Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birkenhead's Finest, 26 Sept. 2002
By A Customer
The latest serving from HMHB continues to impress and Nigel Blackwell's tongue-in-cheek, spot-on observations coupled with infectious tunesmithery keeps the biscuit-barrel rolling on.
Thirteen strong tracks (well twelve and Stavanger Toestub)a brief thrash parody. There's never a dull moment! Highlights are She's In Broadstairs - as close to a full on rocker as you'll get from the boys coupled with top lyrics. The Referee's Alphabet - Nigel's A-Z of the joy's and pain of the man in the middle - a wry observation experienced firsthand from the terraces at Prenton Park no doubt. All tracks are in the strong consistent thread of HMHB and the usual of array of acoustics and improvisations are abound. This disc will not disappoint die-hard Biscuit fans and if you like The Fall but with a large dash of ironic humour and you've not heard HMHB check this disc out now and then work through their back catalogue. Dissapointed you will not be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite, 26 May 2007
This review is from: Cammell Laird Social Club (Audio CD)
I am amazed that nobody else has written a review of this album yet. It is absolutely superb. I had not heard of HMHB until about two and a half years ago. Then a friend of mine played me this album. We sat listening to it all the way through without speaking, just laughing and enjoying the music. HMHB are like no other band in the country, probably like no other band in the world. They are achingly funny, very sharp and musically intelligent.

The very first verse of the first song sets the tone - 'She stayed with me until, she moved to Notting Hill, she said it was the place she needs to be, where the cocaine is fair-trade, and frequently displayed, is the Buena Vista Social Club CD.' How to destroy pretentiousness in one easy lesson.

I could talk about this album for hours but I'm not going to. Suffice it to say that if all the money you have in the world is a tenner, you should spend it on a Half Man Half Biscuit album, and if you buy this one you will not be disappointed - unless of course you have no sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "How do road-gritters get to work?", 28 Sept. 2008
By 
Kevin Clarke "kevin17566" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cammell Laird Social Club (Audio CD)
Half Man Half Biscuit are working-class intellectuals who delight in spearing the pretensions of their two favourite targets - the middle classes (in all their manifestations), and the music industry. Oh, and the general cr*pness of modern life comes in for a sound beating too, just for good measure.

'Cammell Laird Social Club' is probably their most commercial, accessible album to date. For a start, the production budget sounds like it's been doubled and songs like 'She's In Broadstairs' and 'San Antonio Foam Party' are almost conventional rock. Not that this has blunted the Biccies cutting edge mind.

Lyricist Nigel Blackwell possesses the keen eye and sardonic wit of the best satirists or comedians. He has a devilish knack for nailing the right numpties, whether it be artistes who say their next album is going to be more "song-based" or women who describe themselves as "a little bit Bridget, a little bit Ally, a little bit Sex And The City."

There's a disinct skiffle influence at work on songs like 'When The Sun Goes Down' and 'If I Had Possession Over Pancake Day'. 'The Light At The End Of The Tunnel' is one of their periodic embittered, yet hilarious, love songs. A couple of other songs fit into this category and lend a weird pathos to the scabrous humour.

Football always features on Biccies albums. This time, they've surpassed themselves with 'The Referee's Alphabet', a superb commentary by the much-malinged man-in-the-middle.

An extra star too for the mock-up album sleeves inside the CD cover (Sample - 'And You Shall Know Us By The Trail Of Bread' by The Ducks, and 'Charlie Drake Sings Nick Drake') and use of the word 'swain.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up to the usual standard, 4 July 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cammell Laird Social Club (Audio CD)
I have no idea why this band is not more sucessful than it is.
The music is first class, and the lyrics either funny, intelligent or (normally) both.
This album is certainly up to the usual standard. The band seem to improve with each album, which is also very refreshing, and I would put this just below 'Achtung Bono'.
Light at the End of the Tunnel is HMHB at their best, and the Referees Alphabet sums up their diversity.

If you haven't listened to HMHB before, this album is a good place to start. If you like them already buy this one. And Editors Recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HMHB re-discovered and better than ever., 13 Aug. 2005
By 
David Sheldon (Vevey, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
The perfect antedote to any stadium group you care to mention and the track 'Thy Damnation Slumbereth Not' is HMHB at their sly, satirical best. Laugh out loud lyrics and amazingly improved musical craftmanship and production. I loved Back in the DHSS in 1985 and stumbled onto this by accident two weeks ago; brilliant, and best of all they have new album out in September 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cammel Laird Social Club, 4 Dec. 2005
This is one of the best Half Man Half Biscuit CDs, with tracks as brilliant as Them's The Vagaries (Track 4), and The Referees Alphabet. I would recomend this CD to anyone who is interested as it has everything, see also, Achtung Bono, the latest HMHB album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!, 22 Nov. 2010
By 
Jay Dee (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
Another fine collection of great tracks!!! Quite simply it makes me smile - that's worth plenty these days. Breaking News and Paradise Lost (You're The Reason Why) are standout tracks for my money (which I have happily parted with for possession of these fine digitised audio delights). The question is: how come HMHB have stayed out of the gaze of the celebrity crazed media for so long? Surely that is a crime? This is just the kind of antidote to the whole "Strictly-X-Pop-Dancing-Celebrity-Factor-On Ice- Got no talent....please get me the hell out of here" culture that is EVERYWHERE! HMHB for Christmas No.1?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Money Traders Giveaway Kit, 23 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Cammell Laird Social Club (Audio CD)
Checking out some new CDs in the Blackpool branch of Money Traders I noted a stack of Half Man Half Biscuit CDs for 50p each so I got this one.
You get the impression that HMHB will send up just about everything even themselves if you run a Picture Search you'll find Half Man Half Animal and Half Man Half Robot no doubt included on inner sleeves.
Coming in for a lampooning is blues singer Robert Johnson with If I Had Possession Over Pancake Day which is able to use the squeeze my lemon line from various risque blues lyrics in a great double meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The song titles alone are worth the money, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cammell Laird Social Club (Audio CD)
I'm forever in the debt of a friend for introducing me to the beyond wonderful HMHB and the specific genius that is Nigel Blackwell. A sort of always great Fall/Pixies with the best, and certainly funniest, lyricist there's ever been (surely).This is certainly not a comedy band however, as there's some intelligent and biting stuff behind the funny lines. All their albums are good to great...I play this the most because of National S*** Day and Problem Chimp'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent album, 25 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Cammell Laird Social Club (Audio CD)
First HMHB album I've bought and very pleased with it. Why are they not better known? No duff tracks. A real treat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cammell Laird Social Club
Cammell Laird Social Club by Half Man Half Biscuit (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews