Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Classic...
This has got to be one of the best love stories I have ever seen. Heart-wrenching to say the least. Perfect cast, perfect look and a beatifully written storyline that doesn't allow you to leave it without that deep throb in your heart.
Anthony Hopkins and Brad Pitt have such a rapport and it's so pleasing to see them bouncing off eachother with their unique acting...
Published on 16 Aug. 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Opportunity Lost
A highly ambitious project that aimed to deal with weighty and emotive subjects. We chronicle the lives of three brothers who live in the remote Montana wilderness with their father an ex cavalry Officer tired of the Indian wars. The youngest brother then brings his bride to be home which causes much friction. They all go off to the Great war where one is killed, one is...
Published on 15 July 2009 by Bob Salter


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Classic..., 16 Aug. 2004
This has got to be one of the best love stories I have ever seen. Heart-wrenching to say the least. Perfect cast, perfect look and a beatifully written storyline that doesn't allow you to leave it without that deep throb in your heart.
Anthony Hopkins and Brad Pitt have such a rapport and it's so pleasing to see them bouncing off eachother with their unique acting skills. You leave the film not believing that it wasn't real or at least based on a true story...the mark of a true classic!
Something I haven't seen mentioned here (forgive me if I'm wrong, of course) is the music in the film...the score is a masterpiece and some of the best classical music I have ever heard. It no doubt makes the movie what it is and it could not have been the same without it. If this is your thing then I also suggest buying the soundtrack - it takes you to so many places and is well worth having in your collection if you fancy a 'Ludlow' moment or just want to relax. It deserves to be heard on it's own as it raises so many feelings of your own - not just that of the film.
I hope this has been helpful. I can't begin to tell you how happy I am to have found this movie - it's definitely a 'can't stop watching' film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When there is nothing on the other side, 3 Dec. 2002
This is a very heart warming movie, a lot of quality actors, (a very sexy Brad pitt with long hair), sibling rivilary, unrequited love, the heartbreak, reality, terror, and struggle of war alongside, life and love hardships. Not an action movie, but one for both sexes. Definitely worth a view!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truly Romantic & Beautiful, 27 May 2009
By 
Laura smith "lilly36" (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
It is many years now since I first saw this film but I've recently bought it on DVD replacing my old worn out video cassette because it's one of those films that truly earns a place in my collection.

The story of 3 brothers who find themselves all drawn towards the same girl when their brother Samuel brings her home to meet his family before their upcoming marriage. War however is around the corner and whilst the 3 brothers go off to serve in the trenches only 2 of them come home, with Samuel being killed in action.

Suddenly the beautiful fiance is left without a future husband and the remaining 2 brothers find themselves viciously battling for her love and affection. Whilst she is in love with Tristan (Brad Pitt), the wild and untamed one it is Alfred the eldest brother who is utterly in love with her.

A complex and emotional film exploring the effect that war can have upon a family and the complex emotions that can come from being very different to your siblings. Anthony Hopkins gives an outstanding performance as the father of the boys and Brad Pitt and Aidan Quinn play the rival brothers.

An absolute joy of this film is the wonderful setting for the film, wonderful countryside is the perfect backdrop for the story and it is breathtaking on screen.

Well worth curling up on a Saturday afternoon to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars big country - big tale....., 1 Oct. 2003
.
This is a big story, in big country set over several years, following the fortunes of a family from their rather isolationist existance in the wilds of Montana through the horrors of the First World War, to the bootleg Whiskey trade and political machinations of the late 20's.
Centered around the wild and uncompromising middle son, excellently played by Brad Pitt, the story tells how the Ludlow household (Colonel Ludlow, the 3 sons and the ranch hands) is changed by events around it, not least by the introduction of the gorgeous Susannah (Julia Ormand) who becomes the desirable widow of the youngest son.
The story is strong and emotive. You want the love affairs to turn out right, you want justice to be meted out to the villains and you want the family to re-unite at the end.
Frequently classified as a chick flick, this is actually a well told tale with plenty of interest for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brad's best performance yet...., 22 April 2004
By 
Farm (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
I would never get bored of this film. I have to say that the combination of actors was superb and I wouldn't cast it any other way. Aidan Quinn was inspirational as a man trapped in love. After marrying the woman he loves, he's stuck with the thought that she doesn't love him. Both him and Julia Ormond work beautifully together even though I hate her character for getting with every brother. Can't blame her for loving Brad though!
Brad and Anthony are always a good combination. 'Meet Joe Black' was a let down as far as their careers go. But here the duo are just damn cool. I love Brad and Anthony's eyes are so gorgeous! That's a little irrelavant I admit, but as an actor I think he is amazing. He raises his voice in the right places and creates tension that you could cut with a knife. When he banishes Adian from their ranch it is heart wrenching. He shows the most beautiful love for Brad as a father to a son that you could ever imagine in a film. Their relationshiop was believable and moving.
Brad is at his best here and I have to say it was probably one of the most challenging role he has played. With a character that grows and changes in such a dramatic way, I have never seen such a great performance. In addition to all of that he shows the most amazing emotion.
Fantastic film and I would tell everyone to watch it. I never realised I could feel such emotion when watching a film. I love this film and i couldn't fault it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A roller-coaster ride of emotions right from your own sofa!, 19 Nov. 2001
Superb storyline, stunning photography, reallife emotions and brilliant acting from the lead and supporting cast alike...this has got to be one of the best films ever made. Plus, there is something in it for everyone; romance, action, drama, loadsa stars and a beautiful soundtrack. It is like the old classics that your parents talk about but with a "new and improved flavour". Legends, while leaving you crying your eyes out, gives you that warm glowy feeling of everything ending as it should with no of those horrible unfinished plotlines, but everything in it's rightful place.
A must see for all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, Moving. With a stunning backdrop, 15 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
Not normally my type of film (preferring all action or Sci Fi), but Legends of the Fall is a stunning film. I agree with the Amazon write up; invite some friends round, open a box of tissues and a bottle of wine and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best tear-jerker I've ever watched, 21 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
The first time I saw this film I thought it was the saddest but at the same time most wonderful film I've ever watched. If you've never seen it before, invite some friends around, get a box of tissues and some chocolate and be prepared to cry rivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable., 8 Dec. 2014
I still remember when it came out... This was shortly before Interview with the Vampire and it all started happening for Brad Pitt. I must have been around 14 and sooo in love with him! Watching this amazing movie over 20 years later and no longer having a teenage crush I still appreciate what a masterpiece it is. It's beautifully crafted from the first to the last minute, the cinematography is spectacular and the acting top class. It's the kind of film that shows a story spread over generations, people being born, people dying, political changes ocurring, but for some, one thing never does change... Loving someone. I am not sure how Julia Ormond never shot to the sort of fame Brad Pitt did after this because she is trully mesmerising here and plays a broken heart like no one else. Must watch at least once in lifetime - once may be enough because you will never forget it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another GOOD Brad Pitt / Anthony Hopkins film., 28 April 2013
By 
William Nixon (England - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A film you have to watch to the end, without interruptions. the storyline is good, the acting is good with a good supporting cast.
a story of love, intrigue, betrayal and forgiveness. have a good night in, curl up on the sofa, and watch this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legends of the Fall [Blu-ray] [1995] [US Import] [1994]
£14.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews