Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boot Lace!
A very well made Boot with no rough edges and virtually indestructible. The substantial base is plain ply wood, varnished inside and out. The thick middle sides of the shoe are pillar box Red inside and out, with White eyelets painted around the outside of each hole. There are 5 pairs of holes. The solid ankle section is plain White inside and out. The solid toe is plain...
Published on 28 May 2010 by bluyonda

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed!
I was disappointed with this. Maybe I have misunderstood it, but the instructions are some confusing pictures stuck on the bottom of the shoe. The laces on the instructions are also different colours, but not on the shoe so hard to compare. I will keep trying, but at the moment, I regret buying these rather than the book ones.
Published 3 months ago by K. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boot Lace!, 28 May 2010
By 
bluyonda - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Shoe (Toy)
A very well made Boot with no rough edges and virtually indestructible. The substantial base is plain ply wood, varnished inside and out. The thick middle sides of the shoe are pillar box Red inside and out, with White eyelets painted around the outside of each hole. There are 5 pairs of holes. The solid ankle section is plain White inside and out. The solid toe is plain White all over.

The lace is a good quality weave, pillar box Red and White with 1 1/4" 2.5cm plastic binding to each end. It's rather long 67" 1m 69.5cm. This length is needed for the size of shoe, however I keep it out of reach when I'm not actually with my little one using it.

All measurements are approx:-

Sole/Base
Length just under 8 1/2" 21cm
Width at widest point 3 3/4" 9cm
Width at narrowest point 2 1/2" just under 6cm
Depth 1/2" 1.5cm

Highest point Ankle 12.5cm just under 5 1/4"
Shortest point Toe 1 3/4" just over 4cm

Hole diameter just under 1/2" just over 1cm

My little one enjoys just threading the lace through any way. As the holes are large, it's very easy to push the lace through. When a little older we will use this to help learn tie a lace. It's heavy enough to remain in one place pretty well when in use too. This is also enjoyed shuffling around worn on a foot, though uncomfortable!

This will undoubtedly last years and would be ideal for a special education/classroom environment. We are very pleased we bought this lovely shoe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did its job well, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Shoe (Toy)
My 5-year old granddaughter struggled to learn this skill, but having the lacing shoe made it so much easier. It still took her a little while to master it but when she got frustrated she could just put it to one side and pick it up later and start again. The look on her face when she finally mastered it was priceless! An excellent learning tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - really lovely, durable, fun and educational, 10 July 2012
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Shoe (Toy)
My 6 and 4 year olds loved this shoe. The 6 year old has never had to tie laces in his life before and was very upset when he got new lace up shoes and he couldn't do them. Bought this big toy shoe and he's no longer afraid of laces! Still needs a bit more practice but he's getting there. Excellent buy. Very robust, brightly coloured and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Shoe (Toy)
What a great idea
We'll made
Great for motor skills
Lots of fun great price
Super fast delivery
High recommend for three plus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 year old birthday present, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Shoe (Toy)
looks so good steady to uas good weight to sat with & learn to tie shoe laces & good to look at
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy as pie!, 27 Nov. 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Shoe (Toy)
Once I got this home my son was fascinated by it. He kept practicing with it, and took it as a personal challenge to get it right.
Within the first 30/40 mins he had learnt to tie his laces.
The product itself is durable, bright, sturdy and an attractive design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars laces, child's play, 17 April 2012
By 
D. M. WHITEHEAD "adopted geordie" (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Shoe (Toy)
Ordered this for our neice who's 6 years old, she's always had velcro shoes/trainers till now because she didn't know how to tie laces, so, thought if she was able to, she'd then opt for shoes/trainers with laces. It arrived, she wanted to play with it straight away, and within 3 hours she'd taught herself, bonus! It looks great, is very well made, and would thoroughly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Learning Tool, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Shoe (Toy)
This is a brilliant little tool for teaching kids to learn to tie laces and is a lot more realistic as it is a proper little shoe. Well done on a great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tie your shoes, 16 Aug. 2013
By 
S. Truett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Shoe (Toy)
this is great for making 'learning to tie shoes' fun. The bright colours attract children to learning a challenging skill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a wrap!, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Lacing Shoe (Toy)
I love this product, haven't tried it with children yet, but I love the fact it is sturdy and 3 dimensional. Aids with hand eye co-ordination, fine motor skills and of course a practical way to tie laces. If I could improve the product more, it would be to have thicker laces that divide into 2 colours so that you can say make a loop with the blue and crossover the red for example.
But a quality item, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Melissa & Doug Lacing Shoe
Melissa & Doug Lacing Shoe by Melissa & Doug
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews