Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Book
(There should be no spoilers here. Most of the information revealed is presented in the first few pages of the book)
It is the time of the masquerade hosted this time by the electrophotonic self-aware entity Aurelian. A sophotech of the Golden Oecumene. All posthumans and nonhumans of the Golden Oecumene have come to participate. Actual, fictional,...
Published on 8 Nov. 2003 by Claus Bornich

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing first part of the trilogy ...
Dense in ideas , it took a while to get into this.

I liked the general intellectual thrust of the book and the critique that was emerging but by the time it had ended I felt that it was still 'getting going', as I guess would be the case in the first part of a trilogy, and yet for all that was unclear as to where it was all heading.

Intriguing all...
Published on 16 Mar. 2011 by KT


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Book, 8 Nov. 2003
By 
Claus Bornich - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
(There should be no spoilers here. Most of the information revealed is presented in the first few pages of the book)
It is the time of the masquerade hosted this time by the electrophotonic self-aware entity Aurelian. A sophotech of the Golden Oecumene. All posthumans and nonhumans of the Golden Oecumene have come to participate. Actual, fictional, composition-assisted reconstructions, extrapolated demigoddesses from imagined superhuman futures, lamia from unrealized alternatives and on the active channels of the mentality, recidivists returned from high transhuman states of mind.
The Golden Age is full of ideas, mythological references and wondrous sights and scenes. In fact so much it can be a bit overwhelming sometimes. Especially the first part of the book can seem daunting but the pages turn faster and faster until it becomes impossible to stop. The story is about Phaethon Prime Rhadamanth Humodified (augment) Uncomposed, Indepconciousness, Base Neuroformed, Silver-Gray Manorial Schola, Era 7043 (the “Reawakening”) and a great mystery about his past that he cannot remember.
An absorbing tale is told of Phaethon’s one man struggle against society, posing interesting philosophical and moral questions. Although over dramatized at times it is an intelligent and beautiful look at a possible future of technological utopia. Foremost though it is a story about Phaethon.
I can’t wait to read the second part and then to read it all a second time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bold, imaginative, wonderful book, 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age (Kindle Edition)
The Golden Age is one of my favourite books of all time, along with its two sequels.

It's set in the distant future, after not one singularity, but several. Wright works very hard to try to imagine and describe what such a world would be like, which is a tall order as it would be incomprehensible to pre-singularity humans like ourselves. The most important difference though, is that human consciousness is now completely understood by science and can easily be copied, moved, transplanted, expanded or transmitted. People are no longer prisoners in their bodies.

The consequences and possibiities of this are gradually revealed throughout the Golden Age and its sequels as the main character, Phaethon (a shorthand form of his full name Phaethon Prime Rhadamanth Humodified (augment) Uncomposed, Indepconsciousness, Base Neuroformed, Silver-Gray Manorial Schola, Era 7043) quests to find out why part of his mind and his memory have gone missing.

A cracking story. A wonderful exploration of what-if ideas in the grand tradition of classic science fiction. And a rather odd main character who I became very fond of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking Post-Singularity Sci-Fi, 20 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Golden Age (Hardcover)
3.5 Stars

John C. Wright is one of the big names in Singularity Sci-Fi, which is a topic of great interest to me. His The Golden Age series has met with a tremendous amount of critical acclaim. Hence, purchasing it was a bit of a no brainer.

For the most part, I found the novel tremendous exercise for the mind and would agree that this is quality “brain food.” The extrapolation from today’s trends with technology, the internet, video gaming, and so on seemed spot on. It’s a world for cybergeeks, no doubt about it.
But for the rest of us, not looking to lose our humanity along the way, I must say I found this future world rather cold and off-putting. And while you’ll find The Golden Age classified as one of the few examples of positive sci-fi, for me this was a dystopia as real as any I’d just as soon avoid. That may be all the more reason for readers who enjoy this sort of thing to jump in. But I found in between struggling to figure out what was going on, and trying to connect to the people, places, and things, I just wasn’t having that much fun. Which is why I went with the 3.5 stars. All the same, for any hard sci-fi fan, any Singularity fan, and anyone looking to author some books in these areas, this remains required reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Themes and Ideas, 31 Oct. 2013
By 
V. Sankar "Sans" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age (Paperback)
This series is one of my favourite sci-fi series.

It is wide ranging and interesting. After so many boring and run of the mill sci fi that is out there, a return to grand ideas and grand themes is welcome.

I initially gave away the 3 books of this series after reading it as I never re-read books, but I bought them again because I know I will be re-reading them soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing first part of the trilogy ..., 16 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dense in ideas , it took a while to get into this.

I liked the general intellectual thrust of the book and the critique that was emerging but by the time it had ended I felt that it was still 'getting going', as I guess would be the case in the first part of a trilogy, and yet for all that was unclear as to where it was all heading.

Intriguing all the same and may well pick up the next part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Individual Vs Society part One, 31 Jan. 2004
By 
Ventura Angelo (Brescia, Lombardia Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Phaeton is an ideally satisfied citizen and member of the Golden Transcendence Sun-System spanning Civilization. Oh, how it's all perfect, artistically enjoyable and fit for the most elevated sentient needs! Two encounters in a garden will persuade him otherwise. He, apparently, has a past not in accordance to the satisfied conformist that he's been led to believe to be. And the Illuminated Government of Utopia may not have the best interest of the citizens in mind.
Phaeton will undertake a search for its true identity that will reveal that all is not well in Utopia.
I love the baroque style and the inventiveness of situations. A well crafted series, that recalls something of Moorcock's Dancers at the End of Time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Captivating ideas, prose and pace... which falls apart by the second sentance., 24 July 2008
If you are considering buying this book, BROWSE THE SAMPLE PAGES and don't just rely on the glowing editorial books. You'll either love (as most do) this book or hate it and consider it a complete waste of time (as I did).

Wright cloaks his story behind long strings of almost meaningless words. "Noumeal" instead of "mental", for example. On top of this, the Author is Overly Fond of Using Capitals, which Lends a Presumptuous Air to his Work. This gets Very Irritiating, Very Quickly. As does his insistence on using very big numbers to lend a sense of grandiosity to the story. Using big numbers was impressive in the days of Doc E. E. Smith and the Galactic Lensmen. Nowdays it is just looks silly.

Some of the ideas in the book are interesting, perhaps even original. However, they are inconsistently mixed in with anachronisms that make no sense in a futuristic context. For example:

- Why does a society that is set in at least 5000AD (the protagonist is 3000 years old) still use the British legal system ? There is a court scene replete with barristers and case references. Surely any SF author worth his salt would not think that English case law is not the ultimate evolution in human legal history?

- Why are there still fashions based on geography (eg European clothing fashion) when most of the story is based in a virtual world and independent of location?

- Why does time move *faster* in the real world than the virtual? The main character decides to take a break from the virtual, and does so by unplugging. He has time to walk around before returing, to find that all the independent entities in the virtual world was exactly as he left them. If anything, the virutal world should move faster than the real world (due to processing power) and independent entities should not be "frozen" every time someone unplugs.

Perhaps answers to these questions appear later in the book. I could only read a third of it before giving up- I simply fould the inconsistencies and the prose too painful wade through to find out. Nor am I by any means an overly picky reader- I am a voracious consumer of science fiction, and revel in anything from grand (Ian M. Banks, Peter Hamilton) to classic (Asimov) to cheesy space opera (McMaster Bujold) to boys-own-adventure (Timothy Zahn).

This was in all seriousness the worst-written book I'd tried to read for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Difficlut to Understand, 11 Jan. 2012
By 
Robert (Uxbridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I tried reading The Golden Age previously and found the use of words, sentence construction and pace really hard going. So I gave up. I then encountered Orphans of Chaos, which I quite enjoyed. so I came back to persevere with this book. Nope. I found it truly hard going. Which is a shame because I have since read some short stories by this author which I liked. I guess this is just one of those books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Golden Age
The Golden Age by John C. Wright
£6.17
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews