Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Step In The Right Direction
As is by now usual with this franchise, it has taken several leaps forward and a few steps backward.

I have played and completed every SmackDown! game since the original PlayStation version, and, as somewhat of a veteran, I was slightly worried about the new control system. Well, I really needn't have worried - I am completely in love with the new improved...
Published on 22 Nov 2006 by Mr. A. Drew

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What went wrong?!
Ok I bought SvR 2007 about a week ago and I was really looking forward to its release, I even pre-ordered it on October 20th, so I had high expectations.

Ok, first the good points

Yes the control system is an improvement, I didn't want to use the analogue system so I was pleased that you could change it to last years system using control type D. But...
Published on 18 Nov 2006 by J.S


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Step In The Right Direction, 22 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. A. Drew "Sheephead" (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE SmackDown vs. RAW 2007 (PS2) (Video Game)
As is by now usual with this franchise, it has taken several leaps forward and a few steps backward.

I have played and completed every SmackDown! game since the original PlayStation version, and, as somewhat of a veteran, I was slightly worried about the new control system. Well, I really needn't have worried - I am completely in love with the new improved reversals, and the Ultimate Control moves are brilliant! I was also very impressed with the improved interactivity with your surroundings - it's getting closer and closer to being a fully realistic WWE experience! It didn't take me too long to adjust either, I've been playing less than a week and I'm already playing on Legend difficulty!

The Season mode is also the best by far, as in over 3 seasons I've had no repeated storylines, and at times it's actually very difficult! I love the e-mail function, it's much quicker and more effective than the previous games, where you'd sometimes have to spend ages looking for someone to talk to etc. Now they come to you, and WWE.com and WWE Magazine are used effectively(in the game, obviously) to further enhance the storylines. It would be nice if things were a little bit more Sperstar specific, but I don't have any major complaints.

The Create-A-Wrestler system also seems much improved, and I now actually find it easier and quicker than it was before.

I have not had a chance to play General Manager mode yet, so will have to reserve judgement on that for now!

Now, on to the few bad points...

As usual, the roster isn't up to date, but that's to be expected with any sports game, especially one like this where it changes so regularly. Hopefully you'll be able to download new superstars etc on the Next-Gen versions!

The legends this year are fairly decent, although it would have been nice to keep British Bulldog from last year and also add a few more. Still, can't complain!

The voiceovers are mostly very good, howevere there are a few Superstars who don't seem to have their real-life voiceovers. Worse still, there are a few Superstars(and Legends) who have no voiceovers whatsoever, and are therefore unplayable in Season mode.

The commentary, as usual, is abysmal, and is almost completely identical to the last game - hopefully this area will be much improved for next gen consoles.

The most disappointing omission is the complete lack of the ECW brand, and most of the Superstars(okay, Extremists) who come with it.

Again, hopefully things like this can hopefully be rectified with downloads, patches etc for the next gen consoles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Game for PS2, 6 Jun 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE SmackDown vs. RAW 2007 (PS2) (Video Game)
Obviously the best wrestling game to date. Great to play, addictive multiplayer with friends and the strong grapples are excellent. Only bad thing is the quality superstars that have been left out, like Jeff Hardy and Paul London. You can make them on create a wrestler though, so it's okay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lay The Smackdown, One Last Time On PS2, 13 Nov 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE SmackDown vs. RAW 2007 (PS2) (Video Game)
When a New Smackdown game comes out, you know that it will be in the running for the Christmas number one spot, but the question is, whether or not THQ made the right decision to ditch the PS3 version, and just stick on PS2.

The last game on the PS2 in this series, WWE Smackdown Vs Raw 2006, was one of the best multiplayer sport games around (thats if you call wrestling a sport). With a big roster of superstars, including legends, a good season mode, good new match types, and a great improvement on graphics, Smackdown Vs Raw 2006 really took off. Now with the new game just hitting the shelves, wrestling fans everywhere are flooding to the shops, but is there any need?

Smackdwon vs Raw 2007, has a couple of major changes. One is the new control system. Ditching the standard fighting system and now using the analog sticks to control everything, it makes you feel like you are right there in the fight. With strong and weak grapples controlled by the Right stick, and movement by the left, it takes a little while to get use to it, however it really gives you a great experience when you chokeslam your opponent over the top rope.

The ability to chokeslam your opponent over the top rope, and powerbomb is also a new feature, which the makers call 'Ultimate' control. Now when you have an enemy in a strong grapple, press R3, and you now go into a new mode, where a menu on your bar will appear, with a few options. One is, if you have your opponent in the powerbomb postion, you can raise him up to the cradle powerbomb or just the standard, then you can either walk around with him up there, spin around, or just drop him to mat or outside the ring. It really makes it look like you are watching the real thing.

Also a new feature, is Environment 'Hotspots'. These are place where you can drag your opponent and inflict more pain to him. These include the ring ropes, JR and Jerrys table, (Or Michael and Tazzs, depending on which show you are) corner post, ring steps, I can go on. This new option also makes it look like the real thing as well. A big improvement and I love it.

However the are a few snags. With a roster of stars, that to be honest, is the weakest WWE roster ever, due to the fact it has lost some big stars to TNA wrestling. However it does include Kurt Angle, who recently moved to TNA, but misses Jeff Hardy who recently returned. But the legends are proper legends, with Bret Hart, the four faces OF Mick Foley, and Eddie G (R.I.P).

Also due to only being put onto PS2 at the last moment, the graphics are very similar to 2006, and doesnt include the sweat that the 360 version has. No new matches, expect for the 'Money In the Bank' ladder match, but a good season mode makes up for that, with 36 original stories.

Overall, a good game with a lot to offer, but unless you are a hardcore wrestling fan, and you already own 2006, this one is great, but if you want an updated roster, and better gameplay by this one. It is overall a good game, jut not one of THQs finest moments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 26 Aug 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE SmackDown vs. RAW 2007 (PS2) (Video Game)
WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2007 completely blows every other wrestling game out of the water. The season mode is better, the general manager mode is better, and the graphics are the best they have ever been.

Another good thing about this game is that every superstar is on the brand they are supposed to be on (for the time being). Randy Orton is on Smackdown, and is supposed to be on Raw. Kane is on Raw, and is supposed to be on Smackdown. Oh well, they did all they could.

There is also a major glitch in this game. If you choose a tag team match, they will only say one superstar's name as you are making your way to the ring. They make so many copies of these that they were bound to mess some of them up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but so much more could be done, 30 Dec 2006
By 
T. Budgen "tom_rdd" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE SmackDown vs. RAW 2007 (PS2) (Video Game)
I can't tell you how excited i was when this came out I bought it after reading mixed reviews but in the end thought what the heck so I bought it and started playing it. So after playing it solid for a few hours my overall opinion was that it was pretty good but there was certain things lacking:

- The Roster. The roster is pretty good but they miss out some key characters such as Paul London and Brian Kendrick who are the Smackdown tag team champions and have instead MN'M. They also have completly missed out the spirt squad and have put big show and Kane as RAW's tag team champions and anyone who follows wrestling knows they havn't been tag team champs since early 2006. Which brings me to the questions, why put people like Kid Kash, Boogeyman, The Great Kali in this game? Why not the WWE Tag team champions? And also if they can manage to fit DX in at the last moment why not put in Jeff Hardy?

- Glitches. As I think someone else said the commentaters often blurt out random things. E.G. I was fighting Triple H and King started talking about Randy Orton and then randomly yelled RKO!!

- The create a superstar has been vaguely improved but still lacks. The image and moves are basically all the same as 2006.

- nothing new on exhibtion mode

BUT there are several good things too:

- create an entrance is a lot better. You can pick new camera angles, new music (obviously) and chose to have fireworks when you want them which I found entertaining.

- Graphics are as usual better.

- The story mode is a lot better and more in depth.

- Roster. Although it lacks it still has some great new superstars like Paul Burchill.

The game is worth buying, but I wouldn't suggest anyone pay more than [...] for it. It's great fun but like many other wrestling games get's dull quickly. If you are looking for a game to just have fun with I'd suggest getting 2006 because it's almost exactly the same but if, like me you are a wrestling fanatic I would say BUY!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Your Not Down With This. I Got Two Words For Ya!, 15 Nov 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE SmackDown vs. RAW 2007 (PS2) (Video Game)
this is the best svr ever... ive been a wrestling fan for years. this simply put is amazing.

sure it has its flaws but nothing to throw a hissy fit over. i mean who gives a monkeys if the entances are a bit messed up and the loading takes a bit longer... The gameplay is fantastic!

an expanded season mode with good story lines is a big improvement on last years. GM is expanded with story line writers for hire and 4 people involved in a rivalry. Legends include mr perfect, dusty roads, hart foundation and all 4 mick foley personas. the rock, stone cold and shane among others.

the create a superstar mode is good. the physical creation is more in depth and it simply rules. The pre set move lists inlcude some amaing stars like goldberg, kevin nash, jericho, warrior and jeff hardy. also it has tna moves sets for stars like sying, christain, and rhyno.

only bit i didnt like is when candice michelle turned me (undetaker) into a wwe diva that big vis took an interest in. A bit unrealistic maybe...

Also the gameplay is more realistic, ths superstars move like the real thing and the new moves are amazing. exdample dragging orton outside the ring and smashing his head off the stpes.

Two words for ya... BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What went wrong?!, 18 Nov 2006
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE SmackDown vs. RAW 2007 (PS2) (Video Game)
Ok I bought SvR 2007 about a week ago and I was really looking forward to its release, I even pre-ordered it on October 20th, so I had high expectations.

Ok, first the good points

Yes the control system is an improvement, I didn't want to use the analogue system so I was pleased that you could change it to last years system using control type D. But I like the interactive hotspots and all that stuff. It was a good way of really involving yourself in the game.

Ok..... Unfortunately this was the only thing that was an improvement on last year's game.

So we move onto the bad points...

Well my favorite part of the Smackdown series has always been the `create a wrestler' mode, and to me, every year it has always been a vast improvement on the previous years ... except this one, for some reason it has gone soaring downhill. All the items you can choose are exactly the same as last year (with a few exceptions). The thing that really annoyed me was that they had gotten rid of so much of the choice. So not only had they copied last year, they had made it worse!! Big disappointment!!

Now even though I am a big fan of the Smackdown game series, I have not kept up with the WWE programmes for about four years now, I felt after they went from WWF to WWE it well... sucked. So the updated or not updated roster has never been a problem for me.

Even apart from this year's `CAW' problem, there are many glitches, and stupid mistakes that could have easily been avoided. I'll give you one example which I think is the worst.

The commentary!!! Nuf said

All in all this is by far the worst installment of the Smackdown series, you would have thought by now that Yukes and THQ would have made a perfect outgoing PS2 Smackdown game, like `know your role' however they have only disappointed me with their laziness. Thank you for reading, and if you want the perfect Smackdown game, get SvR 2006.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like a good wrestling game, 22 May 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE SmackDown vs. RAW 2007 (PS2) (Video Game)
Despite being a few years old and the game and visuals have evolved obviously with the PS3 and wrestling progression this is a tremendously entertaining game.

Taking place from the WWE era of 2006 this has your legends Triple HHH to Kennedy with other bigger names at the time no longer involved, Bobby Lashley and Steph McMahon etc.

With this game you can have your standard matches whilst expanding into main event matches with the, at the time, newly introduced money in the bank ladder match. Each option has its own levels of entertainment, particualraly the elimination chamber match which can be infuriating on the "stamina" side of the game but marvelous diversity with options of controlling and walk about.

One of the things for me to get adjusted to at first were the different controls. Main grapples are now used through the right analog stick. To perform the more powerful grapples such as chokeslams and powerbombs you need to life the opponent up and move the right analog stick whilst holding R1 and then moving the right analog stick again, which may sound easy but it can take time to get used to, but when you know what you're doing, its fanatastic.

As before the stamina side of the game can be a tad annoying where in the old golden days of ps1 Know your role you could go none stop but again, adjustment.

all modes are good, season and GM. The stories in season mode become repetitive after two years but they are still entertaining to rewatch and should you choose different opponenets they can change their tactic. I think I'll lose the title on purpose to see how Edge and HHH develop during Backlash!

Loading times are alright, there is plenty of little things that make the game bigger and better, such as purchasing classic wrestlers and creating your own superstars and stables.

If like me you prefer the old golden touch of a PS2 I would strongly recommend this game!

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nick's WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2007 Review, 3 Jun 2007
By 
Master Nicholas O. Moran (St. Annes, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE SmackDown vs. RAW 2007 (PS2) (Video Game)
If you like Wrestling Games then WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2007 is your game. THQ and its fellow developers have massively improved the game in just about all areas. In Season Mode you can now play two FULL seasons without Storyline repetition. In Create a Moveset you can now rotate the Camera so you can see your favourite Wrestling Moves from all angles. In Create an Entrance you can almost do just about everything. You can choose when Fireworks, Name Plates, Screen Effects and Room Lighting is displayed. It really is a must buy. The only thing that let me down is that there are several Commentary Glitches, for example if you hut an opponent with a steel chair they will respond by saying "Stone Cold Stunner!" Hopefully the upcoming WWE SmackDown! vs. RAW 2008 will be at the same or even better quality and that the Commentary Glitches will be fixed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this game!, 8 April 2007
By 
Jim "James" (Carmarthen, Wales) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE SmackDown vs. RAW 2007 (PS2) (Video Game)
Fantastic game! Excellent grapics. The stoyline is great and you can play general manager mode which allows you to make matches and try and beat the other brand in ratings! This has all the players and all the matches you want to play in! I love this game! I have just got 2 words for you BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WWE SmackDown vs. RAW 2007 (PS2)
WWE SmackDown vs. RAW 2007 (PS2) by THQ (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews