Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dubstep Beyond
This is not a genre defining album. If you want one of those try the excellent Dubstep Allstars albums. This album implodes the genre, taking all the elements and piling them up till they crush themselves and create something beyond, something unique, something beautiful.

Swathed in crackle and reverb, the soundsystem sensabilities sweep you up and wrap you...
Published on 10 July 2006 by Shaolinjedi

versus
30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best by Burial (let alone of the year!), but there are some moments
Normally I'd be the first to big up another dark, minimalist dub step offering brimming with new angles and ideas to move the scene on this. But I have to say people this ain't it. After listening intensely on my system ,and with my cans on many many times this album continues to underwhelm, and as for playing any of these out there's not much going on. This fails to live...
Published on 8 Nov 2007 by S. C. Bonner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dubstep Beyond, 10 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Burial (Audio CD)
This is not a genre defining album. If you want one of those try the excellent Dubstep Allstars albums. This album implodes the genre, taking all the elements and piling them up till they crush themselves and create something beyond, something unique, something beautiful.

Swathed in crackle and reverb, the soundsystem sensabilities sweep you up and wrap you till you are suffocated under a welter of half speed beats, cavernous bass and snatches of lost vocals. Burial has created as moving an album as you'll ever hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, sorry I'm a bit late on the uptake!, 29 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burial (Audio CD)
Okay I'll be honest with everyone - I knew nothing about Burial before he was nominated for the Mercury Music prize (With follow up to this, Untrue). Even then all I knew was that he was a dark dubstep producer.

I now think he was robbed. In fact, had the Arctic Monkeys not been in the running in '06, I would say he should have won then. At the very least this album should have been nominated.

I'll keep it simple. The album is an absolute joy. Better than 'Untrue' in my opinion. Emotive, ambient and abit clever. I would highly recommend this to any music fan, whether they normally like production based music or not.

Lessons learnt - 1) Mercury Music Prize is good for Something, 2) This album is top notch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars future dub, 10 Mar 2007
By 
HJ (London UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Burial (Audio CD)
Future Dub

With the dance music explosion of the 1990s a fading distant memory, there's a kind of hysterical desperation around to find "urban" music with some musical intelligence and broader appeal. Hence the hype - or relief - that has greeted this album coming out of a south London "dubstep" scene. After a few plays it does really suck you in, especially the latter half - by track 5 the (mostly instrumental) album starts to come alive, immersing you, becoming more rhythmically insistent yet more abstract with broken beats, glitchy samples, scratches, white noise etc. It gets better & better. The final track 12 "Pirates" is the most hallucinogenic dub I've heard since the heyday of Perry & Pablo. Despite various doubts & reservations, I've now had Burial on virtual repeat play for weeks. Believe the hype!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Depth charge dubs, 2 Jun 2007
By 
A. Turner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burial (Audio CD)
Demonstrates just how far the dubstep scene has become a mature and sophisticated genre. Full of longing, warning, wisdom and beauty amongst the tower blocks. Sounds like burningspear/pablo/tubby after they took a 5000 year journey into the future and came back genetically advanced beyond our wildest dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best by Burial (let alone of the year!), but there are some moments, 8 Nov 2007
By 
S. C. Bonner "Baggy" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burial (Audio CD)
Normally I'd be the first to big up another dark, minimalist dub step offering brimming with new angles and ideas to move the scene on this. But I have to say people this ain't it. After listening intensely on my system ,and with my cans on many many times this album continues to underwhelm, and as for playing any of these out there's not much going on. This fails to live up to any of the hype. But then how could it not when as somebody else has mentioned you've got middle brow music journos proclaiming it as a classic of 'Blue Lines' proportions.
Don't be fooled, this is not even an album as such. It's a collection of tracks from 2001-2006 and it shows. The quality varies wildly. To my ears there are only a couple of stand out tracks warranting instant forwards (!), namely the urgent broken dub of 'Southern Comfort', 'U Hurt Me' and the mesmiring and haunting 'Gutted' and my fave 'Broken Home'. But on the other side these are outnumbered by tracks like 'Spaceape featuring Spaceape that sounds a bad demo from Benjamin Zephaniah's 'Naked' album!

If you're hunting for a dubstep album on Amazon then you're probably new to this sound and there's nothing wrong with that, but do yourself a favour and try Burial's second album 'Untrue', Pinch's 'Underwater Dancehall' and of course Skream's mighty album 'Skream' (THAT is the 'Blue lines for the genre) or my fave Benga's 'New Step'. All will take you somewhere new and exciting. Compilation wise, don't sleep on the 'Dub Plate Drama 2'or Soul Jazz's' Box of Dub' albums if you're new to the scene, or you could dive straight into the Dubstep Allstars compilations if you're head strong;-)

Hope this honest review is useful. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Concrete music, 20 Nov 2007
By 
O. Bryan "signature" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burial (Audio CD)
One can only state the emotions and sensibilities the music provokes. I do not want to coin Burial as a messiah, a voice of a generation, recluse, genius etc. I do not know the man, and I am not a radio dj trying to champion the album. However, I think Burial has made a special album that listens like a soundscape rather than a multitrack production. He is an original, which explains the endless accolades. I am, sure he is faithful to the dubstep generation, but this album, and his debut, doesn't actually sound like dubstep. The clicking gliche-like beats are obscure and unconventional, the convention being slow pounding dub. The use of sped up and mangled r&b vocals hook the listener, the melodies are dreamy, and the ambient pad sounds remind one of early Aphex and Eno. The longevity of this album will be owed to the fact that Burial has carved his own niche of sound production. His music displays his own run at creativity. Thoroughly recommended to the discerning music listener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is incredible, 29 Mar 2008
This review is from: Burial (Audio CD)
What beauty lies encased in here to surprise the sensitive ear!! This speaks of the urban night, of the silent moment of reflection that takes on you in the midst of the dullest moment of the day...These sounds have been soaked in the sodium glare of our cities, the noises of the night, the fears that stalk you in bed, awake, drunk maybe, and lucid, the flyovers, the distant lights that make you want to escape, the dreams...this music ellicits something from you that is hard to grasp and explain inwords as it will be different for each one of us, but which lies there, a byproduct of our lifestyle.

To me, this departs from a point beyond where FSOL could not go any furhther, mananging to infuse the mix of isolationist ambient and dubstep with a sadness and a capacity for evocation that you can rarely find anywhere else.

Definitely one of the must-haves of the decade!!
I am still specially haunted by one of the tracks, "In McDonalds"...short but so loaded with emotions...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celebrate the Burial, 27 Oct 2007
This review is from: Burial (Audio CD)
Grooverider, Moodyman, Alex Reece, Smith and Mighty, Spooky. Burial sounds nothing like these folks yet there's a similair unmediated quality to what he does: there's no `personality' or individual living it large to stand in the way of you the listener and the mysterious spookiness of Burial's debut CD. This is music with the sort of atmosphere you can cut with a knife. It's the sound of any big British city at 5am in the morning, it's the sounds in your head when your ears have finally rinsed themselves of the tinnitus after hours in a club, gig or bar. Like the music makers mentioned at the start of this piece, Burial is trying to create soundscapes that resonate, disturb and thrill. That he succeeds makes this release all the more satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Dubstep Beyond, 27 April 2008
By 
Mr. M. J. Cole "Coleser" (Gloucester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burial (Audio CD)
I'm playing the debut Burial album, eponymously named forsooth, a great deal at the moment and it is a bewitchingly lugubrious and atmospheric product. This appeals. Electronic and dub-heavy riddimic soundscapes proffer dark and mournful insights into urban melancholia that are compelling and challenging in equal measure. The track titles - Night Bus, Broken Home, U Hurt Me, Gutted - add to the murky ambience and the occasional haunting vocal helps create e'en more tension. It's a marvellous recording, full of layers and texture and I'd suggest that's the kind of album Boards of Canada would create if they resided in a bleak inner London rather than the bucolic splendour of the Scottish wilds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night bus music..., 5 April 2007
By 
C. J. Statham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burial (Audio CD)
If it's possible, try to imagine being drowned in a slow-burning quagmire of dub-textured sound and you're probably only half-way there to understanding the impetus behind this album. This is a refined piece of production that sits uncomfortably on the perimeter of the dubstep/techno scene like a reprimanded bully in a school yard.

I first came across their under-acclaimed vinyl presses a few years ago and was tomrented by the fact that there wasn't any EPs or albums to reinforce their work in the mainstream. Then, suddenly, there was a fresh wave of poncy ramblings in the music press - the kind of doomed arse-licking that dogs a release before it even hits the shelf. Comments like 'album of the year' and the best thing since 'Blue Lines' are just the product of excitable music journalists with a disposable vocabulary. Although it's worthy of such labels, this album somehow shrugs them off favouring a lamentable and moody approach to self-congratulation.

The true beauty here is that it immediately emits the raw vapours of a lonely and desperate city. Rhymtic, cordant, safe and curiously provoking, this album feels like it has been meticulously planned all along; somehow tailored to fit your personal circumtances. Don't expect the lardy booms of 'Rhytmn and Sound' or the argy bargy looped chaos of Basic Channel, this is more intoxicating - Gracefully glitchy.

There is nothing else that touches it in it's own micro genre, a genre that this album perpetuates almost single handedly. Nail this one now and
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Burial
Burial by Burial (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews