are:

Very sensitive GPS receiver and response (it can even pick up signals inside the house!).

Very quick re-routing (Back-on-track feature).

Clear, bright, high resolution screen.

Routing can be configured very precisely with many alternative routes. i.e. you can set to:

Quickest - - - - Shortest.

Motorways more often - - - - less often.

Urban road more often - - - - less often.

Also, the routing can be fine tuned even further with 'Avoid area' and 'Multi-stop trip' features.

There is also a 'Route Simulation' feature so that you can see how long and how far, you paricular journey is going to take even before you start your journey.

Full European maps are included on CDs(don't need to purchase seperate maps!) with UK and Ireland already loaded.

Full 7 digit postcode entry.

I have been using it for about a month now, and I've found the routing itself and voice instructions very precise and clear. Screen is bright and colourfull, even in bright sunlight, as you can adjust the intensity of the brightness.

Voice intructions are loud and clear. I've used it in a Vauxhall Astra travelling fast on a motorway, and I could still hear the voice even when not set at the loudest.

To load up all the European Maps, I had to purchase a 1GB SANDISK SD card. It loaded without problems and I was able to run various route simulations across Europe to how long certain trips would take. It's slim and compact, so you can take it with you when you are out of the car.

You can install you own POIs like Speed camera POIs available on the internet.

All in all an excellent system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best GPS I have used, and yet...so near, but so far!, 5 Oct 2006
This review is from: Navman iCN530 GPS Navigation System With UK Mapping (Electronics)
Overall, this is a fabulous little unit, and I have no doubt that in the four weeks I have owned it, it has justified the outlay.

On the whole, the unit is intuitive in its operation. Its ability to "see" satellites is phenomenal - as another reviewer has said, it operates even inside the house sometimes. The back-on-track re-routing function is incredibly fast - there's none of this "perform a u-turn when possible" which TomTom will give you for 5 miles before accepting that you are going a different way. Its maps are clear. The female voice is easy to hear, even at two stops below full volume (the male voices are less clear above the engine/road noise, but the alternative option of the female voice is quite acceptable).

So it is a quite remarkable piece of kit.

And yet, its shortcomings are noteworthy, and by now almost legendary.

The ABC input keyboard is such a pain. It is doubly irritating since NAVMAN have apparently replaced a QWERTY keyboard with this non-intuitive ABC version. A QWERTY keyboard could have been included as an alternative option with little thought, instead of being replaced, if they some customers really preferred the ABC version.

The programming that seems to decide that A roads are always faster than urban roads or B roads leads to some convoluted journeys, as it sends me 4 miles round the outskirts of my home town to avoid taking what I know to be the faster route through the middle.

There is also the small matter of a slight misrepresentation in the promotion of the item. There is an implication in NAVMAN's own description of the device (see above in Amazon, or on the wall in PC World, Comet, and so on) that this module comes with european maps on CD, just ready to use, included in the price. In fact, you have to pay extra to obtain a product key to access these, and at 79 for each additional country, they are not cheap. I know I can't complain too loudly, becasue the icn 530 is so competitivley, not to say cheaply, priced to start with, and I didn't buy it for its european maps. But to be led to believe that something is included when in fact it costs extra is a little disturbing.

All in all, a fabulous unit, but let down a little by these negative points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overall very good, but with a few major shortcomings, 9 Jun 2006
By 
D. S. Adams (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Navman iCN530 GPS Navigation System With UK Mapping (Electronics)
Overall this is a very good unit. It is good value, the screen is bright and clear even in sunny conditions, the maps are good and it comes with full postcode search and European street-level maps. There is a stylus included which stows neatly in the side of the unit. There are however two things that let the unit down. Firstly when you select to have the units displayed in miles rather than kilometres as I guess most people in the UK will, the units used are feet and miles. Not yards. Yards are never used so you get instructions to turn right in 900 feet for example. Obviously the software was developed for the US and not the UK market and it is really irritating. The other problem is the screen used to tap in addresses to navigate to is in alphabetical order. There is no option for QWERTY. Navman told me that they changed this from QWERTY to alphabetical in response to customer complaints, which I simply do not believe. Other minor gripes are that the car mounting kit has a cheap and flimsy feel to it and the unit does not ship with a mains charger. The unit can be charged via the included USB cable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need a Sat Nav? Buy a Navman 530, 20 Jun 2006
By 
AnJ "Madman" (Plymouth, Devon Uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Navman iCN530 GPS Navigation System With UK Mapping (Electronics)
I have recently purchased one of these. Looking to buy a Sat Nav, I would highly recomend the Navman icn530. In my line of work I can be covering anywhere between Landsend to Bristol & everywhere in between. The unit is well desiged and easy to use. No problems with navagating to those out of the way places, beleive me I've been there. No Mans Land? Yes! it realy exists. Even if you miss a turn and keep on going it will rcalculate a new route to your destination. It has pre installed uk & Irland maps (GOOD). Plug & Play Just go for it. It has FULL 8 digit postcode, good for finding those houses with nams and no house numbers. Also comes with european maps on CD and ability for downloading pragram updates and purchase more maps. Totaly user friendly

Well Worth The Money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best value for money., 20 Aug 2006
By 
Alan (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Navman iCN530 GPS Navigation System With UK Mapping (Electronics)
I looked for awhile before buying the ICN530 which has just been released in Australia. It does everything great. The rerouting is excellent.

Gripes I have heard about the TomTom being better. This might be, I don't have one so I don't know. What I do know is that the Navman is substantially cheaper and have those that put the ICN530 down taken pricing into account?

All I can say is that the ICN530 does everything it is meant to do and does it well.

I have deducted one star as there is no a/c charger. I spoke to Navman and they said to just charge from the 12 volt socket in the car or from the computer. That's ridiculous as one of the best features of the ICN530 is its portability and if you don't have a 12 volt socket or computer handy, it cannot be charged. AND an a/c charger will not be available (at extra cost of course) in Australia for at least another month.

If not for the charger, a 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 27 Nov 2006
This review is from: Navman iCN530 GPS Navigation System With UK Mapping (Electronics)
Purchased this recently. Haven't used any other satnav device. I thought until I got this one I did not need a Satnav but have changed my mind now. It is great, although, UK map is not quite up to date. A recent trip to Bedford, I found out that roundabouts have been changed to traffic lights. I have come across this on few occassions, makes me wonder how old the maps are.

But then again it has been great in getting me home or finding an address, back on track works a treat too. Can be configured for the quickest or shortest route (or bit of both) and motorway or urban roads. I loaded speed camera info from pocket gpsworld and that works very well (albeit with few false alarms - may be mobile camera locations or cameras on the opposite direction). Europe maps loaded to high speed 1GB card and seems to work well (although recommended max is 512MB). Miss not having an AC charger, out-of-the-box charging with PC USB or in-car lighter only.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just one small niggle, 13 July 2006
By 
Paul Cowan "loki-w9" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Navman iCN530 GPS Navigation System With UK Mapping (Electronics)
Overall this is a great little unit. Good value, great screen easy to use and very compact. My only gripe is that the volume just doesn't go high enough. Maybe it's just me, or the fact that i seem to only travel on busy road's in busy area's, but sometimes I just can't hear the spoken instructions even with the volume as high as it will go. That aside though, this is a good unit, well worth the money and totally up to the task at hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars iCN530, 18 Jun 2007
By 
Stuart Dixey (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Navman iCN530 GPS Navigation System With UK Mapping (Electronics)
Bought this Navman whilst on holiday last year in France, found to be a great asset once I set up user preferrences. I returned from holiday to my home in Ireland to find the unit is useless in Ireland, very little map details only 33% coverage of country. Contacted company that makes maps and they have no plans to change this situation. Used the Navman in UK this year and found it great for finding my way around, easy to use and it does suffer from maps not being kept upto date. Would be better if map updates could be downloaded over Internet instead of having to purchase full set of CD's which are updated who knows when, could not find this out from map makers. I bought this Navman because of name, wish I had not because of it being no use in Ireland and not regularly updated, suggest you do your homework before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Map is not quite up to date., 5 Jan 2007
By 
Aaron B "AB" (Norther Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Navman iCN530 GPS Navigation System With UK Mapping (Electronics)
Good GPS device, but maps are not quite up to date.

Don't buy it if you want to use in Northen Ireland or the Republic of Ireland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Navman iCN530 GPS Navigation System With UK Mapping
Used & New from: 32.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews