Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating
I watched the TV series and found it so interesting to see colour film showing everyday life in the 1930s Very well put together and presented, seeing people who remembered those in the films, and at times who were in the footage themselves! As the opening dialogue says, a lot has changed but also much has stayed the same.
Originally the DVD was full price and too...
Published on 1 Jun 2011 by RRB

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity
Very mixed feelings about this DVD. Glad we bought it, well worth watching for the historic footage, but shocking amount of repetition to pad out the programme time.
Published on 8 Feb 2009 by Mr. P. O'brien


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity, 8 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. P. O'brien "Creighton" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost World Of Friese-Greene [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Very mixed feelings about this DVD. Glad we bought it, well worth watching for the historic footage, but shocking amount of repetition to pad out the programme time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well Read & Greene, 1 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Lost World Of Friese-Greene [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
In contrast to some of the other reviewers, I rather like the avuncular Mr Cruickshank; he's easy on the ear. However, I do agree with them that this has been unnecessarily drawn out into 3 hours, although I did find it pleasantly astonishing that they had managed to track down 21st century people who knew who was in front of camera. Not something I would watch over and over, but the BFI have done wonders with the originally flawed technology and therefore seeing a world long-gone almost 100 years ago is the real jewel, not all the modern flummery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok good but could have been better, 18 Sep 2007
By 
Birmingham Book Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Lost World Of Friese-Greene [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
After Michell and Kenyan I really wanted to see and enjoy The Lost World Of Friese-Greene. This is an interesting set,much too much talk really for my liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 1 Jun 2011
By 
RRB (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World Of Friese-Greene [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched the TV series and found it so interesting to see colour film showing everyday life in the 1930s Very well put together and presented, seeing people who remembered those in the films, and at times who were in the footage themselves! As the opening dialogue says, a lot has changed but also much has stayed the same.
Originally the DVD was full price and too expensive but it has now reduced so much it's a bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much puff. Not enough substance., 14 Mar 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World Of Friese-Greene [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Yes Dan's pieces-to-camera from his vintage car, while being carried on a trailer are obvious and unnecessary but this isn't the rason why LWF-G pales in comparison to 'Mitchell and Kenyon'. There simply isn't enough intersting, quality footage and far too much filler. I would have liked to have seen more 'then and now' comparison pictures. Irritating too was Dan's recapping at the start of every episode as to the who and why of F-G and his journey; the DVD production should have been edited differently from the televised.

The BBC did well to eke out 3 episodes from the material I think. At the end of each episode Dan tells us that we can see more footage online but surely all the best stuff was used on the programmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinema History, 26 Mar 2014
By 
P. Fowler (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World Of Friese-Greene [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
At times the presenter is a bit OTT but the research presented is valuable. Anyone from Wales will be fascinated - as was a friend of mine - by seeing the Valleys and Cardiff Docks as they were nearly a century ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tantalizing, but unsatisfying, 17 May 2006
By 
K. G. Godwin (Winnipeg, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost World Of Friese-Greene [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Once again, as with The Lost World of Mitchell & Kenyon, the BBC has managed to take a remarkable piece of film history -- in this case colour films from the 1920s depicting a journey from Land's End to John O'Groats -- and turn the amazing images into mere wallpaper for a generally trite, if occasionally moving, exercise in potted social history. Despite the power of the restored films, this is even less satisfying than the Mitchell & Kenyon series because almost nothing is known about Friese-Greene. Can't wait for the BFI to issue an edition of the films by themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World Of Friese-Greene [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Fab film for anyone interested in a nostalgic lost world absolutely fascinating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Cruickshank factor..., 18 Jun 2006
By 
P. White (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost World Of Friese-Greene [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Dan Cruickshank is clearly a very pleasant man but he should not be allowed to present television programmes in my opinion. His over effusive style is almost instantly irritating and ruins what might have been an otherwise entertaining series. The premise is that Mr Cruickshank retraces the route that Mr Friese-Greene took in the 1920s using the same type of car (which clearly arrives on a trailer for the short filmed moments) and attempts to locate some of the people in Friese-Green's films. There are various problems with this:

Firstly as discussed, Dan can't help but annoy. Then there's the films themselves: the colour process that Friese-Green attempted was extremely rudimentary, in fact it didn't work, and the occasional view of non-bfi processed film reveals the universe of difference between the original and the restoration. I'd go so far as to say that the restoration is no different to standard colourised monochrome film and therefore this is not an early colour film at all! Finally there's the people Dan meets. He takes a handheld video player with him to show them the relevant clips, often involving members of their family or occasionally themselves. This should be marvellous: seeing their reactions when they haul back the years, but there's a disastrous flaw. It's obvious that they've all seen the film long before the programme records them seeing it and they exhibit zero surprise or even interest. In conclusion: this is a badly made series with poor presentation and an at best dubious claim to novelty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 13 July 2006
This review is from: The Lost World Of Friese-Greene [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
What the BBC should be doing. Beautifully shot, produced and researched. As good, if not better than, The Lost World of Mitchell & Kenyon. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost World Of Friese-Greene [2006] [DVD]
The Lost World Of Friese-Greene [2006] [DVD] by Claude Friese-Greene (DVD - 2006)
£12.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews