Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reinvented Madonna, Queen of POP
This documentary follows Madonna on her hugely sucsessful Reinvention Tour 2004. There are some excellent onstage performances such as Vogue and American Life plus many others. We are also given an insight what its like to be Madonna the mum, the wife and the pop superstar on the road. There is great footage of Madonnas first ever trip to Ireland where she played at the...
Published on 18 May 2006 by Wayne Courtney

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good sequel but...
The audio CD included is a refreshing change as it is the first time Madonna has released a live CD, and of course the tracks featured are all great. However i would have very much liked to see more of her oldies included on it that she performed in the show. These woukd include hits such as 'Papa don't preach', 'Express yourself', 'Crazy for you', 'Material girl' and...
Published on 31 Jan. 2007 by Mr. P. Cushion


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reinvented Madonna, Queen of POP, 18 May 2006
By 
This documentary follows Madonna on her hugely sucsessful Reinvention Tour 2004. There are some excellent onstage performances such as Vogue and American Life plus many others. We are also given an insight what its like to be Madonna the mum, the wife and the pop superstar on the road. There is great footage of Madonnas first ever trip to Ireland where she played at the famous Slane. The Live Cd is a collection of just some of the hits that were sang on tour. This is a must have for any Madonna fan. Its fab BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good sequel but..., 31 Jan. 2007
By 
Mr. P. Cushion "Paul Cushion" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madonna - I'm Going To Tell You A Secret [Live] [DVD + CD] [2005] (DVD)
The audio CD included is a refreshing change as it is the first time Madonna has released a live CD, and of course the tracks featured are all great. However i would have very much liked to see more of her oldies included on it that she performed in the show. These woukd include hits such as 'Papa don't preach', 'Express yourself', 'Crazy for you', 'Material girl' and 'Hanky Panky'. Up until the Reinvention tour i was always got this feeling that Madonna would rather forget her old material and to me that is a real shame considering fans like myself have been following her from day one.

The documentary included is the perfect sequel to 1990's Truth or Dare(In bed with Madonna) and shows how far she has come and grown as a person both artistcally and personally since then, and is not so self centered as the origianl!

However to be honest, if it were a choice between this release or the Full Reinvention Concert on DVD, I would, without hesitation, chose the latter! The Reinvention was by far one of my Favourite Madonna Tours and i still live in hope that one day it may be released along with her Blond Ambition tour (1990) and her FULL UNCUT Virgin tour (1985) on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sorry friends, someone's got to say it.... A let down, 23 Jun. 2006
By 
I was undecided between a 3-star or a 4-star review; I don't have the option of a 3.5 grade, so 4 it is; unfortunately, this is not worthy of a top rating, even though it is quite good in its own terms;

The thing is, even as a major Madonna fan (owning every single and album, and limited edition, since 1990, been to many of her shows, etc.), I can't but feel let down by this package; it consists of 2 discs: a DVD with the "I'm going to tell you a secret" documentary shot during her "Re-Invention" tour in 2004, from LA to Lisbon and Israel; and a CD posing as the soundtrack for the documentary.

As far as quality goes, the packaging, the sound, the image, everything is top notch; the film's 5.1 sound editing could have made better use of all available channels, and the subwoofer is almost criminally underused, but all and all sound is pristine; Madonna herself sounds great (with the possible exception of "Music", but so would anyone singing if dancing like she does), and a live CD turns out to be a must on any fan's discography of Madge; the songs are revisited with some new editing and remixing for the show, and some even sound better still, like "Vogue" and "Into The Groove" then their original counterparts; but here's where it fails: it excludes some of the most memorable moments of the Re-Invention tour in favour of more questionable ones.

The choice for the CD's song line-up is, of course, the DVD's documentary chapter list, hence the "soundtrack" tag it carries. So we don't get "Frozen", "Express Yourself" or even the song she dedicated to her fans live, "Crazy For You", just 3 of her biggest hits ever; what we get instead is "American Life", "Die Another Day", "Mother and Father" and "Lament".

Oh good.

If you remember Madonna's last full length documentary, "In Bed With.." / "Truth Or Dare", you'll be pleased to know that, although inferior, this certainly lives up to that legacy; after all, 15 years later, that seminal work is still age-free and future-proof; but where fans still wait for a decent DVD output of the Blood Ambition tour, which was probably left out cause of the show's proeminence on that film, we, fans, will probably never see Re-Invention in its full glory, be it on DVD, HD-DVD, BR, or whatever; this output downright denies us that; so as it stands, this is a 7 out 10; a great achievement to any other artist, but unfortunately, considering her fenomenal body of work, considering the quality of the live Madonna DVD's available, "only" a good effort.

And bless her, she loves her children; Rocco is crazy and Lourdes speaks impeccable french; and they love her back; Guy is a great husband; that's her success, that's her big secret; and she's grown; but she still can't write poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SECRET REVEALED, 30 Sept. 2011
By 
steven Green (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Madonna - I'm Going To Tell You A Secret [Live] [DVD + CD] [2005] (DVD)
this dvd cd combination is in 2 parts
1- dvd documentary going behind madonnas rienvention world tour
2- cd of tracks from the tour

This record is informative of what happens on a world tour and will be an intresting insight for fans. The clips of the tours performances are also great and the cd is of good sound quality.

I WOULD RECCOMEND IT TO ALL

tHE BOOKLET IS INFORMATIVE AND GREATLY PRESENTED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll be blown away, 28 May 2006
This documentary does not only feature clips from Madonna's concert in Paris, but also shows the backstage (her interaction with her dancers and other team members) and her spending time with her family.

The concert clips are amazing (especially Vogue, although it has been shortened) and then end of the documentary will blow you away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a great memory of the tour!!, 26 Jun. 2006
Played this cd for the first time today in the car and was absolutely blown away! I went to see the Reinvention Tour in Earls Court, London, and it was AWESOME! Highlights are the likes of the amazing version of American Life, Music and Vogue (Oh and Into the Groove of COURSE!!). The addition of a demo of 'I Love New York' is a real bonus, interesting to hear. Haven't had time to watch the dvd yet but it's next on my 'to do' list! This cd is a MUST for anybody who saw the last tour and of course any die hard Madonna fans! Great production and quality, you WILL enjoy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 21 Jan. 2010
A Kid's Review
I guess when In Bed With Madonna was released way back in 1991, little did she or the world realise that what set out as an avante guarde docu-flick, would later go on to spawn a whole generation of sell-your-soul to TV celebrities. From The Osbournes to Pimp My Ride to MTV Cribs and Kylie's White Diamond effort, Madonna gave rise to the phenomenon of reality entertainment. Thats a pretty big honour to bestow the queen of pop, or is it?? Big Brother, Im a Celebrity Get Me Out Of Here... the list goes crashing on! But what Madonna did with In Bed With was to give the mere mortals a taste of what its like to live inside that privelidged world, the mobbing fans, the paparazzi, the fashion, the music and above all her relationship with the people closest to her. It had never really been done before, megastars like her were untouchable, they resigned in a place where we could not even dream of following but through In Bed With, we got to see it all, thus a monster was born, the publics obsession with celebrity grew at an alarming pace to the state where we are today, im famous so come look at my fabulous life! But our canny Madonna has moved on since then, Secret is less about her excesses and more about her inner self. Whilst most non fans will balk at her confessions etc, fans will love this spiritual side to the queen of pop, it is of my opinion this docu-flick would have fit neatly after her Ray Of Light era, such is the charma surrounding its content. We see Madonna reciting prayers over tribal, trance beats and contemplating her place among the stars, its really quite touching to see how she has transformed from a Hollywood brat to an earth mother who cares more about private projects of universal aid than hooking up with the latest designers, producers or stars. Intertwined with the story of Madonna's evolution are snap shots from her most daring tour to date, clips of Vogue, Nobody Knows Me, Hollywood and older hits such as Like A Prayer, Holiday and Into The Groove provide a befitting tribute to the tour which provides much of the backdrop. The artistry and imagination is matched by no other during this film, clips of her opening section to this tour, The Re-invention tour, are simply mind boggling and breath taking. Its not difficult to see why Kylie and Lady GaGa along with Britney are queing up to take a slice out of her live resume with backdrops such as the ones projected here to amazing songs which burst to life thanks to Jonas Akerlunds brilliant cinematography. Her artistic collaborater on much of the tour work here is none other than Stephen Klein, the man who put Madonna in an exclusive exhibition called X-STatiC PRoceSs, what that exhibition meant was anyones guess but via that we get to see Madonna as an eastern queen courtesy of La Croix, a caged patient with mental health issues and a jewish secretary rolling around the corridors of Marie Antoinette's palace, its a collision of fashion, art and decadence with no real meaning, or is there?....confused? You should be!, but be warned, incoherent this is not! Its stunning and proof that this woman is a visual genius who outshines upstarts like GaGa and Kylie everytime. Artistry aside the rest of the documentary follows Madona not only on her spiritual awakening but through the trials of family life, her children are seen swimming, playing and learning french, she's also still mother hen to her impressionable dancers and light saber to jamie kings choreography genius, its a visual and auditory feast. Some might say a little self indulgent, i say a snap shot of a woman at the top of her game, she's won the press battles, shes got the scars of conflict, better to watch a real celebrity at work than the life of some wannabe who'll no doubt be history in a few years. An intriguing watch from start to its highly emotional finish, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awe inspiring., 14 Jun. 2006
By 
This review is from: Madonna - I'm Going To Tell You A Secret [Live] [DVD + CD] [2005] (DVD)
I guess when In Bed With Madonna was released way back in 1991, little did she or the world realise that what set out as an avante guarde docu-flick, would later go on to spawn a whole generation of sell-your-soul to TV celebrities. From The Osbournes to Pimp My Ride to MTV Cribs and Kylie's White Diamond effort, Madonna gave rise to the phenomenon of reality entertainment. Thats a pretty big honour to bestow the queen of pop, or is it?? Big Brother, Im a Celebrity Get Me Out Of Here... the list goes crashing on! But what Madonna did with In Bed With was to give the mere mortals a taste of what its like to live inside that privelidged world, the mobbing fans, the paparazzi, the fashion, the music and above all her relationship with the people closest to her. It had never really been done before, megastars like her were untouchable, they resigned in a place where we could not even dream of following but through In Bed With, we got to see it all, thus a monster was born, the publics obsession with celebrity grew at an alarming pace to the state where we are today, im famous so come look at my fabulous life! But our canny Madonna has moved on since then, Secret is less about her excesses and more about her inner self. Whilst most non fans will balk at her confessions etc, fans will love this spiritual side to the queen of pop, it is of my opinion this docu-flick would have fit neatly after her Ray Of Light era, such is the charma surrounding its content. We see Madonna reciting prayers over tribal, trance beats and contemplating her place among the stars, its really quite touching to see how she has transformed from a Hollywood brat to an earth mother who cares more about private projects of universal aid than hooking up with the latest designers, producers or stars. Intertwined with the story of Madonna's evolution are snap shots from her most daring tour to date, clips of Vogue, Nobody Knows Me, Hollywood and older hits such as Like A Prayer, Holiday and Into The Groove provide a befitting tribute to the tour which provides much of the backdrop. The artistry and imagination is matched by no other during this film, clips of her opening section to this tour, The Re-invention tour, are simply mind boggling and breath taking. Its not difficult to see why Kylie and Lady GaGa along with Britney are queing up to take a slice out of her live resume with backdrops such as the ones projected here to amazing songs which burst to life thanks to Jonas Akerlunds brilliant cinematography. Her artistic collaborater on much of the tour work here is none other than Stephen Klein, the man who put Madonna in an exclusive exhibition called X-STatiC PRoceSs, what that exhibition meant was anyones guess but via that we get to see Madonna as an eastern queen courtesy of La Croix, a caged patient with mental health issues and a jewish secretary rolling around the corridors of Marie Antoinette's palace, its a collision of fashion, art and decadence with no real meaning, or is there?....confused? You should be!, but be warned, incoherent this is not! Its stunning and proof that this woman is a visual genius who outshines upstarts like GaGa and Kylie everytime. Artistry aside the rest of the documentary follows Madona not only on her spiritual awakening but through the trials of family life, her children are seen swimming, playing and learning french, she's also still mother hen to her impressionable dancers and light saber to jamie kings choreography genius, its a visual and auditory feast. Some might say a little self indulgent, i say a snap shot of a woman at the top of her game, she's won the press battles, shes got the scars of conflict, better to watch a real celebrity at work than the life of some wannabe who'll no doubt be history in a few years. An intriguing watch from start to its highly emotional finish, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always Outstanding!, 5 April 2007
By 
W. Greenwood "Wendz" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am always hesitant about buying a live cd, because most of the time the sound isnt always good. I am so happy I took I chance with this cd! The choice of songs and the sound is outstanding! I wish I could have been there! American Life is my favourite Madonna song - and it rocks on this album, it even sounds better than the original! The documentary is interesting, and worth watching to see the live bits of the concert! Really enjoyed this one!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but DVD a little too long!, 14 Oct. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watching this DVD reminded me what a great sense of humour Madonna has! It really is like 'Truth or Dare' 15 yrs later, with a still sassy, controversial Madonna with far less of the rude stuff. But once gain you find her ability to inspire those around her endearing to say the least and her dancers are far more likeable than the some of the bitchy queens on Blond Ambition!!!! MY only criticism would be the Israel section was really streching it and would have worked far better as an extra, as it does feel tagged on and does not allow for the natural closure of the end of the tour footage.

The live CD is a great bonus. "Nobody knows me" was my least favourite track of my least favourite Madonna album, now I love it as this live version gives it a new lease of life! "Lament" proves undeniably she can sing brilliantly live and is a nice addition, but the Missy Elliot remix of "Into the groove" is still lacking to say the least! "Crazy for you" seems a real shame of an omission, if only that it was the song she dedicated to her fans on the tour and was a track she had never played live in the UK before. But still worth it for the ever-fresh "Vogue" and dance mix of "Hollywood" (Madonna kissing Britney and Christina version).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews