Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A First Rate Bone-Tingling Horror - Don't Watch if You Own Lovebirds!
During the 1950's and 60's, the US Government carries out nuclear testing in the New Mexico desert. The radioactive fallout infects the local population, and over the coming generations, gives rise to a breed of mutated, cannibalistic psychopaths. The make up and prosthetics used on the actors to portray this group of maniac hillbillies, is very well done and stomach...
Published 11 months ago by Bill

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gore, guts and intelligence..
Most modern-day horror films are good for a bit of a scare on a Friday evening, resulting in the ocassional launch of popcorn into the air at jumpy-moments. However, this 2006 remake of the Hills Have Eyes maybe doesn't fall into that category..

The basic plot of the film is quite similar to other horror films in that it follows a family who are travelling...
Published on 23 Aug. 2010 by BookGirl808


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly brutal well realised remake, 6 Aug. 2010
Having seen both the original, and this remake which was also aided by original director Wes Craven, I'm going to court controversy by stating that this is the better film. Not because it hasn't had chance to get dated (the original is still a terrifying experience that is undimmed by its age or budget) but because it's better directed. While I'm a huge fan of Craven, Aja can simply handle the shocks and horror in a less self-conscious way. The original was trying to make a social commentary point at the same time as being horrific. While this also manages, it's more concerned with simply being a nerve-shredding, relentless horror, and I felt it achieved that better. The plot is almost identical to the original - a family take a short cut through the desert, not realising that a mutated cannibal family lurk in the hills, and when they crash they become the hunted.
It's survival horror at it's most back to basics, and it benefits hugely from the feeling that the family are totally unprepared for surviving in the desert - let alone for the horrors that lurk in the hills, watching them and waiting to strike. The cast are uniformly excellent. Ted Levine is great as the modern family patriarch, excellently assisted by a very sympathetic and likeable cast. A special mention must be made of Kathleen Quinlan, Aaron Stanford and Dan Byrd, all of whom shine in their roles. By making the family so normal, and yet still likeable, Aja ramps up the horror factor, making us wish that nothing bad would happen to them in masterful fashion. The tension is built wonderfully, following the original's template of bizarre discoveries and peculiar events, and building until a sudden horrifying flurry of violence. When it happens, the violence is so sadistic, so lengthy and so horrifying, that it's truly effective. The initial attack is a perfect exercise in sustained tension, horror and shock, and Aja keeps us up on our toes so exhaustingly well that when it finally stops, you can feel the adrenaline surge leave your body. The rest of the movie is just as well handled, with some great design decisions. The mutants are realised in a great fashion. Unable to call on the original's now ageing Michael Berryman who helped give the original such a distinctive look, the designers of this higher budget remake use makeup and effects to give us a cast of appallingly mutated freaks who look almost as distinctive, their personalities nicely drawn out of their casual and sadistically enjoyed cruelty.
The locations and photography are great, the violence and fights are perfect, and the horror is genuinely horrific. A remake that slightly improves on a legendary original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very decent remake, 7 Aug. 2012
By 
Mrs. V. F. R. Niekerk "horrorbuff" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hills Have Eyes (2006) [DVD] (DVD)
Remakes are usually much derided, but lots of times they can improve on a great idea contained in the original but could not come to full fruition due to lack of budget or more conservate times.
Two horror remakes I really liked was this, The Hills have Eyes and Zack Snyder's Dawn of the Dead.
To me, personally, the originals weren't all they were cracked up to be. I know a lot of people will disagree here, as both are seen as classics, but I found the original Hills boring and the original Dawn very very over-rated.
The thing I like most about the Hills remake is its unrelenting ferocity and its no-holds-barred assault on the viewer.
The camper invasion scene is to me one of the most disturbing and OMG moments in recent memory. It's horrible, ugly and terrifying and that's what this type of horror movie must do. The actors involved really sold the idea that they couldn't believe that this was happening to them and this is one movie where every character's death really hurts instead of you just rooting for their deaths because they feel like cardboard cut-outs.
After the magnificent Switchblade Romance, Alexandre Aja really shows he's a talent to watch, although he did make the sub-par Mirrors later on, didn't he?
Here he's firing on sll cylinders, creating a movie with believable characters, real terror and a storyline that actually frequently turns out different than you expected.
You can ignore the sequel, though. Please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to the good ole days, 6 July 2006
By 
Finlay Meldrum "Sikth86" (Kirriemuir) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hills Have Eyes (2006) [DVD] (DVD)
There's alot of people who slam remakes of classic films,and when i heard that The Hills Have Eyes was to be redone i dreaded the bad reviews that i thought it would get,how wrong i was. Not only did it get great reviews,its a film that genuinely deserves them, and the fact that it was a remake doesnt matter it feels fresh and new and truth be told id say a re-telling rather than remake as there alot of differences in this version,but ones that make it as good,and in places better that the original. The main difference here is that boundries can be crossed easier now,and the censors dont or very rarely cut alot of the "questionable scenes" from films which meant in places,for me anyway it was difficult to watch what was going on(in particular the rape scene). I saw this in the cinema and im not ashamed to say it,its the first horror in a long time that acutally scared me, its got everything here,black comedy,ultra violence,gore and family values :) another thing thats a definate plus is that the cast arent stunning,they look like a genuine family which is refreshing to say the least. All in all if your looking for a proper horror with genuine scares,look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Something deeply wrong with this movie, 19 April 2007
By 
Mr. J. Lawrence "Dr J" (East Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hills Have Eyes (2006) [DVD] (DVD)
I would have given it 3.5 but theres no option to do that. this film seems really lame at the outset. in fact for the first half an hour i was looking around the room rather than at the screen. but this movie really gripped me when the mutants are in the trailer with a female victim and everyone that could help her is running in the opposite direction towards the diversion of another family member being burned alive. the rape though brief is rather gripping. and the really horrid part of this movie is when a mutant is holding a baby at gunpoint just so it can take advantage of the baby's mother. there are some stupid moments in this film where the victims stab their attacker in the leg as opposed to the head! but you really do get on the edge of your seat when doug is up against the mutants in their own houses. this movie was slightly predictable but after it got going - very gripping! i may not watch it again for a while as it is quite disturbing, but it earned 3.5 stars nonetheless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nasty this, very nasty, 27 July 2007
By 
C. N. Sandford "csandford2" (West Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hills Have Eyes (2006) [DVD] (DVD)
I like uncompromising movies and I like to see futility in horror films because that's what true horror looks like. If a horror movie is resolved with a happy or comfortable ending then chances are it's a thriller and not a horror movie at all (there are some worthy exceptions to this).

The Hills Have Eyes, is a bleak, raw and vicious exercise in survival horror. There is little story or background other than the `wrong turn' scenario and any more of a detailed thread would spoil the impact in my view.

Thus we are not sympathetically invited into the lives of the endangered and if anything, we are given snippets into relationships that seem to tug away at underlying taboos. Nevertheless though, as their horror unfolds, our lack of understanding of the family just serves (surprisingly) to make events more shocking as we witness their world being turned upside down in a most graphic manner.

This film is nasty; you come away from it uncomfortable like an assault. Listen also to the score which perfectly compliments the insanity unfolding on screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, great film, 22 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this blu ray is good it looks really good in some areas but in the darker scenes it looks like they forgot to upscale it or something or maybe that's my TV contrast?! who knows anywhere really good film and if u have seen it before definitely worth getting it on blu ray and the price is a bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good! something about it tho!, 3 Jun. 2011
This review is from: The Hills Have Eyes (2006) [DVD] (DVD)
i liked this film a lot but i cant help but think there's still something missing. or maybe if its someting in it sometimes that bores me a bit i'm not sure!.. still quite a gruesome film. a family head off for a trip and are advised to take a road off the map by a garage attendent. ( who works for the inbred's). i dont think they the attendent was gonna send people there way anymore as you see him shout out to the inbreds that he aint doin it no more. i think this was his intention up until the dog goes into the store where he has a bag full of body parts sent to him by the inbreds. the girl goes in there to fetch the dog and dont see anything but i think the attendent dont wanna take the risk and sends them the inbreds way! (so if it wasnt for that bloody dog everything woulda been ok!) .. still, a good film just i think theres something to it that aint quite right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GRUESOME AND FANTASTIC!, 9 Dec. 2012
By 
G. Stephenson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hills Have Eyes (2006) [DVD] (DVD)
THE HILLS HAVE EYES is a brilliant yet stomach-churning horror/slasher featuring disgusting mutants, a stranded family and the New Mexico desert. It's definitely not for the faint hearted. There's blood, guts and gore along with horrific cannibals. The storyline is, on the whole, clever, suspenseful and entertaining, though it does drag a little at times. The acting was fantastic and probably the best thing about the movie. Emilie De Ravin was particularly convincing as a sympathetic teenager. The film has some amazing shots of the desert, especially at night time, which added greatly to the horror. There are some very horrific and brutal scenes, but it's not worse than SAW or HOSTEL. I loved the first half of the film and while the second half started to turn into a same old-same old slasher, it was still fantastic. BRILLIANT! 8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TEST VILLAGE, 17 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the R1 Unrated print of The Hills Have Eyes (remake).
It's 2.35:1 widescreen & the picture quality is
very good, the top & bottom black bars aren't that
bad. If you have to make a remake, THIS is how
you do it. The film is fantastic, it looks terrific &
the mutants are suitably horrific, they are a truly
superior design. A slam bam opening makes way
for a horror story that's not shy on delivering the goods,
beautifully ferocious fights, characters you actually give
a damn about & two legendary K9s. I'm pretty sure
this is more intense than the UK version (but check first).
It's in my top 10, Extras: two commentary's, a "Making of",
production diaries, & a music video (!). Not watched extras yet.
2006 108mins...GOGGLE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brutal / Horrifying / But overall top notch., 9 Nov. 2011
This review is from: The Hills Have Eyes (2006) [DVD] (DVD)
This really is a good horror movie. What is really teriffic about this film is that it is a true survival horror! After taking a short cut on vacation a family end up stuck in the middle of no where, however no where turns out to be where they peformed military experiments and with nothing around for miles they soon realise they are not alone in the hills. The creatures that arise are brilliant, deformed and truely brutal! But unlike so many of these types of films this is made really well, the characters are great and it's a real edge of your seat thriller! However there is one scene many people will find difficult to watch, a rape scene which im sure some people won't be able to stomach! Only a film for strong stomach's but if you have one this is definatley one to watch. 4 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hills Have Eyes (2006) [DVD]
The Hills Have Eyes (2006) [DVD] by Alexandre Aja (DVD - 2006)
£3.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews